Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobile phone unlocking shop - Waterford

• 25-01-2010 12:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Anyone know the name (phone number if poss!) of the mobile phone unlocking shop in Waterford city centre, upstairs above one of the shops, roughly opposite the Book Centre iirc?

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

The GSM Centre ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    The GSM Centre ?

Ah, is that what it's called? Thanks! Googling for phone number now..

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Let us know if you find one, I tried but had no luck

Sadly, Google appears not to be my friend in finding the number for The GSM Centre.

They're not listed in the Golden Pages either. Why so elusive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

what kind of phone is it?

seanybiker wrote: »
    what kind of phone is it?

Nokia 2720.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Clano

there was one above the hewden print shop, on stephens street opposite the shoe centre,not sure of the name think it could be the nokia centre??? dont know the number, but you could call in

Clano wrote: »
    there was one above the hewden print shop, on stephens street opposite the shoe centre,not sure of the name think it could be the nokia centre??? dont know the number, but you could call in

Thanks. I think that's an official Nokia Repair Centre. They won't unlock phones there (they're not supposed to, anyway)..

I'm going to have to take a walk round town I think. Just a pain I can't phone them up. The phone is a birthday present for my mother-in-law for this Wednesday. I didn't want to have to give it to her saying, here you are but you can't use it 'til I get it unlocked.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

Thanks. I think that's an official Nokia Repair Centre. They won't unlock phones there (they're not supposed to, anyway)..

I'm going to have to take a walk round town I think. Just a pain I can't phone them up. The phone is a birthday present for my mother-in-law for this Wednesday. I didn't want to have to give it to her saying, here you are but you can't use it 'til I get it unlocked.. :(
    he,ll probably do it for a few quid!! he updated my n95 8bg and took all the network crap i.e. logos off it for me for 15 quid few months ago

jaysus thats handy money. Me man is supposed to be sound. He was giving out to me for having my old n95 8gig in me bike jacket all the time with no case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I know him a good few years. Knows all there is to know about phones, but he's a narky fecker haha

haha that he is but behind all the narkyness he an alright chap could,nt fault him

seanybiker wrote: »
    jaysus thats handy money. Me man is supposed to be sound. He was giving out to me for having my old n95 8gig in me bike jacket all the time with no case.
    yeah he was giving out to me about the fact i never turn off me phone

I wonder.. would one of you who's friendly with him mind asking him if he'll unlock this Nokia 2720 for me??

Obviously I don't mind slipping him a few quid for his trouble..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

I found the GSM place very dear when I went in about two weeks before Christmas. I asked him what price the 2720 was unlocked and was told €40! Couldn't get over it, its hardly worth €40. So I got a friend from Dublin to unlock it-€25 and posts back the same day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Look for NCP Waterford on Facebook. Mark from Nokia Store set that up and he'll answer any questions over there.

He also said that since September, Networks are supposed to give out unlock codes.

if any of ye pop down to him will ya ask him does he have a case for the n97, would ask meself but Ill only laugh if he gives out to me again. He is sound though, just funny .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Look for NCP Waterford on Facebook. Mark from Nokia Store set that up and he'll answer any questions over there.

He also said that since September, Networks are supposed to give out unlock codes.

Sure about that username ATBB? Facebook is asking me if I mean new waterford, nrs waterford, nick waterford...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Sure about that username ATBB? Facebook is asking me if I mean new waterford, nrs waterford, nick waterford...

http://www.facebook.com/pages/NCP-Waterford/155468170352?ref=ts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Dilbert75 wrote: »

Google is always your answer ...

http://www.facebook.com/pages/NCP-Waterford/155468170352?v=app_2373072738#!/pages/NCP-Waterford/155468170352?v=wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

You can do it for free with Vodafone if its a prepay and you already bought a certain amount of credit. You just log into their site and look for NACE.

dayshah wrote: »
    You can do it for free with Vodafone if its a prepay and you already bought a certain amount of credit. You just log into their site and look for NACE.
    its actually NAC(Network Access Code)

dayshah wrote: »
    forgot about that. Got a code for me old phone from there and it didnt work. Thought it a bit weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Unfortunately the Vodafone phone I've just got given (second hand) is locked and I'm a Three customer, so I'd not have the credit history to get it unlocked.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭pp_me

Dont forget Funk It also provide this service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭alrightcuz

i used this site to unblock my two nokia's worked perfect and its free
    http://www.gsmliberty.net/shop/nokia_unlock.php

alrightcuz wrote: »
    i used this site to unblock my two nokia's worked perfect and its free
    http://www.gsmliberty.net/shop/nokia_unlock.php

thats DCT-3 and DCT-4 phones. all the new nokia's are BB5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭alrightcuz

if u own one of these models you can unblock it for free ,Nokia DCT3 and DCT4: 1100, 1100a, 1100b, 1101, 1110, 1220, 1260, 1261, 1600, 2100, 2160, 2170, 2180, 2190, 2220, 2221, 2260, 2261, 2270, 2280, 2285, 2300, 2300a, 2600, 2600cn, 2650, 3100, 3100b, 3105, 3108, 3120, 3200, 3200b, 3210, 3220, 3220b, 3230, 3285, 3300, 3300b, 3310, 3315, 3320, 3330, 3350, 3360, 3361, 3390, 3395, 3410, 3510, 3510i, 3520, 3530, 3560, 3570, 3570i, 3585, 3590, 3595, 3600, 3610, 3620, 3650, 3660, 3810, 5100, 5100a, 5110, 5110i, 5120, 5125, 5130, 5130a, 5130b, 5140, 5140b, 5140i, 5146, 5160, 5165, 5170i, 5180, 5185, 5185i, 5190, 5210, 5230, 5510, 6010, 6020, 6020b, 6021, 6030, 6030a, 6090, 6100, 6101, 6102, 6108, 6110, 6110i, 6120, 6130, 6138, 6150, 6150e, 6160, 6160i, 6161, 6162, 6170, 6170b, 6185, 6190, 6200, 6210, 6220, 6225, 6230, 6230i, 6230b, 6250, 6260, 6290, 6310, 6310e, 6310i, 6340, 6340e, 6340i, 6360, 6370, 6385, 6390, 6500, 6510, 6510e, 6560, 6585, 6590, 6600, 6610, 6610i, 6620, 6650, 6660, 6670, 6670b, 6800, 6800a, 6800e, 6810, 6820, 6820a, 6820b, 6822a, 7110, 7160, 7190, 7200, 7210, 7210e, 7210i, 7250, 7250e, 7250i, 7260, 7270, 7280, 7600, 7610, 7610b, 7650, 7690, 7700, 7710, 8210, 8250, 8260, 8265, 8265i, 8270, 8280, 8290, 8310, 8310e, 8310i, 8390, 8390e, 8510, 8800, 8810, 8850, 8855, 8860, 8890, 8910, 8910e, 8910i, 9000, 9000i, 9110, 9110i, 9210, 9210i, 9290, N-Gage, N-Gage QD, N-Gage QDa.
    the new breed of sim-lock however, in the form of a BB5 locking protection. Currently this includes the Nokia N series (N70, N80, N90, N91) and the Nokia 6630 & 6680 smart phones. These have the sim lock hard-coded into one of the chips inside the handset, and currently there is no program or software that will crack this. Despite what people are advertising YOU CAN NOT UNLOCK THESE PHONES YOURSELF!! The codes are unique to each handset, and are not linked to the IMEI number. Unless somebody gains access to the list of unlock codes held securely by Nokia, there is no way around this. Even when software has been developed to crack the codes, it will be a case of connecting the hanset to a PC that can read the chips, and display the unlock code.