Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boss to Leinster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd be surprised if he moved to Leinster. He's nailed on first choice at Ulster.

Why would Mike Blair leave Edinburgh, bit of a strange move...

Edit: The rumour gains momentum... http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/irish/8477607.stm
    Ulster scrum-half Isaac Boss is being strongly linked with a move to Leinster and could be replaced at Ravenhill by Mike Blair or Dwayne Peel.

Boss is understood to have already held negotiations with Leinster.

Aware that Boss could be on his way, Ulster officials are believed to have sounded out Scottish star Blair and Welsh international Peel.

Springboks half-back Ruan Pienaar is another player who could be on his way to Ulster.

Natal Sharks' player Pienaar, who was part of South Africa's World Cup winning squad in 2007, can play either scrum-half or fly-half.

Edinburgh scrum-half Blair has won over 50 caps for Scotland and was called up to the Lions squad as a replacement last year after Tomas O'Leary was ruled out by injury.

Peel, who was won 72 Wales caps and was part of the Lions squad in 2005, is out of contract at Sale Sharks at the end of this season.

The Sale Sharks player was left out of the Wales squad for the Six Nations opener against England on 6 February because of a groin injury.

However, he is expected to return to the Welsh squad for the game against Scotland a week later.

If Boss does move to Leinster, he will face a battle for the number nine shirt with another Ireland international Eoin Reddan.

I think Peel could be a likely signing if Boss leaves, he is certain to leave Sale at the end of the season and it doesn't look like he is going to a Welsh region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Seems very odd, currently the best in form SH we have at the moment and that should be reflected in international selection. But i really don't see the point of having himself and Reddan at Leinster at the moment. The IRFU and Leinster branch don't seem to understand basic mathematics if this goes through, that's one less Irish player playing everyweek and a foreigner in his place (basically the same cock up they'v done with Mike Ross).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

If it is true, POD would want to secure a move next season, no point staying around. Maybe Connacht would be a good place to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

That's retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Keane's retiring this yr. He never makes the 22 anymore anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

the completely unsubstantiated rumours i have heard are that keane is leaving and pod is heading to connacht.

if the above is not true then the PAG would never allow it.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

durkadurka wrote: »
    Keane's retiring this yr. He never makes the 22 anymore anyway.

I presume thats completely unsubstantiated aswell?

If what ruggie says is true it would make sense though. POD to Connacht would be a great move for him. POD, Keatley, Carr and Hagan would all be there getting good game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Ruan Pienaar to Ulster. :rolleyes: There'd be clubs all over Europe looking to sign him IF he wanted to leave South Africa but he won't because of the world cup next year.

wixfjord wrote: »
    I presume thats completely unsubstantiated aswell?

If what ruggie says is true it would make sense though. POD to Connacht would be a great move for him. POD, Keatley, Carr and Hagan would all be there getting good game time.

I haven't got a press release if thats what youre after.

Did ye just make it up then? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Pienaar? Seriously?? Now im a sharks man through and through, but i have never rated pienaar, he just doesn't do pressure and his kicking is sub par. Unless they are signing him as a scrum half option which is equally bizarre. If boss goes to Leinster then i will eat my hat, what a strange rumour.

If this does go ahead tho and POD goes to Connacht i think it would be a really great move for the lad, surely there are other clubs in the hunt for him, he is an U20 grand slam winning player afterall not to mention a serious prospect. However i think he would do a serious job for connacht being back with his international fly half in Keatley and it might set a further example for young players in this country to follow suit.

chupacabra wrote: »
    Pienaar? Seriously?? Now im a sharks man through and through, but i have never rated pienaar, he just doesn't do pressure and his kicking is sub par. Unless they are signing him as a scrum half option which is equally bizarre. If boss goes to Leinster then i will eat my hat, what a strange rumour.

If this does go ahead tho and POD goes to Connacht i think it would be a really great move for the lad, surely there are other clubs in the hunt for him, he is an U20 grand slam winning player afterall not to mention a serious prospect. However i think he would do a serious job for connacht being back with his international fly half in Keatley and it might set a further example for young players in this country to follow suit.

Nah its Piennar or Blair to Ulster thats the rumours I think. Cant see either happening in the year before a WC, especially Piennar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

World Cup wouldn't make much difference for Peel or Blair really. They'd both, presumably, be available for internationals. That's Peel's main gripe with Sharks. And they'd be playing in the ML so they'd be on show.

I hope the irfu put some effort into Connacht next season. I sense they may do.

If Ulster were to make a high profile signing next season, and they're due one, who should they sign? And in what position?

wixfjord wrote: »
    Did ye just make it up then? :pac:

It would be pretty bizarre to invent the retirement of leinster's 3rd choice scrum half. No i heard if from a decent source. ignore it if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

2040 wrote: »
    If Ulster were to make a high profile signing next season, and they're due one, who should they sign? And in what position?

I don't think they need a signing but if they were making one, I'd make it in the second row, only because it's probably Ulster's weakest area.

Get rid of Diack and Schiofske too who aren't good enough and are keeping young Irish talent from getting gametime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I don't think they need a signing but if they were making one, I'd make it in the second row, only because it's probably Ulster's weakest area.

Get rid of Diack and Schiofske too who aren't good enough and are keeping young Irish talent from getting gametime.

Schifcofske is retiring at the end of the season(not a rumour) and Diack is'nt keeping anyone out of the team and is a good squad player.

Personally I think Ulsters second row has improved no end this season and they still have Caldwell and McCollough for the bench spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Diak wishes to play for Ireland and has stated that. Schiofske is also the best FB they have as Smith at FB is very average from want we'v seen so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

I would have said second row too, but at the same time the players are young and are improving and can only get better.

I thought Jamie Smith has been quite good so far. He's still an academy player AFAIK.

I just get the feeling that, as a young team/squad, they might need to import some experience to help them out in the next couple of years.

They're going to be going hell for leather in the ML now and are really going places in the future. Great to see another Irish team put their stamp on European rugby.

I'm actualy not that suprised tbh. Reddan has been disapointing for me, he's been very shaky in the decision making aspect and this has proved crucial in arguably their two biggest games this season (kicking the ball away at the death v LI at home, and then completely wasting a good kicking opportunity yesterday) ... suprising really given his histoy at Wasps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Jedwardian

I wonder who sanctioned this signing. Was it Michael Cheika, Josef Schmidt of somebody else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭TheGod

I reckon Leinster should hold onto O'Donaghue at all costs. Could have a great future. Reddan's been poor in my eyes but a hell of a lot better than O'Leary currently. Boss definitely the stand out scrumhalf........but right now that isnt a great accomplishment.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

TheGod wrote: »
    I reckon Leinster should hold onto O'Donaghue at all costs. Could have a great future.

There's no point holding onto him unless Leinster have any intention of ever playing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Jedwardian wrote: »
    I wonder who sanctioned this signing. Was it Michael Cheika, Josef Schmidt of somebody else?

You'd have to think Schmidt is involved in the process anyway.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    There's no point holding onto him unless Leinster have any intention of ever playing him.

Indeed...

In fairness, there are times this season where Reddan's looked a bit shaky, but he's also looked absolutely world-class at times.

Podge_irl wrote: »

I am hoping Schmidt will start giving him game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

G money seems to think its true:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0125/1224263037942.html

Good move for Leinster; two quality SHs, but no one else wins. Not sure why it was sanctioned... Not going to complain though!

Heard from a very reliable source that Reddan won't be able to play much longer. Something similiar to what happened to McGuiness. Sad if true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Heard from a very reliable source that Reddan won't be able to play much longer. Something similiar to what happened to McGuiness. Sad if true.

I don't believe your rumour (no offence) but the bolded bit, explain for the ignorant?

danthefan wrote: »
    I don't believe your rumour (no offence) but the bolded bit, explain for the ignorant?

Arthritus in the foot I believe.

Connor McGuiness had his career cut short for the same reasons.

No way! unbelievable.
    I hope its not true.
    i feel for the guy, but it makes you wonder why kidney selects him in his squad, or why leinster signed him for 3 yr contract if they know this?

No way! unbelievable.
    I hope its not true.
    i feel for the guy, but it makes you wonder why kidney selects him in his squad, or why leinster signed him for 3 yr contract if they know this?

On the ould off chance it's true, maybe they didn't know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

WeeBushy wrote: »
    G money seems to think its true:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0125/1224263037942.html

Good move for Leinster; two quality SHs, but no one else wins. Not sure why it was sanctioned... Not going to complain though!

Possibly because there is a limit on central contracts given out (i.e., 3 scrumhalves, 9 backrowers, 3 outhalves, 6 locks etc.). This is Reddan's first year back on a central contract and if Boss's is the first up for renewal, one of O'Leary, Stringer, Boss won't get a central contract maybe (times are hard!) Leinster don't have great strength in depth in two criticial positions - outhalf (who can kick) & scrumhalf. Munster are fairly lucky to have very decent cover for these two positions.

Leinster may as well go for the Irish qualified SH as it will give them more options in recruiting non-Irish qualified positions in other positions. And Boss will remain in full view of the Irish management. Win Win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

if that's how it works that makes sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

RuggieBear wrote: »
    if that's how it works that makes sense

Thats just a guess on my part. I don't know how many central contracts are given out - but there has to be a limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Arthritus in the foot I believe.

Connor McGuiness had his career cut short for the same reasons.

Didn't we lose Ciaran Scally that year as well? He could have been a great 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Possibly because there is a limit on central contracts given out (i.e., 3 scrumhalves, 9 backrowers, 3 outhalves, 6 locks etc.). This is Reddan's first year back on a central contract and if Boss's is the first up for renewal, one of O'Leary, Stringer, Boss won't get a central contract maybe (times are hard!) Leinster don't have great strength in depth in two criticial positions - outhalf (who can kick) & scrumhalf. Munster are fairly lucky to have very decent cover for these two positions.

Leinster may as well go for the Irish qualified SH as it will give them more options in recruiting non-Irish qualified positions in other positions. And Boss will remain in full view of the Irish management. Win Win.

Good explanation if that is the case. Would they be they be so rigid in the amount of central contracts they give out? Wouldn't surprise now that I think about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭JonnyF

interesting news if it is true. not sure what i think about it. we could do with an upgrade at SH in terms of someone with a decent delivery, old two step reddan doesn't give the 10 much of a chance against blitz defences. If sexton is gonna become starting Ireland outhalf leinster need to have better cover for 10 than Shaun Berne, can we bring Ian Keatley back from the west?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Holy moly did not see this coming at all.....

If Reddan is staying put (which we assume he is), you really have to feel for POD. A move to Connaught could do him the world of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Holy moly did not see this coming at all.....

If Reddan is staying put (which we assume he is), you really have to feel for POD. A move to Connaught could do him the world of good.

or maybe even Ulster as cover for Blair if he goes there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

stephen_n wrote: »
    or maybe even Ulster as cover for Blair if he goes there!

And what about Leinster's very own Cillian Willis? Just disappears into the sunset aged 25?

ALH-06 wrote: »
    And what about Leinster's very own Cillian Willis? Just disappears into the sunset aged 25?

Still on the Ulster team, Aged 24. Hes third choice. Probably not going to turn into any kind of international though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

Still on the Ulster team, Aged 24. Hes third choice. Probably not going to turn into any kind of international though.

He's second choice currently behind Boss, and for brief periods he was first choice at both Ulster and Leinster (though the latter was injury-induced). He's a very good SH and given a decent injury-free run of form, he'll again show us what he's capable of.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

ALH-06 wrote: »
    He's second choice currently behind Boss, and for brief periods he was first choice at both Ulster and Leinster (though the latter was injury-induced). He's a very good SH and given a decent injury-free run of form, he'll again show us what he's capable of.

When he first broke into the Leinster team (through injury as you say) he was probably the best pure scrum half we've had in the last 7/8 years. Whitaker brought a lot more experience but couldn't match that pass and speed. Willis just isn't the same since the shoulder op though, he has lost his pass and he doesn't have the physicality to make up for it a lá the likes of Phillips.