Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow Fit4Life League 2010

• 24-01-2010 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭

Wicklow Fit4Life 2010 calendar now available:
    First race this Weds in Rathdrum:
    Wednesday 27th Fit4Life Round 1 / Road / 3Km Rathdrum 7-30pm
    Registration at Soccer Club ( 200m on left past St. Coleman’s Hospital )
    Hosted by Parnell A.C.

http://www.athleticswicklow.com/entry_forms/fit4life_10.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Good performances by Wicklow runners in todays imra race. Spread the word for Annacurra :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Round 2 will be held this Thursday Feb 18th, originally planned as a 3k floodlight XC, due to the availability of the venue this will now be held on road.

Time: 19:30
    Directions: Entering Wicklow Town from the N11 veer left at the Y junction (100 yds past AIB), continue over the bridge and take an immediate left, continue on to the Comhaltas building just past the Leitrim Lounge.
    Fee: €5 (there is a requirement to be registered with AAI)
    Wear bright clothes, reflective vest, etc.

Don't know the course yet, but ran a 3k there previously, which started a couple of hundred yds north of the Leitrim, ran south and over the bridge, along the quays, up past the scenic cark park, past the golf course, turn south onto Dunbar road, back through the town, turn right opp the Grand Hotel, past the Garda station and back over the bridge to finish at the Leitrim (think mainly in reverse for anyone who has done the Wicklow 5k)

Next round this Weds

Wednesday March 24th
    Fit4Life Round 3
    Road 2 Miles
    Greystones 7-30pm
    Registration at Charlesland.
    Route out & back on bicycle path.
    Hosted by Kilcoole A.C.

Won't be doing this one, need a MSR after the 10k - it's an unusal fun event if you're in that neck of the woods.

Date: Sunday Apr 25th
    Time: 10:30pm
    Event: Fit4Life Round 4 / Djouce Predictor Run App. 4 ½ miles

Athletes run minus watch.
    All will be timed.
    Small prizes for closest predictions.
    Hosted by Slí Cualann A.C.

Few threads discussing mile times, good opportunity to post an early marker and follow up with a graded or BHAA later in the Summer.

Fit4Life Round 5 / Spar Mile Challenge
    Where: Greystones, Charlesland Sport & Recreation Park
    When: Friday May 18th
    Time: First race @ 7-30pm
    Number of 1 mile races organised by time bands.
    Hosted by Greystones A.C.

Great evening for it, if you have somewhere between 3:43 and 10mins to spare ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Thanks for the photos last night, enjoyed the run though I feared I'd be lapped.

Weds 14th July
    19:30
    Avondale House, Rathdrum
    Trail - (I think it's about 4 miles)
    Hosted by Parnell AC
    €5

http://www.athleticswicklow.com/entry_forms/fit4life_10_1.pdf

Missing this one due to work travel which is a pity as it's a flat PB'r and handy for any Southsiders.
    What: 5k on Tarmac in a parkland setting [no traffic]
    Where: Shanganagh
    When: Weds 8th
    Time: 7pm
    Cost: A Skin Diver
    Hosted by: Bray Runners
    Prizes: Top 3 in each category [nominal]
    Last years Results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Hey Beepbeep, are these open to all or do you need to be member of AAI?

Nope - just turn up and pay a fiver - next one is in Arklow the week after DCM - 2 miles on the road I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

yeah it starts and finishes at the swimming pool and involves laps of the little lake beside the Arklow Bay hotel (I think it's 2 laps but I can't fully remember from last year).........totally pancake flat course so I would encourage anyone to run it (great way of blowing DCM outta legs :D)

What: 2 miles road / path
    Where: Arklow
    When: Sun 31st
    Time: 10:30am
    Cost: €5
    Hosted by: Inbhear Dee
    Last years Results

Don't forget the clocks go back ;)

What: 3 miles trail
    Where: Devil's Glen, Ashford, Wicklow
    When: Sun 21st Nov
    Hosted by: Sli Cualann
    Last years Results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Thanks for the info Dominic, its impossible to find the calendar for the wicklow fit4lifes anywhere!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Thanks for the info Dominic, its impossible to find the calendar for the wicklow fit4lifes anywhere!

Yeah, it's gone from the site and some of the dates have changed from the link at the beginning of this thread - last one is planned for Greystones on Dec 12th - 5k on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Thanks. Could be a mucky one if its along the river trail. Timing doesn't suit me as I've the mountain rescue moonlight run on Saturday evening, mores the pity, as Devil's Glen is the bees knees.

Good turnout this morning on tough but fair course, short report here and full results should appear on the AW site tomorrow:
    Richard Horihan - 1st Senior
    Ian McGrath - 1st M35
    Sean Dunne - 1st M40

The final Wicklow F4L for 2010 is schedulled to take place this Sunday.
    I've sent a message to the organiser to check when they will make a final call.

What: 5k road
    Where: Greystones, Wicklow
    When: Sun 12th Dec
    Hosted by: Greystones AC

Fit4Life 2010 - December Race is Cancelled!

The December Fit4Life race, scheduled for Greystones on next Sunday 12th, is cancelled as the route is still dangerously icy.
    As the series is now only eleven races, your best placings from six races will count towards the overall results, instead of seven from twelve. Anyone who has run six races will receive an award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

Thanks for letting us know.

I was driving through there this morning and I was thinking it would be cancelled alright. Loads of ice on the footpaths still. You'd need a MAJOR thaw to shift it.