Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mrs. Brown

• 23-01-2010 9:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭

Beginning soon on RTÉ One.

? 25 votes

Good
    0%
    Bad
    100%
    Tony HTomohawkirishcsifansalad dodgerdeisemumanotherlostieJonathanAnonCarroller16jumpymunkymurpho999Sirtoyoustephenc1979buckfastererGreen HornetDeise TomWizard007purplestar1986Shorty69664Reginald P. DuMPaddysnapper 25 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

bad isnt the word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

There is no way this could ever be good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Bad
    I am a negative b*stard. But I like Brendan O'Carroll and his comedy. It's crude but it's funny.

Maria is a cutie as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Bad
    /\ perfectly summed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭blond45

Bad
    ah lads its grand. im happy watching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Ronan Keating

Bad
    The blond one playing his daughter is his wife. She looks terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

Bad
    Its actually quite good in comparison to some of the sh1te RTE are puttin out these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

Bad
    It's not as bad as i thought it would be.
    Some genuinely funny moments to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭blond45

Bad
    Its actually quite good in comparison to some of the sh1te RTE are puttin out these days.
    same as that, its funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Irishshin

Love Brendan O Carroll when he is Mrs Brown. This is funny. But much much better when its live on stage.

Bad
    This year's Irish "comedy":

Podge and Rodge
    Karl Spain wants to Rock
    Val Falvey
    Colin and Graham's Excellent Adventures
    The Panel
    The Byrne Ultimatum
    The Savage Eye
    Republic of Telly

When you compare it to the above list, taken from the poll we had on here recently, it's bats each one of these out of the park. RTE should have given Brendan O'Carroll (love him or hate him) a shot before ANY of the ****e above. He's obviously not as well connected as McSavage, Karl Spain, or the Zig n Zag lads.

Bad
    he pulls off the aul one act well it has to be said

Bad
    This year's Irish "comedy":

Podge and Rodge
    Karl Spain wants to Rock
    Val Falvey
    Colin and Graham's Excellent Adventures
    The Panel
    The Byrne Ultimatum
    The Savage Eye
    Republic of Telly

When you compare it to the above list, taken from the poll we had on here recently, it's bats each one of these out of the park. RTE should have given Brendan O'Carroll (love him or hate him) a shot before ANY of the ****e above. He's obviously not as well connected as McSavage, Karl Spain, or the Zig n Zag lads.

The Savage eye would easily beat Mrs. Brown

Bad

Gary Barlow would easily beat you.

Bad

You must have worked for Decca at some stage did you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Bad
    Beginning soon on RTÉ One.

Best laugh I had in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Bad
    Well I only caught the last 10 mins, so had no idea what it was about but I was pleasantly surprised.

O'Carroll seemed to carry it off.

You can also tell if an RTE show is any good as there are very few posts here slagging it off, sure some people here said it was bad even before the show had started!

Bad
    murpho999 wrote: »
    sure some people here said it was bad even before the show had started!

yeah the usual

Bad
    Only thing I would be worried about. The content of tonight's show was pretty much the same as one of the DVDs I saw of him. I hope he doesnt run out of material, when he's finished with the backlog of material he already has from the DVDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Bad
    I thought it was brilliant. Its very rarely I laugh out loud at the telly sober. Did anyone else think the music was very like the Fr Ted theme?

Bad
    Show tonight was much better than the crap that is to be found on the DVDs. Pity Rory was not in it tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Wow, I came on here expecting it to be unanimously slagged off.

I thought it was one of the worst things I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

Compared to the Angelus, it is marginally better

Bad
    Deise Tom wrote: »
    Show tonight was much better than the crap that is to be found on the DVDs. Pity Rory was not in it tonight.

I dont know how you can say that Tom, nearly all of the jokes were taken from the DVD. And I'm not saying that just to contradict you. Everything form the name tag joke during the counseling session to the joke about the father "coming late" at the start.

Bad
    I dont know how you can say that Tom, nearly all of the jokes were taken from the DVD. And I'm not saying that just to contradict you. Everything form the name tag joke during the counseling session to the joke about the father "coming late" at the start.

Yes. They were all on the DVD. Maybe the popularity of this show has something to do with BBC being involved. RTÉ wouldn't know comedy if it smacked them on the arse.

But the jokes are all the same. This was shot in front of a live audience but was some of the laughter canned?

Bad

It was a Poilot to a two or three year series of programmes. Last night I am sure Brendan O'Carroll would readily admit was to introduce new viewers, especially those that will see it for the first time to some of the characters.

Bad
    RTÉ wouldn't know comedy if it smacked them on the arse.

I agree. RTE have to learn that there is more to comedy that an A******* called Tommy Tiernan. I would not consider him to be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭gar32

I like it but it was overly funny and maybe thing will get better or worse we will have to wait and see. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Bad
    I missed this, and it aint on the player.. Anyone know when the repeat airing is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I voted bad, nuff said.

Bad
    Maybe the popularity of this show has something to do with BBC being involved. RTÉ wouldn't know comedy if it smacked them on the arse.

I think the popularity of the show is due to the fact that O'Carroll brought the stage show to the UK and it got a huge response. Something as parochial as Mrs Brown, I thought, wouldnt travel. But the brits get the humour as well, and he has been running Mrs Brown shows up and down the UK.
    Yes. They were all on the DVD...... But the jokes are all the same. This was shot in front of a live audience but was some of the laughter canned?
    It was a Poilot to a two or three year series of programmes. Last night I am sure Brendan O'Carroll would readily admit was to introduce new viewers, especially those that will see it for the first time to some of the characters.

So back to my original point. The jokes WERE all on the DVDs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

Bad
    Personally, I thought it was good.

Better than some of the sh!te RTÉ have broadcast lately.

Bad
    I missed this, and it aint on the player.. Anyone know when the repeat airing is?

BBC are to show it soon.

Bad
    -Orlaith- wrote: »
    Personally, I thought it was good.

Better than some of the sh!te RTÉ have broadcast lately.

Ya have to agree. Heard on one of the radio stations recently about some programme that RTE made that showed some fellow going to the toilet and having sex with a horse or something. I did not see the programme but from what i heard I would not regard it as comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I honestly wasn't aware that so many people found Brendan O'Carroll funny, personally I think the guy is a complete idiot, but then again everyone has different tastes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Isn't this the film with Angelica Huston? It a nicey nicey movie completely different to Mrs. Brown's Boys.
    I honestly wasn't aware that so many people found Brendan O'Carroll funny, personally I think the guy is a complete idiot, but then again everyone has different tastes.

I think when he isn't thinking rude = funny* he can be funny. Same goes for most Irish comedians.

*rude can be funny. 10 nobs jokes in a row not so funny

Elmo wrote: »
    Isn't this the film with Angelica Huston? It a nicey nicey movie completely different to Mrs. Brown's Boys.

No unfortunately not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Bad
    RTÉ Player: Mrs. Brown's Boys

It's up on the player, watched it earlier. I laughed quite a few times, so I will be happy to watch it again. It won't set your world on fire but its better than a lot of comedy on RTE.

At least this time when people complain about it we can be spared the tired old argument that they are furious their license fee went on making this rubbish. BBC money if I'm not mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Brendan O Carroll has been using the same jokes for years Mrs Brown has been done to death
    it was only ever funny when he brought out the tapes of Mrs Browns Boys in the early 90s its basically the same thing over and over tiring

At least this time when people complain about it we can be spared the tired old argument that they are furious their license fee went on making this rubbish. BBC money if I'm not mistaken.

Pity if it had been RTÉ it would only be 26mins long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

I thought I had been transported back 25 years when I saw this garbage on RTE last Saturday night. It just is'nt funny. Maybe the dregs of society might find it it amusing when they are plastered but not the rest of us. O Carroll is a Knacker with no talent. But I suppose that does'nt stop RTE wasting taxpayers money.

Rookster wrote: »
    But I suppose that does'nt stop RTE wasting taxpayers money.

Hey good to see BBC helping them do it :)

Bad
    I thought I had been transported back 25 years when I saw this garbage on RTE last Saturday night. It just is'nt funny. Maybe the dregs of society might find it it amusing when they are plastered but not the rest of us. O Carroll is a Knacker with no talent. But I suppose that does'nt stop RTE wasting taxpayers money.

Speak for yourself. I was not plastered on Saturday night last and enjoyed every bit of Mrs Brown and will tune in again. I cant wait for it to start up on a more regular basis.

As for Brendan O'Carroll been what you called him. Dream on. The man is very talented at what he does and put the like of Tommy Tiernan who is supposed to be a good comedian to shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

Speak for yourself. I was not plastered on Saturday night last and enjoyed every bit of Mrs Brown and will tune in again. I cant wait for it to start up on a more regular basis.
    As for Brendan O'Carroll been what you called him. Dream on. The man is very talented at what he does and put the like of Tommy Tiernan who is supposed to be a good comedian to shame

Who said Tommy Tiernan is funny? I cannot stand the guy. And he is'nt funny either. Just shouts a lot. Totally overrated.

Bad

Who said Tommy Tiernan is funny? I cannot stand the guy. And he is'nt funny either. Just shouts a lot. Totally overrated.

Lots of people think he is funny. i dont think he should be left near any tv myself. He is a disgrace. Should be done for some of the stuff he comes out with.

Lots of people think he is funny.

The thread is gone IMO. But just to state a point I made early on: -

Unforatunately many Irish comedians currently think being loud and overtly vulgar is funny.

Many need to tone down look at Tommy Teirnan and Breadan O'Carroll when the first went on the late late show, good because they were asked to tone it down for the audience.