Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today's spin

• 23-01-2010 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭

Dundrum-Roundwood-Laragh-Wicklow Gap-Blessington and then for me over Bohernabreena and home, everyone else down the mucky N81 :( Ugh. Good to see you all especially Cadex.

th_20100123_01.jpg th_20100123_02.jpg th_20100123_03.jpg th_20100123_04.jpg th_20100123_05.jpg th_20100123_06.jpg th_20100123_07.jpg th_20100123_08.jpg th_20100123_09.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

th_20100123_10.jpg th_20100123_11.jpg th_20100123_12.jpg th_20100123_13.jpg th_20100123_14.jpg th_20100123_15.jpg th_20100123_16.jpg th_20100123_17.jpg th_20100123_18.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

lovely looking day ,i was heading to the sally gap this morning .the fog was so bad i went back to bed.

as for the guy lying on the stone in the dont knock me down top , no bragging any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I must remember not to take photos of myself again ...
    124 and a bit KM for me today. WW gap in January, not too bad.
    Great spin, bloody freezing though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

WW gap in January, not too bad.

ah that takes me back..could have been the col du Galibier up there, looks great [gets bike]

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Glad to see you all wearing helmets :p

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Nuts, next week! Is that Cadex riding a new bike or a winter trainer? Looks like a stratos so I'm guessing trainer unless something happened the ridley??

I must remember not to take photos of myself again ...
    124 and a bit KM for me today. WW gap in January, not too bad.

take away ,124 km is a fair spin this time of the year especially in the hills of wickla.

well done to all .

Looked like a fantastic day out, fair play guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Great photos blorg and well done to all, very envious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

It must have been you all who passed me yesterday - was heading out to Blessington and a big group passed after Britas. Fair play - you seemed to be having a good time coming down that hill! (as I was struggling up it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Think I passed you guys going to other way. I turned back at the ice at the end of Military road after watching two cars wheelspinning.
    Guess I should have continued onwards :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

Excellent spin. And what a day! Captured beautifully in pics Blorg - well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Looks like you had a great spin and escaped the fog up there, Visability very bad down here (athlone) so not chancing going out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

E@gle wrote: »
    Looks like you had a great spin and escaped the fog up there, Visability very bad down here (athlone) so not chancing going out
    There was a lot of fog coming back into Blessington and along the N81, visibility was very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

blorg wrote: »
    There was a lot of fog coming back into Blessington and along the N81, visibility was very low.

was going to chance it today, but was driving to shop this morning and met a young lad out for a spin and i was nearly on top of him in the car before i saw him so didnt think it was worth the risk

and another 115km today ... I am fecked ... didn't take long to realise I was either.

me too, is it me or does it actually feel colder than the 'cold snap' we had?, feckin wind makes such a difference, came back today bolloxid! :(
    strange thing was someone caught me on a short climb (I was in severe pergatory:) ) and I let him go, gave him about 20m, then tore after him upping the effort and then rode together the rest of the way faster than I thought I was capable today, it was like I was stale or something chilled from cold and bored, and then motivated suddenly I was away again, though still knackered. anyway thank you jebus for that much needed 'coincidence' ;)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Lumen yesterday:

4302659041_f4ef023f27.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

yesterday was baltic. got back to the house after coming down off the wicklow gap and when i took off the gear i'd two roaring red quads that stung like fcuk in the shower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Yeah, yesterday was the coldest I've been out in for a long while (apart from that time with the hypothermia). Completely underestimated the chilliness of the fog, thought we'd have a bit of sun, but it only came out on the home stretch.

Also, hi to Lumen et al, who I met briefly yesterday morning. I was told I'm not allowed go with the beginners, so I'll be joining ye on the step-up next time I'm out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

buffalo wrote: »
    Also, hi to Lumen et al, who I met briefly yesterday morning. I was told I'm not allowed go with the beginners, so I'll be joining ye on the step-up next time I'm out. :)

You were with the Focus Variado?

I could tell at the first hill on the way to Dundrum that you were too fast for the beginner spin. :)

buffalo wrote: »
    I was told I'm not allowed go with the beginners, so I'll be joining ye on the step-up next time I'm out. :)

You deffo did not look like a beginner... Orwell welcomes a brand new Boards sandbagger! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

ah youse guys! I'm blushing here! Was it my 1980s hand-me-down jacket that gave me the edge? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Hey,
    Fantastic spin Saturday - have recorded 122k on my clock but not sure it's accurate as I noticed the flipping thing went a bit mad at one point showing 0, then 30k, then 14k per hour etc. Had 15k to Dundrum then the same as the others, then about 8k from Town so it's probably about right. Anyway, the important thing is that it was a great day, weather was OK even nice for a good bit and there was a bit of craic with everybody. It was pretty cold in the fog which came and went a few times though there was a good clear spell around the hills. The views were stunning and (amazingly) the roads that we used were fine, but with little snow patches on the fields and ditches. Being so out of shape I found 'Old Long Hill' a struggle and was delighted to stop for tea in Laragh. We ended up having a dodgy conversation about body weight and turbos etc. I ended up feeling like Jan Ullrich getting a pointed comment about pre-season weight....! I don't believe I was persuaded to go up Wicklow Gap, though I am more amazed that I made it. The descent pretty much made up for it though - yay! This spin was a bit of an epic for me at this stage and I was pretty far in to the red by the time I was finished. Fair play to anyone who went out again the next day, as I wouldn't have been able. I'd just started back on the bike with a couple of short (under 50k) spins during the week and these were the first time cycling further than to work (7k) since September, so I was very grateful to be able do it and to the patience of folks like Blorg when I was struggling.
    It was great to get back in the saddle and I'm looking forward to the next spin. Thanks folks.

@ DirkVoodoo, the bike is the one I used for commuting and (maybe training now), essentially it was what was ready to go - the lovely Ridley is fine.
    @ Jwshooter - eh, did we mention it was freezing up there...! Personally I blame a bad camera angle.... If I'd known the paparazzo Blorg was taking a pic, perhaps I should have thought of crossing my legs or something but I was fecked and was trying to make my back stop whingeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Fair play guys ... let alone 1 century in January .. some of you did 2 on consecutive days ...

I will need more time on the bike if I am to go out on a boards spin any time soon without embarassing myself.

Though we are past the winter solstice, doesn't look like I am past the high point of my winter weight curve.

some more snow fell again on the sally gap to day

jwshooter wrote: »
    some more snow fell again on the sally gap to day
    I heard on the radio the WW gap was to be avoided too.

mad , im working in glenmalure ,early in the day there was a little rain ,but cold .must have fell as snow on the sally gap. i have not been in luggala for a good few weeks now,getting with drawl symptoms.

a pic of my favourite place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Re Saturday, Was that a boards spin or an Orwell-members only ride?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Saturday was Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

That was a boards spin. Very select group. Hush hush. On the Q T. Double top secret. Need to know and mum's the etcetera.

If you play your cards right, and are very, very nice to key decision makers in the group you may, one day, eventually be allowed to go on the waiting list to get on the long-list of people who are being considered for eventual nomination for junior probationary trial membership of this noble few. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

niceonetom wrote: »
    That was a boards spin. Very select group. Hush hush. On the Q T. Double top secret. Need to know and mum's the etcetera.

If you play your cards right, and are very, very nice to key decision makers in the group you may, one day, eventually be allowed to go on the waiting list to get on the long-list of people who are being considered for eventual nomination for junior probationary trial membership of this noble few. Good luck.

I turned em down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭mvt

long time lurker,first time poster.I'd really like to be part of this Boards group especially when I see the photos of some of the participants from previous threads.They look like such a fine group of men and women.Not really thinking of anyone in particular but there is one chap,a tall,very handsome and virile type whom I would love to be re-incarnated as.I think his username was something like "emty".Haven't seen any posts from him in a while.
    What would one have to do to be as popular and well-reguarded as this guy is?

^ Hi Emty!

niceonetom wrote: »

Or you could just challenge me to a race.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

el tonto wrote: »
    Or you could just challenge me to a race.
    Have you ever thought of changing your location from "On your wheel, about to wind it up" to simply "Behind you"?

So it was a boards spin! Have been on one before. Only asked because I saw WOMEN in the photos and thought that could only be a club spin.:D

BTW still trying to get hands on a winter hack.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Only asked because I saw WOMEN in the photos and thought that could only be a club spin.:D

errr excUUUse me ... LDB and I were boardsies before you were... ya n00b you... We will kick your arse one day you won't know what's happened to you, you'll run away, cry for your mummy and never touch your bike again.

ouch! dude b*tch slapped by a .. :D [only messin caroline :p]

Apologies, your right I am 'new'. Though careful making 'arse kicking' comments against someone who probably has been cycling longer than you.;)

and the last guy to underestimate his boards opponent got his arse kicked too ;)

fecken hell guys , the 25th of jan is meant to be the one day of the year we all feel frustrated on .

dont take it to heart

blue monday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

me@ucd wrote: »
    blue monday?

Was that not last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

BTW still trying to get hands on a winter hack.

"Winter hacks" are frowned upon on boards spins. These are Fred-only events. You must bring your best bike then moan about how much you hate it.

Dont worry Lumen, the Trek is for 'Boards Eyes Only'.