Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good rugby autobiographies

• 23-01-2010 4:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭

I have read BOD's biography (crap) and Martin Johnsons one (decent if you ignore the fair amount of chips on his shoulder) in the past week and am looking to read more now.

Have any posters read good ones? Or any decent rugby reading material (stuff like Tales of a Bagman if you know it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

I think there is one by some english player who spent some time in france and gives a great account of the working of the top14 with all the fights and stuff,don't know the name or have'nt read it,but that would appeal to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Diaries of a rugby mercenary's meant to be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Ive read Rog's, Eddie OS and Axel Foleys ...all very good reads.

Starting 'Odd Shaped Balls' today

What's Tales of a Bagman? ...never heard of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

i liked confessions of a rugby mercenary and Austin Healys

Trevor Brennans was rubbish in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭figs86

Lawrence Dallaglio's was a good read, interesting bloke.

Jonny Wilkinson's wasn't the greatest book but still worth it as an insight into his obsessive training and lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭0lordy

Thought ROG's was excellent.

Reading EOS's now, not that impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

If you can get your hands on it there is a great book from 1997 called the "Ultimate Encyclopedia of Rugby". Obviously some of the stuff is very dated now but its still a great read and gives a great insight into the history of the game, the great players, the great coaches, the great matches, the great stadiums, the great competitions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭giddyup

Well it's all a matter of personal opinion I guess. I thought Trevor Brennan's book was a muich better read than O'Garas. NOt perfect by any means but a better story.

Abbreviated version of O'Gara's - I did this, then I did that and then i did the other. Oh yeah - none of that ****e about me was true. I'm just a very driven, single-minded individual and I prefer Munster to Ireland. The end.

Check here also: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055634521

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

anyone read this?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dallaglios-Rugby-Tales-Legendary-Stories/dp/0755319737/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264244214&sr=1-1

Dallaglios collected rugby stories - read some of the excerpts in the times, seems very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,981 ✭✭✭✭phog

Moss Keane's seems to be the best of the Irish players, while, George Hook's wasn't really a rugby book it was a good read. As a Munster fan I liked Foley's, Galwey's and ROG's. To be honest I dont like to see players write autobiographies when still in their prime like ROG and BOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Axel's book is a good read - didnt think much of the life of ROG "volume 1" sequal might be better!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

Stand Up And Fight - the story of Munster beating the All Blacks is a great read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

phog wrote: »
    Moss Keane's seems to be the best of the Irish players, while, George Hook's wasn't really a rugby book it was a good read. As a Munster fan I liked Foley's, Galwey's and ROG's. To be honest I dont like to see players write autobiographies when still in their prime like ROG and BOD.
    I agree completely - I thought BOD was a plonker when he did it post Lions, and thought ROG was one for his too. You really shouldn't have a few volumes to your fecking autobiography.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

Axel's, Brennan's, ROG's, Eddie's are all fairly good reads, as is Stand Up and Fight by Alan English. Didn't like Dallaglio's, but Woodwards gave a good insight. Haven't read Martin johnson yet, or Jonny wilkinson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Crash wrote: »
    I agree completely - I thought BOD was a plonker when he did it post Lions, and thought ROG was one for his too. You really shouldn't have a few volumes to your fecking autobiography.

ROG has said the reason he did it was because of all the rumours & **** doing the rounds about his marriage, gambling etc. It was just published before his wife had twins. He just wanted to get his say in matters and get everything out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Bill McClaren's death got me reading again his autobiography 'The Voice of Rugby'. Excellent read showing immense knowledge of the game and its players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Hey,

Do you know where I could get a copy of Galweys? (didn't know he has one)!

Tried online but no sign of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭AdeT

Didn't enjoy Trevor Brennan's. Neil Back's was quite good. I've just finished Sean Long's book - found it very good. Never really liked him as a fella but it's a good insight into his very hard upbringing and well-documented lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

Kenteach wrote: »
    Axel's, Brennan's, ROG's, Eddie's are all fairly good reads, as is Stand Up and Fight by Alan English. Didn't like Dallaglio's, but Woodwards gave a good insight. Haven't read Martin johnson yet, or Jonny wilkinson.

I really enjoyed Woodwards too, He doesn't speak ill of anybody but does mention that they had problem people in the English setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭TheGod

Crash wrote: »
    I agree completely - I thought BOD was a plonker when he did it post Lions.

A plonker who made a hell of a lot of money out of all the publicity he was recieving at the time.

I haven't particularly enjoyed any rugby biographies. I really don't know why ROG's one is being praised so much I thought it was just as dire as all the other ones. Literally a blow by blow account of his career with some self praising thrown in for good measure and an abundance of excuses whenever he talks about his poor performances for Ireland. I suppose if I had to chose one to recommend it would be Trevor Brennans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭JonnyF

paddy johns one is great. he's so angry with everyone in irish rugby it makes a great read.

also, here's my brief summary of every chapter in EOS's biography.
    1. eddie meets new person in work or rugby
    2. relationship develops but becomes fractious
    3. eddie and AN other now no longer on speaking terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

Galwey's biography is only average and full of typos. I couldn't believe it when I was reading it, there are heaps of mistakes in it. It reads like it was never proof-read.

jboy2009 wrote: »
    Hey,

Do you know where I could get a copy of Galweys? (didn't know he has one)!

Tried online but no sign of it

It was published in 2002 by Irish Rugby Review, co-wrote with Charlie Mulqueen of the Irish Examiner, not sure where you could pick up a copy of it.

TheGod wrote: »
    A plonker who made a hell of a lot of money out of all the publicity he was recieving at the time.

I haven't particularly enjoyed any rugby biographies. I really don't know why ROG's one is being praised so much I thought it was just as dire as all the other ones. Literally a blow by blow account of his career with some self praising thrown in for good measure and an abundance of excuses whenever he talks about his poor performances for Ireland. I suppose if I had to chose one to recommend it would be Trevor Brennans.

What would you expect in an autobiography? In fact, while I enjoyed Trevor's I thought it was very similar, everything that was good was his doing everything that was bad someone else was to blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭TheGod

What would you expect in an autobiography? In fact, while I enjoyed Trevor's I thought it was very similar, everything that was good was his doing everything that was bad someone else was to blame.

I'd expect some honesty and admissions. I also would want a hell of a lot more insight into his experiences rather than a ''i did this, then I did this'' kind of book.

TheGod wrote: »
    I'd expect some honesty and admissions. I also would want a hell of a lot more insight into his experiences rather than a ''i did this, then I did this'' kind of book.

But then what's honesty, is that what you think might be the truth or what the writer believes to be the truth???? How many poople were/are adamant that something happened within the team/squad in France during the W/C yet all the players and management say nothing happened and still people say there was fights, scraps, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

George Hook's wasn't really a rugby book it was a good read..

I agree with this - it's definitely worth a read. Even if you don't like Hook, you should still enjoy this book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Found jonah lomu's book good and 'odd shaped balls' is brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Personally I found Brennan's book a great read! Very interesting considering he is one of our most successful rugby players to have come from a club background opposed to a school background.

ROGs was awful read, every sentence you read you can just hear that monotone voice of his! Didnt think ROGs was honest either to much self praise.....

BODs was a year of his life that promised so much with Leinster, Ireland and the Lions but was a massive failure, looking forward to 5 years time when he realeses a full account of his career which hopefully he will have two more grand slams and a WC winners medal in his pocket and fingers crossed 1 more H Cup medal. Best player we have ever produced, hopefully he can find a really really good ghost writer to write his story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

Confessions of a Rugby Mercenary was a very dull book written by a dull Kiwi, a real lost opportunity. EOS was a bit long but quite interesting, though as was pointed out above, he did fall out with everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

i liked EOS's thought it was pretty honest, ROG's was ok except there was a lot of 'we were beaten unfortunately...but i played really well and kicked 18 points' trevor Brennan's was good but every chapter of his ended with 'and then we went on the lash and had a good ould sing song!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

bamboozle wrote: »
    i liked EOS's thought it was pretty honest, ROG's was ok except there was a lot of 'we were beaten unfortunately...but i played really well and kicked 18 points' trevor Brennan's was good but every chapter of his ended with 'and then we went on the lash and had a good ould sing song!'

Doesn't he own and run a pub? Does that really surprise you? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Doesn't he own and run a pub? Does that really surprise you? :p

well Tony Foley is another publican and he certainly doesnt have the personality to match ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 BIG DOG 82

Hippo wrote: »
    Confessions of a Rugby Mercenary was a very dull book written by a dull Kiwi, a real lost opportunity.QUOTE]

That was one of the most boring books I've read in ages - should've been a good read as the French league with all the stars, violence, money, etc is pretty interesting.

Thought Trevor Brennan's was a decent read