Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

16 year olds no longer permitted to ride in point-to-points

• 18-01-2010 4:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭

As it says in the title:

From p2p website:
    13 of the 40 riders who started the 2009 Aintree Grand National had ridden in Irish Point to Points. That is over 25% of the riders.

The Irish Riders table currently shows that 4 of the top 5 winningmost riders this season have ridden in point to points and furthermore 11 of the top 20 have ridden in point to points.

Conclusion –Riding in Point to Points appears to be a good starting ground for young riders. The progression of learning a trade in Point to Points and progressing to the track has stood the test for many riders including Davy Russell, Timmy Murphy, Denis O’Regan, Andrew McNamara, Andrew Lynch and many many more.

So why would the powers that rule in this country think it a good idea to raise the age which a rider can ride in a point to point to be higher than that which a rider can ride on the track over jumps.

Surely to encourage riders to ride in Point to Points this age should be lower or at worst the same as that which a rider needs to be to be granted a professional licence. This may see riders stay an extra year in full education while riding as an amateur among many other benefits.

Traditionally at aged 16 a Jumps (Conditional Professional) OR Amateur Licence could be granted. This allowed a young rider keen to get racing to decide whether or not they wanted to follow the Amateur or Professional route. Weight often made this decision for them with those a little heavier opting to stay amateur and those particularly light opting to become a professional (conditional).

As of 2009

Aged 16 Option to Ride in Bumpers as an amateur OR ride in many Bumpers, Hurdles and Fences as a professional. (NB to ride over Fences aged 16 the rider must satisfy the authorities they have proven their ability over hurdles - there is no equivalent for the authorities to watch amatuers over smaller obstacles)

Aged 17 Ride as professional as above OR ride as an Amatuer in Point to Points.

Based on above any Rider who wants to ride over obstacles aged 16 MUST become a professional.

The risk always for a young rider being that if they are not good enough to make the grade as a professional they can no longer race ride as the option to turn back to becoming an amateur may be gone. Also if a rider who opted to turn professional saw a rise in his weight he might no longer be competitive as a professional with the amateur option again possibly lost.

It would seem that the best thing we could do is encourage young people to ride in Point to Points first at the age of 16 and then after they have gained experience, made connections and learned how much their body has grown in the next 12months then allow them to take out a professional licence (conditional) at the age of 17. Or move the age for both to 17 and let them make a decision rather than edging the decision towards being a professional.

We currently allow a young 16 year old the opportunity to ride over hurdles and fences as a professional but they cannot ride in point to points until they are 17 with only bumper licences being granted to those aged 16. The process of acquiring a Licence and attending RACE has ensured that only those capable of riding at any level will be granted a licence and those not capable will be refused. So if a 16 year old is big, strong and capable enough of riding in a point to point –what can we gain by preventing him from riding in points.

Last Summer a 16 year old (not aware of the rule above) applied to become an amateur with a view to riding in point to points and over obstacles on the track. His first preference being to see how he got on with a view to possibly becoming professional in time. He was then advised that if he wanted to ride over obstacles at the age of 16 he could not do so with an amateur licence and MUST turn professional immediately.

Our young and hugely enthusiastic hopeful of course opted to become professional and has ridden in 50 hurdles and also rode in a high class Chase at Leopardstown over Christmas but not until next Autumn Season would our system allow him to ride in a point to point.

It is so important that we develop young talent in a responsible manner. Via RACE we have the facilities and expertise to assess all riders to see who is capable of riding in point to points aged 16 and indeed many may not be capable by the age of 60 but to encourage young riders who aged 16 think only of putting on colours and riding in a race to take the professional route in preference to being an Amatuer seems irresponsible and no doubt there will be riders who regret their decisions down the line.

Would the career of Davy Russell be the same had he turned professional Day 1, or Adrian Maguire who won an Irish National as an Amateur beating Charlie Swan by a narrow margin or Timmy Murphy who was almost Champion Point to Point Rider.

We have a wonderful breeding ground in point to pointing for Horse and Rider alike and should encourage our young hopeful riders to stay in education while riding in Point to Points for at least one year before taking the plunge and turning professional.

As someone whose career finished aged 19 owing to weight I would have very much missed my 16th year when I rode in Point to Points and was lucky enough to ride a couple of winners.

NB – It is worth noting that the rule allowing Professionals to turn back amateur has been relaxed to allow Professionals who have not ridden 25 winners the option to turn back amateur once they have a break of 6months.

This seems to confirm that we know the age rule ‘may’ cause some riders to make a mistake so we will allow them to undo the mistake under the new rule.

How about we get it right in the first place and encourage riders to follow the sensible channel for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

If they want to protect 16 year olds they should only allow them to ride in specific types of races rather than banning them altogether. An 10 year old hunter with a clean jumping record is a different proposition to a feisty 4 year old that has never seen a fence in public. I can see their point in restricting it, but it doesn't make sense to ban it altogether. Young lads need experience and P2Ps are a great training ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

What's really ironic is that they're allowing 16 year olds turn professional and ride in chases and hurdles on the racecourse, but not letting them ride in point-to-points.

I agree with your point about maybe restricting the type of point-to-points they can ride in, maybe to an open race or an older maiden race (with a restriction that the horse had run at least three times). Though that said I had my first point-to-point ride on a horse who was having her first run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Rio 2016

Pigott rode his first winner at twelve. This just proves that times really have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

Rio 2016 wrote: »
    Pigott rode his first winner at twelve. This just proves that times really have changed.

Yes but those were also the days when a steeple jack just climbed up the steeple without any ropes. We now have health and safety laws which are a pain in the ass but are there for a purpose. I think 12 year olds should be riding ponies.....not racehorses. Plenty of time for that. And while most 16 year would say they got around on their first point to point ride, it only takes one to die or get seriously injured from a silly mistake to prove the point. While we might not like the fact that Laytown is now on a straight course, restricted to ten runners and no blinkers or apprentice riders, it was born out of an accident. We only learn when it's too late and a little preventative action is sometimes required. No probs with 16 year olds riding as long as it's sensible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Everybody who applies for a licence to ride has to attend an assessment day at RACE and be examined on their riding ability, both on the flat and over fences (if applying for an A3, B or C licence), so if they pass that element of the assessment then they are deemed to be proficient riders by the Turf Club, who then issue them with their licence.

If the applicants who are 16 are deemed suitable to ride over fences on the track, then surely they should also be permitted to ride in point-to-points? I think the issue with this rule is that they are permitted to ride over fences as a professional, but not as an amateur.

I think racing has one of the best safety policies and the Turf Club doctors have done their best for the safety of riders, reducing the number of injuries hugely. I think it's a pity that some other equestrian sports don't take a leaf from their book and improve rider (and horse) safety.