Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Car--Insurance company

• 18-01-2010 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭

So On Friday night afterwork , I went to the cinema to see the road, with the GF, Parked my car a the cresent shopping center and off we went , I arrived back to an empty parking space........Some Beeping beep , Stole my car (1995 Honda integra) and wrote the f*in thing off . not cool.
    To make matters worse the Designs I had been working for work as OT were in the car on a 500gig drive , I assume that was stolen as well. F**kers.

Ignoring all the stuff in the car thats gone , What way do the insurance company look at these things.Do they just look at the car as a write off and thats it or do they assume cost to repair the car.
    Do i try and force getting the cost of replacing the car from the insurance company.

Im going to sweet F all aint I

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

You'll have to hassle them, they'll try to give you as little as possible for the car. So print out some ads from carzone etc showing the average price for the car, be sure to list any expensive mods as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭kevez

feckin c***s :mad: if the cost is more than 2/3 of what the cars worth they will write it off :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

Crap , only found 3 of the same year so model and year so far , So the average of them is 1600 euro ......that wouldn't even my some of the shoe the GF dreams about .

Charles Bronson is need to deal with the F*ckheads. That car was completly worthless to everyone else but me .Annoyed isnt the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Sorry to hear, it would make you want to buy a similar car put it in the same spot next week and await your prey with some weaponry.

Oh Tipsy that taught had occured to me .......and I wouldn't stop there , I would follow them home,And say high to family just so they wouldn't there little Johnny Robbing cars from anyone else.
    Its not even the stealing of the car , its that I don't get to punch anyone or do anything , I just get to sit here..FUBAR

I really liked how my integra Drove. And Now im not sure what to get.and on a budget of nothing I'm kinda stuck

Hyundai Coupes are nurses cars right ?ppl dont steal nurses cars do they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Joeface wrote: »

You are just looking for an excuse to buy a girlie car:p

Well If its not going to get robbed on me yes yes I will buy a chicks car.

Im man enough to drive it .

Just off the phone with Gardai , Tech Unit aint even looked at it yet , so Im still not allowed at it ....All I want to see is if the found the Harddrive , It was hidden away but Im sure they found it I just have to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

The purpose of your insurance is to return you to the same financial position you were in before the incident ever happened. So if that means you have to buy one of the ones for €1600 and put 2k into it, that is your right , the ins company cant just say oh here is another kinda like yours. if yours had alloys, the replacement will have to too. Once of course you have the value insured correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

In Limerick? As you well know, there's yokes knocking around here that have been (in)bred out of the human race. They don't reason about stealing a car. They do it like a frog eats a fly - because it's there in front of them... I think it's just an automatic response, they don't seem capable of normal civilised thoughts...

Aye in limerick ,
    And as for value of the car I had it insured @ a value of €3000, so its as close to that Im aiming

Progressing slowly , gardai just finished there Tech exam of the car , so far they have told me it was stolen :D

I will post photos of the damage tomorrow ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

funkyjebus wrote: »
    The purpose of your insurance is to return you to the same financial position you were in before the incident ever happened. So if that means you have to buy one of the ones for €1600 and put 2k into it, that is your right , the ins company cant just say oh here is another kinda like yours. if yours had alloys, the replacement will have to too. Once of course you have the value insured correctly.

not quite true, unless the OP as declared all the extras to the insurance company they are only entitled to the value of the bog standard car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

Progressing slowly , gardai just finished there Tech exam of the car , so far they have told me it was stolen :D

I will post photos of the damage tomorrow ....

CSI like results there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Chill.ie (Conor)

Depending on your insurance company and the cover you have under that particular policy, you may be entitled to claim for the 500GB hard drive. To be honest you will probably not get the full amount back for the hard drive, typically €150-€200 because only up to a certain amount is covered under personal possessions. In the case of our car, there are two different types of write off’s, financial and mechanical.

Financial Write Off....

Due to the fact the car is 15 years old it is automatically a financial write off in insurance terms. The maximum that companies would normally pay out here is around €2,000 and not the value you have it insured for. Depending on the insurance company, you can ask them to look favourably on the write off and not scrap the car but to give you something towards the repair of it.

Mechanical Write Off...

If the car is a mechanical write off i.e. Grade A,B,C,D, the company will only give you a standard payout according to current value. Grade C and D cars can be repaired, put back on the road but A and B grade cars can not be put back on the road.

In the case of work items that may have been which are property of a company you are working for and you have permission to bring those items home, then you may be covered under the company insurance but again this depends on the cover you have under your particular policy.

I hope this helps. If you need anything else, just get in touch with us.

Thanks For that reply Conor,
    Good to know

I was going to post photos but its not even worth the web space, Wrecked is an understatement

After crashing it the dickheads decided to put a Block of about a foot cubed in size thru the back window , The Passager side front wheel looks like they hit a kerb and it got pulled back under the car, They hit the sump , Cracked it , Engine moved off its mounds ,Hit every panel on the passanger side , Put in both back side back windows.Broke steering lock , Damaged both doors, Rear spolier is gone , Wing mirrors gone (they were the nice auto folding ones) They left the stereo , They left the 500gig portable drive and The SATA drive that was in the console that I forgot about . So really all they were doing was looking for some to piss off.Thanks for that guys , from one limerck man to another ...really F*in thanks .......yer a shinning example a of what limerick has to offer .

Insurance first offer or test the waters offer is ...........wait for it a massive 800-900euro .........GO AND F UR SELF

So the pricks that stole my car and wrote it off have now left me no car , no funding to replace the car , Have to get a loan , Single income for 2 ppl and mortgage (just like half the country) I needed this like a hole im my head.

I can't decide whether , to take it leave it or what .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Sorry to hear that, Joeface. At this point it sounds like you're down to negotiating with the ins co. The first rule of negotiation is don't lose the head - a claims assessor is far more likely to help you if they like you. Get as much supporting documentation as you can to make your case for a higher value on the car, be firm, be persuasive, and above all be polite. Good luck.

Yeah I know I have to remain calm

have located 2 adds so far for similar spec'd cars and pricing of €2,200 asking , Im sure both could be bought for 1200-1500 but thats not the point is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Well it probably is the point! If they can be bought for €1200, you'd only need an extra €300 off the Insurance Company. That shouldn't be too hard to negotiate.

Ah now , thats not what im talking about , If asking 2200 , thats all the insurance company will be seeing , me talking some one down for 2200 doesn't come into it .If the insurnace company want to replace the car , they can go haggle the price down and deliver it to my door.

Come on Cody1 don't bring me down , im having a bad few months , I was only just back on the bloody road, Car was parked up for weeks cause I had a broken hand couldn't drive .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

I hear ya Joeface and I wasn't trying to bring you down, Just pointing out that if the Insurance company don't budge too much on they're offer, it mightn'd be that hard to get an integra with the same spec back on the road. You're not down the cash, you're down the car.

Best of luck anyway mate.

Next question

I went on to the vrt site as if I was importing another one , same year same model ,engine so on

It give an OMSP of €2000 , I assume i can use this in my discussions on the value of the car I was driving right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Next question

I went on to the vrt site as if I was importing another one , same year same model ,engine so on

It give an OMSP of €2000 , I assume i can use this in my discussions on the value of the car I was driving right ?

Most insurers will ignore the revenue site-thats set up solely to generate income for the govt.