Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gardaí identifying themselves?

• 17-01-2010 11:42PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭

This is the closest I could find to an appropriate forum for this question.

I'm just wondering...without going into detail about my particular experience...what is the proper procedure for plain-clothed Gardaí when inquiring about a person? As in, are they supposed to present ID and identify themselves immediately? Or at all?

Say, for instance, that three people came to the door and said they were Gardaí...is that sufficient identifying? Or would the ID be whipped out at that point?

Heh, this is probably the vaguest post I've made in a while. But I just want to know that before I leap to other conclusions, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I could knock on your door and claim to be a Garda,

Ask for ID, from each of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

nipplenuts wrote: »
    I could knock on your door and claim to be a Garda,

Ask for ID, from each of them.

Indeed. And I've got no misgivings about my errors, but all I'm asking for is whether there's an actual procedure for this kind of thing or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Indeed. And I've got no misgivings about my errors, but all I'm asking for is whether there's an actual procedure for this kind of thing or not.

A member in plain clothes must identify themselves using their official identification card/Badge when using any of the powers conferred upon them by law.

It's not always possible given certan quick/violent situations but would be done as soon as possible after.

In the circumstance you describe the "Gardai" should have identified themselves immediately if they didn't want the door slammed in their faces. I see no reason why they would not have done so if they were in fact really Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

bravestar wrote: »
    A member in plain clothes must identify themselves using their official identification card/Badge when using any of the powers conferred upon them by law.

It's not always possible given certan quick/violent situations but would be done as soon as possible after.

In the circumstance you describe the "Gardai" should have identified themselves immediately if they didn't want the door slammed in their faces. I see no reason why they would not have done so if they were in fact really Gardai.

That's pretty much what I thought, thanks.

It seems that it was a legitimate visit, after ringing the station to confirm that they had called out.

It was the tenant in the flat we're renting out (which is attached to the house) that they were wanting to speak to. We don't know what it's about, but we've since been assured again that there's no need for us to be concerned.

Still not sure why three of them were necessary though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭pah

Still not sure why three of them were necessary though!

Plain clothes or detectives often operate in pairs so 2 calling wouldn't be at all strange. The third may have been a student garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I'm just wondering...without going into detail about my particular experience...what is the proper procedure for plain-clothed Gardaí when inquiring about a person? As in, are they supposed to present ID and identify themselves immediately? Or at all?

Say, for instance, that three people came to the door and said they were Gardaí...is that sufficient identifying? Or would the ID be whipped out at that point?

Posted before, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭MRLAZY

i was walking down the street a few months ago, and i was with my Girlfriend and she was pushing my daughter in the buggy. there was alot of traffic on the road, so the cars were practically stoped. So suddently a young man from one of the cars sitting in the passenger seat asked whats your name, ididnt hear him, so he asked my girlfriend, whats his name (i was walking a little bit a head at this time), so i didnt hear.

She didnt answer him and called me and she indicate to the young man, so then the man had my attention, again he ast my name (he had a cheeky smile on him at the same time), i replied with what? he ast again, i said mind your own business and walked on. Then he shouted im the gardai whats your name, so i told him fcuk off as i thought it was someone taking the piss.

Then he said again im the Gardai give me your name, i gave a quick glance back and noticed that the car was a unmarked Gardai car. So i walked over, i ast for ID, and the Driver of the car showed me his ID, I was kinda shocked at this time so i didnt take in the name or i was'nt even sure if it was a real Garda ID as i never seen one before.

So i gave him my name and address and after doing so, he said with a smile, ok that grand so and left me walk on with my bussiness. he didnt even write down my name.

Well after this my Girlfriend was really mad and she said that they gave her a fright, and that they should have never done this, that she should feel safe when the Garda are around. (shes right)
    She wanted to report them but i didnt have the name (stupid me) but i say it wouldnt have amounted to anything anyway.

She told her brother who is a Garda and he was pissed over this and said i should of taken hes name, he said there leaving all sorts of cnuts in theses days. :)

Even though i want to join the Garda and will be applying in the next campaign, and i do understand and appreciate what the gards do, but after this i understand when people say fcuk the Gardai, well maybe not all Garda but diff them two fcukers...

Well thats my story:) thought it was kinda related to the one above :)........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

MRLAZY wrote: »
    i was walking down the street a few months ago, and i was with my Girlfriend and she was pushing my daughter in the buggy. there was alot of traffic on the road, so the cars were practically stoped. So suddently a young man from one of the cars sitting in the passenger seat asked whats your name, ididnt hear him, so he asked my girlfriend, whats his name (i was walking a little bit a head at this time), so i didnt hear.

She didnt answer him and called me and she indicate to the young man, so then the man had my attention, again he ast my name (he had a cheeky smile on him at the same time), i replied with what? he ast again, i said mind your own business and walked on. Then he shouted im the gardai whats your name, so i told him fcuk off as i thought it was someone taking the piss.

Then he said again im the Gardai give me your name, i gave a quick glance back and noticed that the car was a unmarked Gardai car. So i walked over, i ast for ID, and the Driver of the car showed me his ID, I was kinda shocked at this time so i didnt take in the name or i was'nt even sure if it was a real Garda ID as i never seen one before.

So i gave him my name and address and after doing so, he said with a smile, ok that grand so and left me walk on with my bussiness. he didnt even write down my name.

Well after this my Girlfriend was really mad and she said that they gave her a fright, and that they should have never done this, that she should feel safe when the Garda are around. (shes right)
    She wanted to report them but i didnt have the name (stupid me) but i say it wouldnt have amounted to anything anyway.

She told her brother who is a Garda and he was pissed over this and said i should of taken hes name, he said there leaving all sorts of cnuts in theses days. :)

Even though i want to join the Garda and will be applying in the next campaign, and i do understand and appreciate what the gards do, but after this i understand when people say fcuk the Gardai, well maybe not all Garda but diff them two fcukers...

Well thats my story:) thought it was kinda related to the one above :)........

Ah now. Ye were really that traumatised after being asked for your name and address?

And you're sure that the "cheeky smile" wasn't just ... a smile?

I don't know the situation, I don't know why he'd have been interested in you, could've just been a simple misunderstanding or whatever ... but I don't see anything inappropriate in the situation as you've described it. He asked for your name, you asked for his ID, he provided it ... nothing came of it ... no big deal!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,897 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

This has been done to death on the forum. Gardai ask people to identify themselves for a variety of reasons, and are perfectly entitled to do so once they have a reason.

Let it go people.