Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards cyclists

• 17-01-2010 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Hi guys. Ok so finally got all my gear together I have a flat bar giant rapid that I'd like to get to know a few ppl that go for cycles in the north Dublin area. I'm in lusk myself. Now if I meet up with u guys will I be laughed at for having flat bars lol

also anyone out my way looking for a partner for cycling i'm ur man but u gotta take it easy with me

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Hi guys. Ok so finally got all my gear together I have a flat bar giant rapid that I'd like to get to know a few ppl that go for cycles in the north Dublin area. I'm in lusk myself. Now if I meet up with u guys will I be laughed at for having flat bars lol

also anyone out my way looking for a partner for cycling i'm ur man but u gotta take it easy with me
    Don't worry about flat bars - I had them for 18 months before getting a "proper" bike - Mockler007 also has them (albeit on an MTB), so you are in good company

I'm up the road just outside Skerries, but unfortunatley most of my riding is commuting - I hit Lusk just before 7am most mornings. I may get out a bit more during the school holidays, when the kids tend to be away.

There are a few cycling boardsies in the area (I don't know any specifically from Lusk, but there are certainly some in Skerries, Balbriggan and Balrothery).

Had flat bars for ages (still do on what's now my commuter!) and they're grand. You get bonus points for passing people on bikes with drop bars when you've flat bars anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

I am in Lusk so if you want to go for a spin we can arrange something.I go out some evenings for an hour so if you have a good light you could join me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Thanks lads. That would b great ro. I'm 24 n looking for a reason to get out. A good light was one of my first purchases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

First proper cycle last night thanks ro for coming along. I know sometimes ya prob wanted to sprint off but defo a good experience to continue going out.

Beasty thanks for the offer but I'm in work at that time. Were do u commute to

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

blahblah06 wrote: »

Beasty thanks for the offer but I'm in work at that time. Were do u commute to
    Just off Malahide Road, near Clare Hall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Did I pass yis this eve around 8pm at Hedgestown near Derek Plants Farm machinery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

yes that was us on the way back to Lusk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

No problem with flat bars! I did 1.5 years worth of sportives on a Specialized Sirrus - WW100, WW200, Sean Kelly, ROK among others. I never feel out of place, though one guy asked me what it was like to do 100km on a mountain bike. He obviously didn't spot the 700x25s I had on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Esmimyst

I'm looking for a person or group of people who would be interested in doing some training/fitness biking on Sundays from 8am to 10am/11am. It'd be 40k to 70k ride. Only weather permitting obviously.

I live in Dublin 6 so we'd start around Rathmines, Harold's Cross or Terenure. Routes will depend on the weather.

A very good level of fitness and a proper road bike is recommended. Average speed will be at least 20kph.

Cheers!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Check out ThinkBike in Rathmines. They have a club who start their regular road spins from the Rathmines shop on Sunday mornings. Only been out with them for the road spin once, but a very friendly crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

smacl wrote: »
    Check out ThinkBike in Rathmines. They have a club who start their regular road spins from the Rathmines shop on Sunday mornings. Only been out with them for the road spin once, but a very friendly crew.

+1. Usually a couple of Boardsies there. ThinkBike guys are very sound. Leaves the shop around 9.30 Sunday AM. Not sure when they are starting up again this January. Maybe contact the shop to find out.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

daragh_ wrote: »
    +1. Usually a couple of Boardsies there. ThinkBike guys are very sound. Leaves the shop around 9.30 Sunday AM. Not sure when they are starting up again this January. Maybe contact the shop to find out.

Bikerbhoy is a staff member there so you could probably drop him a PM if you can't get in, never went out for a spin with them but met them a few times in Wicklow (nice jersey).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

il be back out in week or two if i cant get my bike serviced and get my new pedals put on as my toe clips wont come off which i put on for commuting in winter.

im in walkinstown but could meet in terenure, yeah thinkbike lads are good, they did rides during world cup but times didnt suit.