Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bjj Open 2010

• 17-01-2010 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭

www.bjjdublinopen.com

The Dublin Open will be taking place in Trinity Comprehensive School, Main Street, Ballymun, Dublin 9, on Sunday 21st February 2010.
    You can follow the latest news on the competition at www.bjjdublinopen.com and it will be possible to follow the event on twitter @ twitter.com/bjjdublinopen
    More information to follow soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Quick question Wayne. Is it possible for older gentlemen (as in the over 30s) to enter the normal divisions? Or do I have to be honest with my age. I'm turning 30 the day before the event you see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

should be that..Masters and seniors can enter the Adult division by choice. Just if your an adult you cant enter the master or seniors, same upwards with master entering seniors to seniors +

God bless us , if we're still going at 55 (Senior 5 ) division:D

Masters (30-35)

* Athletes born between 1974 and 1979
    * Fight time: Bluebelts 5 minutes
    * Purple/brown/blackbelts 6 minutes

Seniors 1 (36-40)

* Athletes born between 1969 and 1973.
    * Fight time: all belts - 5 minutes

Seniors 2 (41-45)

* Athletes born between 1964 and 1968.

Seniors 3 (46-50)

* Athletes born between 1959 and 1963.

Seniors 4 (51-55)

* Athletes born between 1954 and 1958.

Seniors 5 (over 55)

* Athletes born before 1953.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Is there a weigh in on the day or will you be Dq'd for not making weight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭wayne1

Is there a weigh in on the day or will you be Dq'd for not making weight?

Rules are the same as ibjjf
    http://www.ibjjf.org/

Roper wrote: »
    Quick question Wayne. Is it possible for older gentlemen (as in the over 30s) to enter the normal divisions? Or do I have to be honest with my age. I'm turning 30 the day before the event you see.

Barry ur a old man now, we have go by
    the rules Barry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭bella1

yes barry masters and seniors can enter the adult section.
    cheers andy

Anybody any qustions ask Andy / Bella1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Wayne you might be happy to get old but I'll be trying to pretend I'm 29 for a while yet. Seniors it is, hopefully won't get smashed by some 19 year old, and hopefully get to bring my zimmer frame right to the edge of the mat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭TEAM RYANO

not long to go ,we have a few entrys already.
    should be a good comp,start the bjj year off well ,some good bjj and nogi comps ahead should be a good year for irish bjj and nogi.
    hope to see you at the comp.
    cheers :D

lads and ladies every one will get at least 2 fights,we will do pools then knock out.
    cheers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭DTB

Will there be working toilets etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

DTB wrote: »
    Will there be working toilets etc

of course ther will.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

different venue/the water in the estate last time was off.
    cheers:cool:

guys not to long till the dublin open ,get your entrys in
    if we have enough under 18s we will do a division.
    hope to see you there
    team ryano

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Did you get mine?

Also I'll try to get these moany teenagers off their arses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Ive submitted mine too.

Whats the new venue?

the venue details and event details are on the link on the first post.
    no barry not yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

whats the closing date for entries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Daniel2oo9

I Will have 1 training session in would i be eligible;)
    LoL

Price for entry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭wayno

Over 30 and under 30 if there is only 1 or 2 in ur group
    u will be moved up or down to make sure
    everbody get a couple of fights in ur weight group.:)

Price for entry?

Barry €25:)

whats the closing date for entries?
    Entries are now closed :)

Looking forward to it now. I hope everyone in my division is ready for my new attack- the north-South Snot wipe. best to bring some tissues if you're rolling with me. Actually if you rub some vick on your chest before competing against me that would be awesome.

( no knee bars Barry ):eek:

Hopefully no brain farts this time Wayne :) Still getting slagged for that in the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'll try be there, armed with nothing more deadly than a camera or two :D

Hope to meet some of you Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm right beside the Comp, if anyone needs their car looked after I'll keep an eye on it for a fiver. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

Well done to everyone who competed today... warriors all for sticking the brass monkey cold!

We had 2 lads competing this time, they came away with a gold and two bronzes :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

MaeveD wrote: »
    Well done to everyone who competed today... warriors all for sticking the brass monkey cold!

We had 2 lads competing this time, they came away with a gold and two bronzes :D:D

And frost bite :pac:

Good show, good ol' craic.

Great tournament. Really great venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Great competition. Thanks to Andy, Ritchie and all of team Ryano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

Sounds like the comp went well, Andy! Fair play to ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭KevinH

Are the results for this competition up anywhere ?