Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first bicycle?

• 16-01-2010 1:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Quick change of topic from a wrong posting I placed in ATR

What was your first bicycle? :o

Mine was a "Convertible" with baloon tyres that was handed down from two brothers. It ended its life when our neighbours alsation chewed the tyres and saddle off it and ended up in a skip. :)

I then progressed on to a Raleigh Hustler, which I could barely put my feet on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Hmmmmm Ok I shouldnt say this It's unfair and immature but the first thing that popped into my head was, "Jesus he looks like a sex offender"

My take on this is - Excellent Law,

Have you ever had to sit next to a child on a long haul flight? :eek:

HELL

Wrong forum, changed the title to what was yoiur first bicycle :D

Topic discussed in AH :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Raleigh Strika:p

lord lucan wrote: »
    Guilty until proven innocent! Load of bollix imo.,i hope the guy is successful in his case so other airlines don't implement the same policy. Everyone looks "dodgy" in other peoples eyes,sweet jesus i don't know what the world is coming too.:rolleyes:

Why is this in ATR btw?
    Promptly changed to discussing your first bicycle, blame eyesight and the use of a 10" netbook. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Not exactly what I asked for, a triumph 20.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

A bmx of some sort. I rode it for ages, when I was much to big for it. It had a big number between the handlebars, as if I was in a race i remember.

Agricola wrote: »
    A bmx of some sort. I rode it for ages, when I was much to big for it. It had a big number between the handlebars, as if I was in a race i remember.

BMX were only beginning when I was in my teens, 5 and 10 speed racers were the fad. Raleigh produced some heavy monstrocities like the Carlton Corsa, Flyer, Sun, They weight a ton with steel chainsets, steel tubing and wheelrims. The only place where you could get a decent bike or components were the Rutland on North Fredrick St. I use to drool over the Mercian frame sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭LeBash

Raleigh Fox with a noise making console that fell to pieces from falling off the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I had a neon green one with thick tyres and a long saddle, it looked like a bmx...it had stabilizers too. My next on was a Triumph 20 I got for xmas when I was 10 I think, I rode it to school for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I got my brothers Grifter when he finished with his. But my first brand new bike was a Dawes Ladies Racer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

hi mine was a raleigh burner blue with yellow mags 1980 got stroked god knows were it ended up!!! :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

First real bike was a light-blue Raleigh Chopper. Around 1978 I think.

I loved it so much that I brought it over to Ireland when we moved here. It was agony waiting for it to come. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

All you posh feckers with your raleighs. I had a super de lux, had back pedal brakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

My first bicycle was a Triumph 20, which I got for my 10th birthday and I used it until I got far too tall for it. Then I got a Raleigh Cameo, which was a lovely bike to climb hills except I got teased at school because it was so old fashioned so I refused to ride it. My poor father traded it in for a racer (and I heard for years how bad the trade-in was!), but i loved it and loved showing it off.

Years later, I met and married a guy from the same neck of the woods as those girls that teased me about my second bike - he said they were already bicycles themselves, serving the lads in the village!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Elswick Turbo 12 - great bike

288868314.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

I can't remember the name of my first bike but the first bike I saved and paid for was an all-steel, five-speed Raleigh Sportsman, I must have done thousands of miles on it youth hostelling, I thought it was the bees knees, it was handed down to a younger brother and he had it for years 'til it was stolen from his school bike shed :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

I learned to ride a bike on a Triumph 20 but it belonged to my cousin so, officially, it wasn't mine :P

My FIRST bike was a blue Raleigh Grifter was like this one....

grifter.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Quint wrote: »
    All you posh feckers with your raleighs. I had a super de lux, had back pedal brakes

me too, yeah back brakes and had a long black and white saddle
    crap but great fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

Can't remember the make but I thought it was the bees knees because it had some sort of rudimentary mini computer between the handlebars. I don't even remember what the computer did, something useless I imagine, but it was still cool to a 6 year old :D

piby wrote: »
    Can't remember the make but I thought it was the bees knees because it had some sort of rudimentary mini computer between the handlebars. I don't even remember what the computer did, something useless I imagine, but it was still cool to a 6 year old :D

Was it a Raleigh Vectra? It had some kind of "computer" fitted.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Baby Eska with back wheel break.

Burner 5 spoke was first one by choice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

A Raleigh Apple. Such a retarded name for a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Firstly Raleigh Tomahawk Choppers were all the rage. Where I lived most people were on th labour and could not afford Raleigh, so we all got a cheap imitation from the far east called a cowboy chopper. It was a cowboy allright. 3 or 4 of us got one the same year out of the local huckster shop and were all going down the back lane....when one guy's just broke in half literally. I can still see the other 2 girls bombing along with him walking after us crying carrying 2 halves of a bike.

Couple of years later, I asked again (Santa) for a Raleigh (traffic master) and was given an Eska out of Quinnsworth (in lime green) Did not like the green, so painted it blue with the paint we had used to paint our front door. There was killings in our house that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

My first bike was a Raleigh Rudge dating from the 1950s. Bought it in 1988 for £5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Raleigh Boxer
    boxer.jpg

Followed by the Raleigh Grifter
    grifter.jpg

Ahh the memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

A hand-me-down raleigh chippy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Mine was a raleigh apple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i remember finally going to get mine secondhand and my parents taking me to someone' house to see it. it was quite a beat up red BMX with a white seat/tyres. i hated that it was so old and boyish. all my friends had pink or purple ones with stuff like "princess" written on them and a basket. mine said UNIVERSAL on the crossbar and i remember my mom pointing and saying "see? that means it's for boys AND girls!"
    but it had lots of those coloured thingies on the spokes, which pleased me, and i rode the hell out of it for yearrrsss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Followed by the Raleigh Grifter

IIRC, these had deadly handle-grip gears and you could see a different colour for each gear when it clicked around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Mine was called a Raleigh bluebird most of the girls on my street had one but mine was better it had a white plastic box (I called it my boot) on the saddle and a bell

I really loved it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

A Heinz 57, put together by my late dad from whatever bits and pieces of bikes he could muster up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Mine was a "Convertible" with balloon tyres .

So was mine. It died when the bottom bracket broke out of the frame for a second time.

Bouncy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I honestly have no idea. It was some kind of small blue bike. By the time I got it, it had no pedals (or cranks!) so I used to just sit on the saddle and use my legs to push me along. I was probably 4 or 5 years of age.

I left it outside a friend's house one night, beside the bins and when I came to collect it in the morning, the bin man had taken it :'(

nipplenuts wrote: »
    So was mine. It died when the bottom bracket broke out of the frame for a second time.

Bouncy!
    Mine lost both pedals and an alsation devoured the tyres, ended up on the scrap heap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 kiciuch6666

Something like this.

Similar but a pressed steel rear carrier, tyres and main tubing were larger. Will try to dig up photos, mine was a mid 1960's vintage hand down from two older brothers, and repainted by the time I got it. :mad: