Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Goodness, It's NOT Guinness!!

• 15-01-2010 9:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭

Would you be disappointed if you seen a Guinness tanker and thought it was free stout but it wasn't? Fair play to them for helping the people that need it!

Link
    Drought-hit Dubliners were turning to Guinness tonight as water taps ran dry in homes across the Irish capital.

The famous brewer is using its gargantuan tankers to get much-needed supplies to thousands of people hit by a water shortage crisis caused by burst mains during the big freeze.

Queues of people lining up with jugs, pots and pans at the lorries – which usually carry 30,000 litres of the black stuff – have drawn double takes from the city’s thirsty residents.

Dublin City Council worker Michael Walsh, manning one Guinness truck at Kilmore Estate, in Santry, said many turned up thinking there was free stout on tap.

“We’re looking after thousands here,” he said. “Everybody is thinking we’re giving away free Guinness but they’re happy with water.

“It’s more valuable than gold at the minute.”

In the queue, mother-of-two Ann-Marie Gubbins, 32, insisted she deserved a pint of something stronger after the strain of going days without water to drink, wash or cook with.

“I’m worn out from getting water,” she said.

“There’s no-one even to give us an idea of a day when it’s going to come back, we’re hearing four to eight weeks. They can’t leave us that long without it, it’s not right.

“I wouldn’t mind if they filled up my tanks with Guinness, I could do with it today.”

Guinness, the largest user of public water supplies in Dublin, said it immediately offered to help the city council when levels became critically low, during the past week.

People running taps to prevent pipes freezing and burst mains across the network have drained reservoirs to such an extent that authorities predict it will take months before supplies return to normal.

The Guinness tankers are drawing water from the brewery’s vast reserves and transporting it to areas cut off by the shortage.

They are also refilling tanks at other large companies like Cadbury’s, which was fast running out.

Food manufacturer Batchelors said 40 jobs at its plant in north Dublin were under threat because a lack of supplies needed to can peas, beans and fruit juices.

Colin O’Brien, operations manager of St James’s Gate Guinness brewery, said the company’s minimum water usage programme allowed it to provide water and tankers to where it is needed without disrupting production.

“Guinness has a very positive and long-standing relationship with Dublin City Council and it is our responsibility to assist our city partners how and where we can during these difficult times,” he added.

Around one billion pints are brewed at St James’s Gate every year.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/guinness-supply-water-to-dublin-public-442090.html#ixzz0cihLo0oa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Very nice gesture of them, marketing ploy or not.

Guinness is still horrible though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

brummytom wrote: »
    WTF?! Take that back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

The crap you get in England is.

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    Probably true

its made in the same place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Drought-hit Dubliners

Boggers FTW!

Who's uncivilized now ya show'ra backstards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Anyone who left their tap running should be cut off permanently.

its made in the same place

But they don't have them fellas in the little vans running around taking care of things.

I withdraw my previous statement and intend to have another pint of it by next Tuesday at the latest... I've only had one, maybe it was a bad'un? :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Why does English Guinness taste bad?
    800 years that's why!
    </rabble>

I withdraw my previous statement and intend to have another pint of it by next Tuesday at the latest... I've only had one, maybe it was a bad'un? :D

Only drink a pint in a pub where lots of other people are already drinking Guiness.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Drought-hit Dubliners

Boggers FTW!

The boggers, still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

it will grow on you as the years pass

Why does English Guinness taste bad?
    800 years that's why!
    </rabble>

Ah.. so it was a bit off?
    Only drink a pint in a pub where lots of other people are already drinking Guiness.;)

I'm at the Irish centre Tuesday, my usual pint will become a Guinness next week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The problem in most English pubs is the guinness is pulled in the same way as your average beer .....flat as fook although in some of the Irish centres you'll get a good pint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

"Food manufacturer Batchelors said 40 jobs at its plant in north Dublin were under threat because a lack of supplies needed to can peas, beans and fruit juices."

That's scary - if we can't get peas, beans & fruit from a tin, where else are we supposed to get them? It's not like they grow on trees. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

Guinness uses a lot of Dublins water supply so the least they can do is give some of it back to the people(without adding alcohol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Uncle Arfur will be swimming in his grave at this move!

In fairness though even a bad pint of Guinness does some good=Free pebble -dash on yar WC wall free with every bad un!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Drought-hit Dubliners

Boggers FTW!

Dont ya mean Draught hit Dubliners ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

/me Smacks brummytom with a rolled up newspaper

NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

how very dare you young tom

although your either drinking it in a place which doesn't serve much of it, or from someone who cant pour it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭RightlyRandom

Nah sorry im with Tom on this one, Guinness is Horrid! Never liked the stuff!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Nah sorry im with Tom on this one, Guinness is Horrid! Never liked the stuff!

:eek: Ban this heretic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

And you call yourself a Luke Kelly fan :p

Get yourself along to The White Swan.

The best Pint of Guinness in Birmingham for 40 years.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You're not encouraging underage drinking now lads, are you?

OutlawPete wrote: »

The nest Pint of Guinness in Birmingham for 40 years.
    The one in Digbeth?

OutlawPete wrote: »

The nest Pint of Guinness in Birmingham for 40 years.

It's not there anymore.
    The foreigners ate it.

The one in Digbeth?

That's the one :)

Ooh I know that one; right behind the Irish Centre and just next to a pub I play in every few weeks... I'll have to pop in :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Ah.. so it was a bit off?

I'm at the Irish centre Tuesday, my usual pint will become a Guinness next week :D

Seeing as your in Birmingham the kerry man usually do a nice guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Probably true
    Sorry but probably is not in Guinnes's vocabulary ;)

Try Carlsberg :D

Ooh I know that one; right behind the Irish Centre and just next to a pub I play in every few weeks... I'll have to pop in :P

Just tell them The Outlaw sent ya.. you won't meet nicer people.

Just go when it's busy (Irish Rugby match on the box and you'll have the craic) :)

The White Swan

Pic1

Pic2..

Pic3..

Pic4..

Pic5

Pic6..

Pic7

Pic8

orourkeda wrote: »
    Seeing as your in Birmingham the kerry man usually do a nice guinness

Should I be worried I know where all of the places are? That one's just opposite the Irish centre and up from a Folk Music shop I use :/ Scary
    Bonito wrote: »
    Sorry but probably is not in Guinnes's vocabulary ;)

Try Carlsberg :D

Carlsberg's one of my usuals. Probably Stella first, Carlsberg then Carling, maybe a Fosters aswell. I'm a very plain child. Had a few Kronenburgs the other week, didn't like them.. too kind of.. dunno, fruity? Too much flavour :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Should I be worried I know where all of the places are? That one's just opposite the Irish centre and up from a Folk Music shop I use :/ Scary

Carlsberg's one of my usuals. Probably Stella first, Carlsberg then Carling, maybe a Fosters aswell. I'm a very plain child. Had a few Kronenburgs the other week, didn't like them.. too kind of.. dunno, fruity? Too much flavour :pac:

No it's a good thing. It'd be worse if you didnt know them. Have yiu been to the Dubliner since they did it up. Hennesseys used to be ok too.

. I'll have to pop in :P

Don't go during the day when quiet or this might happen ya ;)

**nsfw**

orourkeda wrote: »
    No it's a good thing. It'd be worse if you didnt know them. Have yiu been to the Dubliner since they did it up. Hennesseys used to be ok too.
    So stick round Digbeth then? :P

Yeah popped into the Dubliner just after it re-opened (was that about two years ago now?). I remember hearing about the fire there/seeing it on the news. Mom and dad were shocked, they used to love the place when they were kids. Arson bastards

Never been to Hennessy's, looks a bit grim from the outside.. it alright inside then?
    You're a villa fan, aren't you? There's some good pubs round Erdington too, just down the road from Aston.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

oh young tom, you have much to learn, carlsberg and carling? next you'll be telling us you like budweiser

although i do drink the odd fosters my self when in london, only if no kronenburg or peroni through, not as easy to get them two on tap here

usally only drink guiness in irish pubs or the oneils chain over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

No wonder Guinness have to come out with tankers.

This area is still experiencing problems and will have an intermittent supply until reservoirs in the area recover. All available supply should be conserved. A tanker is being provided in this area as long as there is disruption to this supply.

The above is on the council website but yet there are 2 fúckers out washing their cars with hoses across from me. The water that is flowing into our houses is communal and is limited. The more someone uses the quicker it will run out. Stupid fúckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

When my local is quiet they let me pour my own Guinness. Perfectionist in the making I am :D

Some people will have a drop of blackcurrant in their 1st pint or 2 if they can't hack the taste straight off. I tried it a couple times and wasnt too bad. So long as you get the blackcurrant : Guinness ratio your sailing :)

irish-stew wrote: »
    oh young tom, you have much to learn, carlsberg and carling? next you'll be telling us you like budweiser

>.>

<.<

:o:o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Today's Middle-East edition of Stars and Stripes (Yes, the US Military newspaper) had a picture today of people in Kilmore Estate queueing behind a Guinness tanker for water. The page after the Haiti spread.

Your troubles are famous to that level.

NTM