Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Religion in School

Options
  • 15-01-2010 8:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭

Hi, I have a question relating to religion in secondary schools and I'm particularly looking for Christian opinions on it.

I'm an atheist, raised catholic though and my parents (particularly my mother) are catholics. When I was in secondary school (I'm in my second year of college now) the book we had for Religion for the junior cert of course had stories and teachings of Jesus and others from the Bible. However, there was also a good deal in the book about other religions. Now, to me, this immediately creates thought towards how one can know that the religion they follow is true and that the others are false (as was my thinking at the time). And after the Junior Cert religion became more of a morals class than anything to do with the bible.
    I can easily say that exposure to other religions through that class made me doubt Christianity more and more, which when coupled with an understanding of biology and other science made me an atheist.

So my question is not so much why are we taught about other religions in a Christian school (I think it is important to understand what other people believe) but rather do people not think that it might drive away some believers? Which is obviously the opposite of what is wanted.

The book would say to disscuss these topics in class but our teacher, who was somewhat old, would get angry at people questioning religion.

Thanks for reading

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Dr.Poca wrote: »