Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PGCE in Aberystwyth

• 15-01-2010 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭

Howya folks!
    I've been called for an interview for the PGCE (Secondary Teaching) in Aberystwyth some time at the end of this month (possibly next month). I was just curious as to what the PGCE is like. I've a 1st class honours BA in Geography and I'm doing an MSc in Environmental Science so how will this go with my application? Anyone know any readings that might be useful for the interview, is there anything on the Welsh education system that I need to know? I've heard that some people have been asked to present a topic to the interview panel, I was just wondering has anyone here had to do this? Do I need to bring over my leaving cert results, university transcripts, degree certificate etc...? What will I need to have on me really for the interview? Finally, what is the PGCE like? I didn't really enjoy my degree that much and my masters isn't much better either, so is this an enjoyable course? Just any information would be great and I would really appreciate it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Duffbeer

I just received a letter from this College today aswell for an Interview in 2 weeks time.
    If you are over your interview....how did it go? Did they go into the Geography subject in dept? How did you get there? Only realised that it is in the middle of nowhere!!
    Thanks for the tips!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 edel0026

Hi El

I am currently doing a PGCE in Business Studies and ICT in Swansea. My advise to you for the interview is to read up on the Welsh Education system but dont get bogged down as they don't expect you to know everything. A good document to look at is "QCA: A curriculum for the future: subjects consider the challenge". Here you will find subject specific information.
    In my interview I had to prepare a lesson to present on the day. You'll find loads of resources online to help with this. When I was asked to give feedback on my lesson in the interview it was very informal but I had much better resources than some of the other candidates who didnt take it as seriously. I think this worked in my favour.
    I was asked to bring my passport, my leaving cert results and my degree certificate.
    As for the question "is this an enjoyable course?" I would have to say no. It is a really intense year. The workload is huge. I would describe it as similar to having a full time job (teaching practice) and doing the final year of a degree (assignments) at the same time. The paper work is crazy. I am only half way through my PGCE and have 12 folders filled with lesson plans, self evaluations, resources, lecture notes etc. On the upside it is only one year and I absolutely love the teaching side of it. The support you get in the schools is fantastic. I would advise anyone who really wants to do teaching to go for it, but if you're not sure about becoming a teacher I really dont think the course is worth it. Best of luck with the interview
    Edel

Duffbeer wrote: »
    I just received a letter from this College today aswell for an Interview in 2 weeks time.
    If you are over your interview....how did it go? Did they go into the Geography subject in dept? How did you get there? Only realised that it is in the middle of nowhere!!
    Thanks for the tips!

Don't have the interview till next month. Regards travel, a flight to Birmingham and a train to Aber might be the best (unless of course you live in Wexford and get the boat to Fishgaurd and two buses to Aber). It's in the middle of Wales, apparently it's a nice university town (think Maynooth, but by the sea and with more pubs).
    edel0026 wrote:
    Hi El

I am currently doing a PGCE in Business Studies and ICT in Swansea. My advise to you for the interview is to read up on the Welsh Education system but dont get bogged down as they don't expect you to know everything. A good document to look at is "QCA: A curriculum for the future: subjects consider the challenge". Here you will find subject specific information.
    In my interview I had to prepare a lesson to present on the day. You'll find loads of resources online to help with this. When I was asked to give feedback on my lesson in the interview it was very informal but I had much better resources than some of the other candidates who didnt take it as seriously. I think this worked in my favour.
    I was asked to bring my passport, my leaving cert results and my degree certificate.
    As for the question "is this an enjoyable course?" I would have to say no. It is a really intense year. The workload is huge. I would describe it as similar to having a full time job (teaching practice) and doing the final year of a degree (assignments) at the same time. The paper work is crazy. I am only half way through my PGCE and have 12 folders filled with lesson plans, self evaluations, resources, lecture notes etc. On the upside it is only one year and I absolutely love the teaching side of it. The support you get in the schools is fantastic. I would advise anyone who really wants to do teaching to go for it, but if you're not sure about becoming a teacher I really dont think the course is worth it. Best of luck with the interview
    Edel

Thanks for the advice, I really appreciate it.:D

Don't have the interview till next month. Regards travel, a flight to Birmingham and a train to Aber might be the best (unless of course you live in Wexford and get the boat to Fishgaurd and two buses to Aber). It's in the middle of Wales, apparently it's a nice university town (think Maynooth, but by the sea and with more pubs).

I have mine Friday Week. Never looked at the logistics of it before I put Aber down on the application... Its easier to get to Sydney! A ferry to Holyhead and a couple of bus rides down or a ferry to Fishguard and a bus or two up in 2 hours or so. Was thinking of just Ferrying across and renting a car for the day...can't bring the company car! Nearest airport is 4 hours away which is a pain.

Went to NUI Maynooth so I know the sceal there...Loved every min of it so Aber would be ideal in that way.

Just want to know if I was sucessful with the interview, would I have to stay for another year after the course to qualify as a teacher? NQT?? I am only planning on getting there and doing the course and returning back asap after. Will I be OK to do so??
    Thanks a mill.

PS. Thanks Edel for infor on National Curriculum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭**Portia**

Hi Guys,

I'm looking to apply for a teaching course in the UK. Could you please tell me whether you had much teaching experience before applying? And how much this counts for...??

Hi Portia,

I don't have mainstream teaching experience but I have over 4 years of teaching Health & Safety to construction workers and employees in the Manufacturing sector. I have only 2 weeks Secondary School teaching experience after my BA 9 years ago and even though it wasnt much I put it down on app form. I have a BA (Geography, English) and MSc. Occupational Health, Safety & Ergonomics. This H&S teaching experience (albeit not mainstream) is enough to get me an interview next friday week so fingers crossed it will go to plan.

If you have no experience I would not worry about it too much but if you can do a TEFL course it would look good on your application. Do a week of shadowing in your local primary school or with a teacher you may know. I heard that 2 weeks of this "Teachers Assistance" would suffice...

Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

El Siglo wrote: »
    Howya folks!
    I've been called for an interview for the PGCE (Secondary Teaching) in Aberystwyth some time at the end of this month (possibly next month). I was just curious as to what the PGCE is like. I've a 1st class honours BA in Geography and I'm doing an MSc in Environmental Science so how will this go with my application?

Anyone know any readings that might be useful for the interview, is there anything on the Welsh education system that I need to know? I've heard that some people have been asked to present a topic to the interview panel, I was just wondering has anyone here had to do this?

Do I need to bring over my leaving cert results, university transcripts, degree certificate etc...? What will I need to have on me really for the interview?

All paper qualifications

Finally, what is the PGCE like? I didn't really enjoy my degree that much and my masters isn't much better either, so is this an enjoyable course? Just any information would be great and I would really appreciate it!:D

I know teachers with doctorates and the kids are dancing round them. These are paper qualifications. they have a very impornat purpose, but your interview is for a totally diiferent purpose.

Your interview is all about you, are you a teacher who probably taught you? (i.e. take down this example from the board and do the 14 questions on page 23.), if so, don't waste your time and life. Teaching is all about engaging pupils. The interviewers will be eager for you to describe a lesson involving activities, resources and strategies, which motivate children to learn and enjoy, and you to asses these pupils. This is not rocket science! If they ask you to describe a lesson. they are NOT interested in the topic being taught. They want to hear you mention ideas such as; practical/kinaesthetic activities, group work, assesment, effective questioning of pupils, maybe team teaching with fellow teachers. This is after you have initially planned the lesson of course.

one word of advice, be organised! Really hard work, but a great learning curve. You will develop all your personal and professional skills beyond what you thought existed, because you'll need them. Don't be afraid of this. Teaching is the best job in the world. The kids will love your accent and you'll feel at home very quickly.

Good luck and enjoy.

Had this interview last friday. Got ferry across and drove down and back on same day..was I tired? anyways, seems like a nice coastal town. A bit like Galway with the streets etc. Had interview with 2 people, a man and woman..forget their names but they were pleasant. I get word back in 3 weeks but you can never tell. They say that they are hooked up with Bangor Uni this year on a joint venturship and if I was lucky to get in I would be looking to be based up there...20min from Holyhead as opposed to 2 and half hours from aber.

Interesting to find out how El Siglo did?

Believe it or not, I never went afterwards! I've been offered a PhD in Queen's so might take up on that instead, I told the people in Aber a few days before the interview and they were really sound about it, wishing me luck etc...
    Had this interview last friday. Got ferry across and drove down and back on same day..was I tired? anyways, seems like a nice coastal town. A bit like Galway with the streets etc. Had interview with 2 people, a man and woman..forget their names but they were pleasant. I get word back in 3 weeks but you can never tell. They say that they are hooked up with Bangor Uni this year on a joint venturship and if I was lucky to get in I would be looking to be based up there...20min from Holyhead as opposed to 2 and half hours from aber.

That sounds great though, hope ya get it! Bangor would be really handy though and it's a bit bigger than Aber so adds a little 'variety' to the social aspect!;) Good luck with anyway, hope it works out for you!

Got an offer last week.......Off to Aber in Sept....... Thanks for the best wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Got an offer last week.......Off to Aber in Sept....... Thanks for the best wishes.

congrats. Are you going to choose bangor or aber??

Oh and do you get a grant from the u.k governement to do it?

Many thanks for that, may have to attend Aber for lectures but could opt for school in Bangor.
    Will be applying for the grant assistance, should get it and the course is paid for. Hoping to get in the NUI on the 1st april offers but its a nice safety net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 absolute_synt

Will be applying for the grant assistance, should get it and the course is paid for.

I went over to aber on friday as well and i've got the place to teach biology- only reason i found out so quick is cause i have an offer from UCD which i didnt wanna refuse if they didnt offer me a place!

Can irish people apply for the grant assistance? and if we can how do we do it!

will we get it even though we get 6k grant anyway? (well for biology anyway):confused:

Congrats on both offers... I'm a bit surprised that you are considering the Aber offer as you have UCD?!:confused:
    Anyways, as I have been offered the PGDE in NUIG I won't be packing my bags for Wales. To be honest I didn't really investigate the whole funding issue over there but I received forms to complete from Aber admissions and one of them was to do with grant assistance. The course as I gather is already paid for (as stated on the GTTR for Aber). Good luck with it if it's what you are going to opt for but would UCD be handier now you have the offer.....albeit you will have funding etc...? May look better on the cv if you have an Irish qual for teaching in Irish Schools next year aswell..

to be honest i'm choosing aber over UCD because of 2 reasons:
    1- I get much more teaching experience hours in doing the PG(C/D)E as i will teach full time for weeks rather than evenings with UCD

2- I have a much higher chance of getting a full time job in wales after it compared to getting a full time job in ireland with the UCD qualification. i worked in the HR department of County Dublin VEC offices for a summer and the amount of people applying for biology teaching is crazy! if i get a yrs full time experience i would have that over many of the people who will only have part time teaching hrs experience.

Well i hope!

As for the qualification being different i'm told that they both carry the same weight, maybe the welsh one carrying a little more because i will have a lot more contact hours with students. That said i cant teach in Ireland until i pass an exam on the history and structure of irish education- so its a little more effort to get the same point!

Congrats on the NUIG place by the way :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭faughs

Lads Aber is fantastic for the time based at uni. However it is very very tough. I for instance got sent on placement away from all the friends I made at uni and ended up having to get a place to stay on my own. However i would really recommend it as I had a ball at uni and on my 2nd placement had loads of aber company. I also met a few bangor trainees on my 1st placement so I was really happy after the initial shock. Amazing palce and I have made friends for life because of it. I have also walked straight into a job and have been in it for two years I think a lot pf principals repect the work load you go through and also they realise you have a whole pile more teaching time. I got a training grant of 4500.. howver the course cost 1800 and accomodation in uni is like 95 quid per week its steepish... so its tough to get by money wise for a less needy subjec, however science and maths sublects getr a 7000 grant.

faughs wrote: »
    Lads Aber is fantastic for the time based at uni. However it is very very tough. I for instance got sent on placement away from all the friends I made at uni and ended up having to get a place to stay on my own. However i would really recommend it as I had a ball at uni and on my 2nd placement had loads of aber company. I also met a few bangor trainees on my 1st placement so I was really happy after the initial shock. Amazing palce and I have made friends for life because of it. I have also walked straight into a job and have been in it for two years I think a lot pf principals repect the work load you go through and also they realise you have a whole pile more teaching time. I got a training grant of 4500.. howver the course cost 1800 and accomodation in uni is like 95 quid per week its steepish... so its tough to get by money wise for a less needy subjec, however science and maths sublects getr a 7000 grant.
    I was wondering when did you find out where your placement was? they have been a little vague on the details :P

also did u find it hard trying to organise accom? they say that they'll be sending me an info pack soon enough about it but i cant see it being much help if i'm only in uni for 5 weeks then somewhere teaching for 11.... it must be hard sorting out a place if you cant stay in the one place for long at all!

You also say the work load is pretty high- do u have to do stuff for the college like assignments or anything while doing the teaching practice or how does it work? Oh and do we get many exams?! :P

I didn't find it all that hard to get the accomodation in the end.. But was stressing for quite a bit. It depends mainly on what area you are sent to. You will only be told about where your placement is on your first day in college. the workload is heavy because there is a lot of paperwork you need to evaluate and reflect on lessons you have though ahd you need an elaborate lesson plan. There are alos quite a few assignments throughout the year that you submit online usually. You will have 4 weeks at college in september then you will be teaching for 10 weeks. Then there is 6 weeks at college in jan and feb then you go out teaching for 13 weeks... then finish up with a week at the end in aber.. You will be happy to know that there aint any exams.. you get assessed on your teaching about 12 or 13 times though...

Ah thats perfect thanks a million- good to hear that i dont have to sit exams again anyway! well at least until i come back to ireland and try teach then i have to take one :-(

Whats the craic with teaching? are you assigned some classes or is it just a random mix of classes that change every now and then?

Do any of the kids try to take slag you in welsh or anythin!

I so would not be worried about the hist of ed exam. I think they just pass you if your irish. I was really worried about it and I only really knew one essay out of 2 and still passed. A friend of mine answered an essay on the wrong topic and he still passed.. In my first school I got assigned to 2 year 7 groups, and 2 year 8 groups. You don't start teaching for a few weeks you sit and observe the class teacher. Then they let you take over the class when you feel you are ready. Kids do not have a chance to mess around in first placement because the classroom teacher remains at the back of the room for every lesson. But to be honest they love the irish accent and find it very entertaining be preapred for the 33 and a third craic..ha.. On my second placement I got to teach 2 year 7 groups, 2 year 8 groups a year 9, 2 year 10s and a few classes with an A level group. Again here they do not over load you and it is basically up to yourself how much you wana teach. I also took a year 7 group in my second subject. I was teaching well up to 15 hrs a week by the end. The uni recommend reaching 12 hours by the end of you second placement.