Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxford cops reprimanded for tobogganing on riot shields

• 14-01-2010 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Oxford police who used their riot shields for toboggans during the recent, unprecedented snowy weather have been reprimanded by their Superintendent, Andrew Murray, who "reminded them in no uncertain terms that tobogganing on duty, on police equipment and at taxpayers' expense is a very bad idea should they wish to progress under my command." Link.

Police are human. ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VhaozqnZpAc&feature=player_embedded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

When will folks ever learn ? How many people get in the shyte because someone was dumb enough to put it up on You Tube ?
    Great video and smart thinking to use a riot shield :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Davecrtmac

pc (pun intended) gone mad !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

bahahaha money well spent ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

According to the above report they were on their break :rolleyes:, and what harm would snow do to a riot shield...like honestly..., after all there designed to take concrete blocks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Davecrtmac

i know, to me it makes them a little more human, but again, its the knee jerk reaction of people to have a go at them - to be honest, i dont think that they can win, damned if do and damned if they dont - personally, having lived in the uk for a while i thought the majority were ok in what is a tough job - tougher i would say than those complaining about them could EVER do - ok, semi-rant over, bedtime...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

I think people who object to this are just plain daft and need to look beyond the 4 walls they sit in.

We are all human, we are all allowed to have fun. The people who were there and filming had a massive boost in their respect for the police when they saw that everyone has a sense of humour and fun.

I also think most people who see that clip will gain respect for the police from it - but its the vocal nay-sayers who dominate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

DrIndy wrote: »
    I think people who object to this are just plain daft and need to look beyond the 4 walls they sit in.

We are all human, we are all allowed to have fun. The people who were there and filming had a massive boost in their respect for the police when they saw that everyone has a sense of humour and fun.

I also think most people who see that clip will gain respect for the police from it - but its the vocal nay-sayers who dominate.

Amen. Just sometimes, you have to hate vocal minority with the chips on their shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Everytime there was a drop of snow in London we used to head up to a nice handy hill on our ground on night shift and toboggan down it on the long riot shields, Skipper included......

Mind you that was before YouTube was invented..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I remember the big freeze of '47 - the year the diesel froze. We had to light fires under the tractors to get to the greasy spoon for our choccamoccaskinnyfrappachinocaramel latte.

Meself, Reggie and Lugs used to go out and flake a few bowsies from the Triads on Middle Abbey Street and sit on them to slide down from the Hellfire club to the ferry, before putting them on it to the mainland.

The chief tried to discipline us as well, so we flaked him too.

Back then a youtube was what a vet used....or something one of the gilrs on the docks would do for three and sixpence. Ah, that was a lovely set of silverware they gave me when I creased the half-sheet..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

i have been saying for a long time now ,that the cops are getting younger

getz wrote: »

And your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

getz wrote: »

Have you ever heard the saying.....when the Gardaí start to look younger....you know your getting older.

I find that the younger members that have joined AGS in the last number of years have brought a breath of fresh air.....most have anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Have you ever heard the saying.....when the Gardaí start to look younger....you know your getting older.

I find that the younger members that have joined AGS in the last number of years have brought a breath of fresh air.....most have anyway

JANIE MAC I'M NEARLY FORTY :D

Well, I've been singing most my lifetime
    Of Rockall, Strong Men and Botany Bay;
    Singing songs of love and hope and freedom
    While time has slowly slipped away.

Have you noticed the policemen getting younger?
    And the busmen, they're getting younger too.
    While all my friends are getting older,
    I have stayed the same, you know, it's true.

CHORUS: And, Janie Mac, I'm nearly forty.
    I think my hair is turning grey.
    I'll be on the pension very shortly,
    And how I long for yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

According to that news report, the Super tempered his reprimand by saying that snow brought out the child in everyone. Looks like fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I have noticed both, the first is sad. We often have you guys up at my place of employment for various reason and I have noticed a big difference with the younger lads, for the better.

Now there is a sub station where I live, most times when I there its too older officiers, but they are lovely people and very very helpful. I was handing in a new FAC yesterday and it was two young chaps, I generally get the FO himself.

On topic to be fair, everybody does something in work, like the above. Gernerally whatever job a person is in there is some form of equipment that you can be creative with. Why should cops be expected not to have a laugh now and again. I just don't get the people who would object to someone having a few minutes of fun.

Anyway my inital thoughts where sh!t, I hope this isn't going a bad experience. I could not have been anymore incorrect, great lads, very helpful and we had a good chat and laugh whilst going through the paperwork.