Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl on the Net..

• 14-01-2010 4:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭

Well lads just looking for your advice on this.. Was messin around facebook last week on a dating site and i ended up adding this girl as a friend..Got talking to her anyhow and she seems very nice and we have similar interests and shes good looking in my opinion maybe not to other lads..She called me cutie at one stage and is fairly chatty to me so i think she mite like me.. I find myself begining to like her alot even though i have never met her , am i a complete nutter..If one of the lads told me this id laugh at him.. What should i do , shes 31 and im 25 and we live opposite ends of the country.. Should i tell her i like her or is it too soon and she'l she get scared and think im some weirdo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Well lads just looking for your advice on this.. Was messin around facebook last week on a dating site and i ended up adding this girl as a friend..Got talking to her anyhow and she seems very nice and we have similar interests and shes good looking in my opinion maybe not to other lads..She called me cutie at one stage and is fairly chatty to me so i think she mite like me.. I find myself begining to like her alot even though i have never met her , am i a complete nutter..If one of the lads told me this id laugh at him.. What should i do , shes 31 and im 25 and we live opposite ends of the country.. Should i tell her i like her or is it too soon and she'l she get scared and think im some weirdo..

Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Be wary about meeting up with people from the internet.

If you are meeting up always make sure you have an opt out plan should you not feel comfortable i.e a mate you can text/ring to meet up.

Meet in a public place and don't do anything you're not comfortable with.

If you're not liking the situation then just walk away.

I know that a "lads response" might be, "ah you don't need to be cautious, just give her the roide" but safety first and all that.

Also best of luck if you do decide to pursue her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

You don't have to be explicit. I mean, you don't have to say "I like you". You can imply it, like she did. But yeah, go for it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Mr Yellow

How soon 'not now' becomes 'never'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Former Great

That_Guy wrote: »
    Be wary about meeting up with people from the internet.

If you are meeting up always make sure you have an opt out plan should you not feel comfortable i.e a mate you can text/ring to meet up.

Meet in a public place and don't do anything you're not comfortable with.

If you're not liking the situation then just walk away.

I know that a "lads response" might be, "ah you don't need to be cautious, just give her the roide" but safety first and all that.

Also best of luck if you do decide to pursue her.

Ah theres no need to be cautious of this girl anyway but thanks

Mr Yellow wrote: »
    How soon 'not now' becomes 'never'

Yeah feck it your right if i dont do it now i prob never will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

tell her -why not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Often people can be different in reality to how they are on the net its worth bearing in mind just slightly....

what i will say is as much as that gooey feeling that you like her hold it of for a while meet up get to know her see how it goe's to much to soon can really ruin chances so I've found int he past, thats the only thing il say other then that go for it dude :D and good luck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,641 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Ah theres no need to be cautious of this girl anyway
    If this were dialog in a film you just know that the camera would pan over your shoulder and focus on the silloette of the trees at night and the chilling psycho music would start. :)

You're chatting to her, continue to do so. Flirt all ya like. Tell her what ya think. Don't rush anything. Get a webcam. Have fun.

I think meeting people from the internet has long since outgrown it's pervyness.
    Most people make internet friends - I mean just look around you here on Boards at the amount of internetzers who meet up for a drink

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

OldGoat wrote: »
    Get a webcam. Have fun.

Oldgoat........you minx

OP, take it handy, take your time and see what happens. Don't come across all creepy and stuff. Make sure your careful though, while much more normal these days, it pays to be sure when meeting folks from the net. I know several people who have met some gfs/bfs and now partners from the internet. Best of luck with it dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,641 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Oldgoat........you minx
    I don't know WHAT you are implying there MM. :rolleyes:

Teh webcam is so that the OP can prove to himself that there ARE wimmins on teh internetz. Twould be a shame to invest lots of time wooing a wimmins only to find that her name is really Karl and he likes fieldstripping motorbike engines. :p

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭globemaster1986

That_Guy wrote: »

I know that a "lads response" might be, "ah you don't need to be cautious, just give her the roide"

Quality! And if this was brought up with a few lads in the pub, guaranteed someone would say it ha ha ha!:D

In all seriousness tho, go for it OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Why not give it a go? She could be a nutter but she could be the woman of your dreams - you'll never know until you give it a shot.

Maybe though best thing at this stage is to exchange numbers and do a bit of talking on the phone first and see how that goes before arranging a meet up.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Why not give it a go? She could be a nutter but she could be the woman of your dreams - you'll never know until you give it a shot.

Maybe though best thing at this stage is to exchange numbers and do a bit of talking on the phone first and see how that goes before arranging a meet up.

Thanks for your help lads , i was thinking much the same as alot of ye but the second opinion is great to get..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

sure if your worried she might be a nut-case just make arrangements to meet her in a public place like a restaurant.
    And if it turns out she's a looper, wait till you've finished the meal, excuse yourself (as in..'oh im just going to the toilet') & just walk away out the door.:D