Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stranger returns wallet

• 13-01-2010 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭

lost my wallet on sunday and this morning i get a phonecall from a Lloyd saying he has it and would drive to near my area and give it back... gave him 50 voucher for cinema cos he told me he had kids.. surely theres an online movement in making people more honest like this... Lloyd should be up there.. there was over 350 in the wallet and it was intact when returned.. he found it in the snow..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You carried €350 around in your wallet? You must be bonke...uhhh...never mind. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

bonkers wrote: »
    lost my wallet on sunday and this morning i get a phonecall from a Lloyd saying he has it and would drive to near my area and give it back... gave him 50 voucher for cinema cos he told me he had kids.. surely theres an online movement in making people more honest like this... Lloyd should be up there.. there was over 350 in the wallet and it was intact when returned.. he found it in the snow..

Thats good to hear. I like to hear things like this because sometimes it seems like people don't give a crap about helping their fellow man anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Lloyd should be up there.. there was over 350 in the wallet and it was intact when returned.. he found it in the snow..

Was Harry with him............ and how is Aspen this time of year?

gromit had it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

trent > Lloyd

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Lloyd was voted out ages ago. Olly ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Whats your surname???

Swim? Swammi? Slippy? Slappy? Swenson? Swanson?

Samsonite!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

heard a story today that a new york cab driver found i think 14k in backseat and drove 50 miles to return it to the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

My purse fell out of my bag in a taxi a few weeks ago, I had €80 and no id at all in it.The taxi man had my husband's number so he rang him and met up with him to give it back.

The girl who handed it in was an Elaine Martin from Dundalk (I originally gave her estate name, duh! Thought I was on the Regional forum)..I don't know her but she must be a very decent girl. If anyone knows her, tell her thanks very much..I was on my way out for my work Xmas party night. I would've been very upset when it came time to pay my share to find it missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

benwavner wrote: »
    Whats your surname???

Swim? Swammi? Slippy? Slappy? Swenson? Swanson?

Samsonite!!

Goodbye my loooooooooooove............. BANG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

jap gt wrote: »
    heard a story today that a new york cab driver found i think 14k in backseat and drove 50 miles to return it to the owner
    with being out of work for the last year id find it very hard to return it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Ya i heard that too-it was against his religion to keep it! Nice to hear stories like this. Glad you got everything back OP

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

He's obviously thinking "€350? This guy's loaded! I'll find out where he lives and clean the place out!" Might want to invest in bars for your windows and attack dogs

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

smart guy.

Anyone that gets into the back of a cab with 14k either the Mob, Kanye west or russian jewel thief.

So unless he was black, looked like a dick head and ended the taxi ride by saying, "im a let you finish bringing me home, but this other taxi i got the other day....
    "
    You best give back the money or they will hack your legs off when they find you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Nice story to hear, hopefully karma will reward you both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Had summat similar happen me last year.

It's so good that there are genuinely good people out there!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055702479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭bonkers

he said that he returned it as he saw i was a tourist.. in Canada on one year visa...

had 140 canadian adn 60 us dollars.. plus a 180 voucher for some clothes shop here in toronto..

we make these guys heroes and people will become more honest maybeeeeeeeee

also ive left my phone in a pixzza place once and on a streetcar/luas twice and gotten it back since i cam here in september.. forgetful fool me.. but honest canuks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I'd give stuff like that back. Its only right. What kind of person wouldkeep it,when theycan return it? Heck the guilts alone would make me return it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I was in Toronto a few years back, it was about 11 at night and i find the nearest Atm, there was 2 people in front of me, a couple both in there 20's, anyhow there use the Atm and leave and im next. So there i am and when i go to the screen it asks me how much i would like to withdraw:eek: but i hadnt inserted my card yet, i withdaw $20 just to see if it works, it does. Im now thinking the couple must of left the card in the Atm, i take it out and look up and down the street to see if i could see them, i can see them in the distance so make a big sprint down towards them and tell them the story and give him back the $20:D. They could not believe how i was so honest, all i said was well im Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 veron01

I was in Toronto a few years back, it was about 11 at night and i find the nearest Atm, there was 2 people in front of me, a couple both in there 20's, anyhow there use the Atm and leave and im next. So there i am and when i go to the screen it asks me how much i would like to withdraw:eek: but i hadnt inserted my card yet, i withdaw $20 just to see if it works, it does. Im now thinking the couple must of left the card in the Atm, i take it out and look up and down the street to see if i could see them, i can see them in the distance so make a big sprint down towards them and tell them the story and give him back the $20:D. They could not believe how i was so honest, all i said was well im Irish.

:D Nice one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I was hoping they might let me keep the $20 but alas:(. Oh well i was telling that story for weeks after nay months, was really very impressed with myself:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I would just like to thank the lovely cinema worker who found my wallet today, rang me and kept it for me to pick up.

You are a sweetheart. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

A relative of mine while coming home from work a few months back left his wallet on the bus .It was found by a young girl who gave it to her dad ,a taxi driver to return .This he did but the thing was my relative hadn't even noticed it was missing from his jacket until the guy knocked at his door :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

DB10 wrote: »
    Lloyd was voted out ages ago. Olly ftw!

GTFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

naughto wrote: »
    with being out of work for the last year id find it very hard to return it

im out of work too, as bad as things would get i would never keep it, you would have no luck for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Myself and my wife went to new york last year i lost my wallet in a yellow cab around ground zero i managed to trace the cab within an hour or so and got talking to the driver he was off duty at this stage and away from his cab but he said to ring him in an hour or so.

I rang him a little later and he said to wait at ground zero and he'd call there (he came in on a train from new jersey just to drop me back my wallet) i had 1500 dollars in cash still in it. The gas part about it was i remembered his name when i got in to the cab i looked at the name plate his name was Bagdahd. Sorry for changing subject but there's plenty of honest people out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I left my purse in a taxi during the summer (drunk) Was so annoyed, gave out yards about his dishonesty. Had to replace laser, student card (had a repeat to do & needed it for the exam) and so on. 3 days later, call from the gardaí, he had handed it in :o
    People are generally good...this makes me happy.
    On a related note I found a memory key on the street with some people's (they are foreign looking) holiday snaps on it a while ago (there was like 4/5 pics). Have no idea how to go about finding an owner! Any ideas??

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Over Christmas I was at the pub, got to the bar and saw what looked like my wallet sitting one of the spirit shelves. Checked my pockets and turns out without realising it I had clearly dropped it somewhere. Took a few mins before I was able to get served and for it back and the whole time I was thinking I'd just be glad if all my cards etc where in there at least. Lucky enough my money (bout £55 and some euros) was all there too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I stood in line at the ATM at the Science Building in NUIM and went it was my turn I found €40 sitting there, waiting to be taken out of the cash hole. It took me a second or two to think WTF!? before realising the girl who had been at the ATM before me was chatting to her friend and simply walked off without the money. So I called out but she didn't hear, so I had to leave the queue and catch up with her to give her the money back. Ended up waiting 10 minutes to get back to the ATM but it was totally worth the "do gooder" feeling :D

Similarly, I lost my wallet when I got out of a car when I was carpooling to Dublin for work. Somebody dropped it into the Garda station who got my details from the Agecard and gave me a ring. I offered €50 reward to the person who brought it in but they said whoever it was left it in the postbox when they weren't there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I walked into the centra on O'connel street on 23rd of December. On the ground going into it was a 5 euro note. I picked it up and thought cool 5 euro! A few mins later a guy came upto me and said "that was my five quid on the ground". I gave it back to him and said "ok". Though my mind went. I dont really believe you and thousands definitely wouldnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

"Why did you leave your card in the machine with the pin entered?'

"Well we are Canadian"

Only joking, fair play jonjo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭ColaBeDamned

Miser by name, but not by nature! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

I left my wallet on a train in Wales and thankfully a very kind Jehovah's Witness from Liverpool found it and kindly posted it along with religious leaflets to me.

On another incident I left my wallet (very forgetful altogether) on a plane and realised it just as I left the plane and wasn't allowed back on, an airport official took my details in Dublin airport and said he'd get back to me, which he did and organised to return it to me. He demanded a handling fee of €40 in cash, he wouldn't take a cheque and unfortunately the €50 quid or so in the wallet was also gone from the wallet.

Just shows you, there's still some decent people and some cntus left in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

At oxegen 2 years ago, the lads in our tent area found some girls purse with 120 euro and her drivin license, they were the anto and jacyntha type, they sent it to the address on monday when they got back, money and all i was shocked :eek:`

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

They could not believe how i was so honest, all i said was well im Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

The night of my birthday I was at a concert and I found a phone. I picked it up and rang the last dialed number. Got through to the owner's brother who wasn't at the concert and he said he'd make the necessary phone calls etc. After about 15mins of no word I rang him back, told him where I was and he assured me the owner was coming. After 20mins my mates are telling me to just give it in somewhere. We waited and were quite annoyed when the owner barely acknowledged what we'd done and was way more interested in finding out if her boyfriend text her...

But later that week I was in the toilets of a nightclub in town and there was two lads checking themselves out in the mirror for a good while so me and my mate gave them a bit of a slagging and it was all in good fun. About a half an hour later I realise my phone is missing and I use my mate's phone to ring it. A lad answers and says he's in the toilets so I run in and its the same two lads! There was a bit of credit wasted but I didn't really care. Thank God those lads were so vain or I might never have gotten it back.

However, I do put it down to Karma that because I wasted more than a half an hour at a concert on my 18th, I got my phone back when I lost it in the same week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Walking down the Lewes road in Brighton one day when I noticed something fall out of a bloke's pocket in front of me. I took a closer look and it was £20. So I picked it up and gave him a shout. He turned around and I kind of jogged towards him to hand it over. He turns around and starts running! I was bemused, but I had nothing better to do, so I ran after him. I caught up with him just as he had his key in what I presume was his front door and handed it over. We were both out of breath, so all I could manage was "You...dropped...this" and got a "Thanks" in return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Walking down the Lewes road in Brighton one day when I noticed something fall out of a bloke's pocket in front of me. I took a closer look and it was £20. So I picked it up and gave him a shout. He turned around and I kind of jogged towards him to hand it over. He turns around and starts running! I was bemused, but I had nothing better to do, so I ran after him. I caught up with him just as he had his key in what I presume was his front door and handed it over. We were both out of breath, so all I could manage was "You...dropped...this" and got a "Thanks" in return.

Haha, he got you to carry his money home for him. Genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Last orders in a pub in town one night, left my wallet on the bar and went back to my seat, was distracted by the creamy deliciousness of the pints i suppose, copped it about 5 minutes later and went up to bloke who served me, he had the wallet behind the bar, said some bloke handed it in and walked out the door, cards were left but money gone, not much about 100 maybe plus a lotto ticket i'd just checked that day and had 36 quid on it, was saving it till i felt lucky to re-invest! The bar man seemed on the level though to be honest, i'd say it was a punter. F#cker!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

found a purse with 100+ in it in UCD, handed it in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

bonerm wrote: »
    Haha, he got you to carry his money home for him. Genius!
    Lazy b**tard! :mad: