Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raheny Winter League - Rnd 3 (Weds 13th)

• 12-01-2010 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭

More of a reminder to the lads registered and the few locals around. Robin / Shels / Macanri - are you all running? Tough wind out there tonight, I hope it'll calm down by tomorrow.

For anyone who hasn't been down before, it's €5 at the Raheny Shamrocks clubhouse ca. 1930, start @ 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Do you know what is distance tomorrow night ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Ceepo wrote: »
    Do you know what is distance tomorrow night ?

Apologies, it's a 3 miler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

cheers dont know if i`ll make it, but could do with a blow out !

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I was just wondering when the next one of these might be.

I intend to be there, a chance to start the "Best of 2010" thread ifnothing else. ;)

robinph wrote: »
    I was just wondering when the next one of these might be.

I intend to be there, a chance to start the "Best of 2010" thread ifnothing else. ;)

Cool see you up there. I was unsure myself, the info is only on the site since this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

really wanted to start doing these but cant make it now tonight. will have to make sure i make the next one

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I came in 11th in both of the last two races, have to stop letting people overtake me along the finish tonight and see if I can make 10th. :eek:

Fine by me, once I'm in 9th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭foleyalan

Howaya all,

I have done a couple of the 2 milers before in raheny, just wondering if this one tonight is three laps or a totally different course?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭VanBosch

What is the standard like in these races? Is it just for club runners.I've heard that it's a very friendly club but wouldnt want to keep them out all night until I finish!I would hope to finish at around 23 mins. How many people run these?Thanks

foleyalan wrote: »
    Howaya all,

I have done a couple of the 2 milers before in raheny, just wondering if this one tonight is three laps or a totally different course?

It's three laps of the same course.
    VanBosch wrote: »
    What is the standard like in these races? Is it just for club runners.I've heard that it's a very friendly club but wouldnt want to keep them out all night until I finish!I would hope to finish at around 23 mins. How many people run these?Thanks

It's a pretty wide range of standards, you'll be fine. They have the results of the previous races up on their site if you want to have a look at those. I think they get about 50'ish the last couple of races so plenty of room for everyone and no chance of getting boxed in at the start, great chance to get a PB, although the wet road might not be ideal.

VanBosch wrote: »

+1, you'd be absolutely fine at that pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

I might be able to make it to this race.

Being fairly lazy though I was wondering if somebody had the address of where to meet (so that I can lob it into the satnav) or the satnav coordinates?!

I don't know Raheny well (at all).

540 Howth Road, Raheny.

The clubhouse is just before this junction on the right, opposite the Church (and beside the scout den).

Perfect, thanks christeb.

christeb wrote: »
    540 Howth Road, Raheny.

The clubhouse is just before this junction on the right, opposite the Church (and beside the scout den).

It's a bit hidden away when your first looking for it on a dark and rainy night, I walked past a couple of times not able to spot the other building in between around the back of the scout den the first time. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

christeb wrote: »
    More of a reminder to the lads registered and the few locals around. Robin / Shels / Macanri - are you all running? Tough wind out there tonight, I hope it'll calm down by tomorrow.
    Had hoped and planned to run this third race, but I have a prob with my achilles and I have been told by the physio to lay off the running for a few weeks. She says I may be able to run The Raheny 5 though.

Slightly smaller field than the previous races by the looks of it, but they have already got the results online for us:

http://www.rahenyshamrock.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1210&Itemid=51

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭VanBosch

Slightly smaller field than the previous races by the looks of it, but they have already got the results online for us:

http://www.rahenyshamrock.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1210&Itemid=51

I see you made top 10 this time - well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Great to see 3 BAC members in the top 15 :)

That 3 miler was good craic. Hopefully I'll be able to make the 2 miler. Would like to target 12 minutes for that.

Didn't get to see you there Shels but met your brother. I'll probably to the Raheny 5 as long as it doesn't clash with a re-scheduled IMRA Howth race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Didn't get to see you there Shels but met your brother. I'll probably to the Raheny 5 as long as it doesn't clash with a re-scheduled IMRA Howth race.

Yep he ran well there, Wont be racing for a few week myslef untill i'm back in shape.