Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hmmmm

• 10-01-2010 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭

So tonight a lad comes to the door and asks me for money cause he's living in a tent "up the road".
    Now the area i live in doesn't really have any areas for tents "up the road" - plus the jacket he was wearing was an expensive one and he looked a bit too clean shaven and well groomed for someone who's living in a tent "up the road"
    Has anyone else had anyone at the door with any ludicrous stories??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Some guy called to the door with some leaflets trying to tell me about all the great things the government did and wanting me to vote for him. Insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I've had some shady individuals trying to sell me carpets and gates over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Yeah, some lunatic came to my door tellin me I had to spend €150 odd quid on a license for my TV.

I mean seriously..... like I'm going to be driving it anywhere.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Ruu wrote: »
    I've had some shady individuals trying to sell me carpets and gates over the years.

We had a shady individual try sell us our own gates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Some lad once came to my door and offered me a bible study, for free!!!

Obviously I took up the offer.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Those guys who want me to change over to a different religion

so pushy they must be on commission

But its ok 'cos you get a 30 day cooling off period

just waiting for the winback reps to call around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

some woman called to my house trying to sell me duvets and high fashion jewellery, i declined, she fcuked me out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Ruu wrote: »

They are still more honest than the guy looking for a vote.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

I get these freaks all the time 'round my neck of the woods.

Usually reply with:

Gullible don't live here no mo'*

*followed by door slammage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭lisaface

mfceiling wrote: »
    So tonight a lad comes to the door and asks me for money cause he's living in a tent "up the road".
    Now the area i live in doesn't really have any areas for tents "up the road" - plus the jacket he was wearing was an expensive one and he looked a bit too clean shaven and well groomed for someone who's living in a tent "up the road"

Apart from the dirty romanians that come to my door - I haven't experienced any others to my front door. I told that romanian girl if she came here again, i'd contact the gardaí (she has decided to visit us 3 times at this stage) that what she was doing was illegal.

She came back when I wasn't here once....

I was waiting on a bus monday last in busaras , out having a fag and this guy came up to me (now original i thought he was going to ask for fag and i was straight away thinking okay fair enough ill give him a fag... but that's not what he wanted) - he had the penny's style hobo gloves on, was clean shaven, had lovely clothes from what i could gather, but had a plastic bag the scruffy type.

Anyhoo he stood in front of me and said 'spare some change for the homeless'. I said NO then he started shouting 'Don't you dare look me up and down like that i'm asking you for money' , I started laughing and was like 'mmm you must be a newbie to the beggin scene because a) your clothing is beyond what they can afford you might want to touch up on that ask the real ones for advice and b) they don't shout at people when looking for money.. again you need practice dude and c) I already said noooo now **** off :D' i had a lovely big cheesy grin by the end of it. his response was; 'i was only asking' in a lower much lower and polite tone from when he had started his rant.

He then went onto the guy beside me, to whom he was loudly told NO.

These liars amuse me each and every time, until they piss me off, then it's WAR!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Crime: Sent explicit text messages and trysted with the victim in her white Jaguar, which bore the license plate “GRRRRR.”

Wish I had a teacher like that when I was younger!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Paintings by sexy looking Hungarian looking for money to finish her art course. A Hungarian man called into my work with paintings for the same thing. We buy these mass produced stuff at work for half what they want for them.

(PC freaks: I'm not having a go because they're Hungarian)

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Silverfish wrote: »

Oh that happened to some friends of mine ;
    they were sharing a house, one moved out got a house next door (wont get into that) they were moving stuff back and forths. House was done anyways they robbed everything from carpets to ps3 - then came back the next day (nobody knew the ps3 was took it was put in the wardrobe upstairs in a room) trying to sell their stolen ps3 back, but my mate was like 'no i have one already'. She said now i know why they were giving me dirty funny looks.

That's just awful like*shakes head*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Yea I had a well to do looking fella in an expensive looking coat come to my door and tell me is is homeless...........I gave him a tent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

lisaface wrote: »
    Apart from the dirty romanians that come to my door - I haven't experienced any others to my front door. I told that romanian girl if she came here again, i'd contact the gardaí (she has decided to visit us 3 times at this stage) that what she was doing was illegal.

More than likely Roma not Romanian - not fair to tar them with the one brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I had some dude call to my door and ask who my legal representative was...

My response.....

Don Doowie. Of Doowie, Cheatem and Howe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Colpriz

beware of fat friendly but pushy git that says your gutters need changing..blue van and a couple of non nationals working for him too..like to prey on old people.. warn your pt's..few days later someone will call claiming to be from inland revenue demanding monies overdue..Scam

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    More than likely Roma not Romanian - not fair to tar them with the one brush.

She was defiantly romanian - they're known for this area and i've seen the gaurds already warn her and 'her people' away from these areas. She was stopped on the luas before pulled off and basically given a bollocking too. I've seen her sooo many times around here, i'm starting to wonder is there an actual baby in the pram.

The pram is very fancy indeed i doubt the typical scum of this city could even afford it!!!

I should mention i'm not a very nice person when it comes to foreign internationals who cannot speak the english language, i get very annoyed very easily! lol oops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Has anyone got the african lady who gives you a "freebie of moisturiser"

Bascially she knocks on your door hands you a bottle of hand and nail cream telling you its a free gift then grabs your hand takes out a nail file and buffs our nail with a "special Buffer" all the time your still holding the "freebie"
    Then goes on a spiel about healthy nails and how this amazing file cant help eliminate toxins etc

The Nail fail was a bargain at 59.99 and if you but that and the special nail sealer you get the freebie that you are holding in your hand

When I told her to gtfo of my property and stop wasting my time before I call the Gaurds she gave me a look of disgust and muttered something (I could have sworn it was some voodoo curse she muttered)

Anyways if anyone comes to your door with a "freebie" dont entertain it

BluesBerry wrote: »
    Has anyone got the african lady who gives you a "freebie of moisturiser"

Bascially she knocks on your door hands you a bottle of hand and nail cream telling you its a free gift then grabs your hand takes out a nail file and buffs our nail with a "special Buffer" all the time your still holding the "freebie"
    Then goes on a spiel about healthy nails and how this amazing file cant help eliminate toxins etc

The Nail fail was a bargain at 59.99 and if you but that and the special nail sealer you get the freebie that you are holding in your hand

When I told her to gtfo of my property and stop wasting my time before I call the Gaurds she gave me a look of disgust and muttered something (I could have sworn it was some voodoo curse she muttered)

Anyways if anyone comes to your door with a "freebie" dont entertain it

Two guys do the exact same thing on the 2nd level of House Of Fraiser in Dundrum - maybe she works there part-time and decided to break out into her own lil company.

I do not like people grabbing my hands and start filing my nails, oh no that's not on. you allowed her to continue buffering and filing your nails?? are u mad where has that file and buffer been prior to you?? hahaha sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Apart from the dirty romanians that come to my door
    I should mention i'm not a very nice person when it comes to foreign internationals who cannot speak the english language, i get very annoyed very easily! lol oops?

I should mention that I'm not a nice person when it comes to racism. Banned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I should mention that I'm not a nice person when it comes to racism. ever!Banned.

FYP :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I had a foreign man of unknown origin come to the door with a Dunnes bag claiming to have recently "invented" a new make up range.He said he had specially selected me and that he wanted to come in to "test" the makeup on me.

I politely declined and decided not to over think it. I think I should
    probably be afraid or offended though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

A couple of years ago I was holding auditions for a new "Soul" band that I was managing, but every second person that called to the house came looking for drugs!

I could have made a fortune if I was a dealer!:rolleyes: .....and the band broke up soon afterwards too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

So this morning a lad in a blue uniform comes to the door and hands me a package. He says "it was too big to get thru the letterbox."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Had a guy trying to sell me anchovies from the back of a van once. Didn't buy them though, there was something fishy about the whole set up.

I'm actually ashamed I posted that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Was he very camp as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm actually ashamed I posted that.

You should be. It was shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

bonerm wrote: »
    So this morning a lad in a blue uniform comes to the door and hands me a package. He says "it was too big to get thru the letterbox."

The cheek!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

A few years ago a traveller woman came to the door and pleeded for some money to help the baba. "Where is the baba?" I said. She replied "on the cart outside the gate". I looked up the road when she left and saw her getting into a Toyota Land cruiser.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I called on someones house there recentely. Told him "Im the tenth house up the road". I asked for some money because one of the elderly neighbours house was broken into and didnt have enough money to get the windows fixed.

The guy slammed the door on my face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

.....and the band broke up soon afterwards too!
    Sounds like ye just didn't have the Commitment.

Fizman wrote: »
    You should be. It was shocking.

I know. I know.

I don't know what's wrong with me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

I had some scumbag kock on my door one day asking if he could use the house phone to,

"Call my mate cause its very important!"

If he thought I was letting him anywhere near the threshold of my door he must have been having a laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭LittleLebowski

A guy came up to me and a few friends in temple bar. He was asking us for money for a hostel but he was dressed better than one of my mates.
    Stylish bum got €4
    Mate got stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

I had a skagged out junky twat come up to me in temple bar and try to mug me using a bic biro on a saturday afternoon. Right little wimpy wirey prick. He could barely speak. Just gave him a shove and told him to fuck off before I kicked the piss out of him. Was amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

The Saint wrote: »
    before I kicked the piss out of him.

hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Paintings by sexy looking Hungarian looking for money to finish her art course. A Hungarian man called into my work with paintings for the same thing. We buy these mass produced stuff at work for half what they want for them.

(PC freaks: I'm not having a go because they're Hungarian)

thats a scam the stuff is painted in china and is sold by the kilo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

The Saint wrote: »
    before I kicked the piss out of him. Was amusing.

That showed that ragamuffin! I routinely throw monocles at poor people

I always buy my monocles at knock-down prices from poor people. Maybe we should cut out the middle man and you could just come around my house and throw them to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I routinely throw monocles at poor people

Balderdash! All gentlemen know the best way to incapasitate a street urchen is to doff ones top-hat at him upon confrontation. The ruffian (sensing the clear class divide) will remove his cap and bow his head deferentially, giving one ample time to make a sharp getaway.

(monocles don't grow on trees you know, what-what)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭xcarriex

Not knocking at the door,

But whats with the little feckers who try wash your windows?? While sitting at traffic lights?

Though scam of the century i witnessed in the square, person struggles to car with trolley, kid runs up and say 'Here missus will i put your trolley back' said missus allowed him, Missus the proceeds to drive out and realise the little **** has taken the €2 missus used to get the trolley!

xcarriex wrote: »
    Though scam of the century i witnessed in the square, person struggles to car with trolley, kid runs up and say 'Here missus will i put your trolley back' said missus allowed him, Missus the proceeds to drive out and realise the little **** has taken the €2 missus used to get the trolley!

Sounds like budding criminal masterminds at work there alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭USER X

I had a certain type of gypsy come up to my door one day and when I opened the door she started asking for money. Then she takes a statue of mary out waving it around and pointing at it saying "She will hate you if you dont give me money"...... It was almost like a live episode of Father Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Silverfish wrote: »

same thing happened to me!!

i didnt want to say anything incase they took o-fence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

USER X wrote: »
    I had a certain type of gypsy come up to my door one day and when I opened the door she started asking for money. Then she takes a statue of mary out waving it around and pointing at it saying "She will hate you if you dont give me money"...... It was almost like a live episode of Father Ted

Its a pity you didn't grab it off her.

"If you dont f**k off it will crack your skull" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Colpriz

neil_hosey wrote: »
    same thing happened to me!!

i didnt want to say anything incase they took o-fence...

ba dum pish! Classic :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

A strange muscular man in a hat knocked on my door today. He started demanding information, but I was busy examining an ancient Etruscan vase.
    Then SNAPKICK! I was out cold. I woke up to find him having sex with my secretary :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

A couple of months back my house was plagued by small people in strange clothes. They wanted sweets...or they were going to play some sort of trick on me.