Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards using civilian vehicles?

• 10-01-2010 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭

When I was walking to the shop tonight, I saw a group of kids around 15-16 yrs old throwing snowballs at cars. One of the kids hit a 05 - w toyota landcruiser. It slammed on the brakes and on went flashing blue lights on the dashboard(just the dashboard, nowhere else on the vehicle). Then a man in the landcruiser shouted something at the kids and then drove off. At first I thought it was just someone trying to scare the kids.

Then as I was walking back home, the landcruiser slowed down close to me because there was a dodgy looking group of people up the road be hind me. I had a chane to get a closer look at the vehicle. There were two guards with there high-vis jackets on and on the back window I saw a blue sticker that just said "Garda".

So what I'm wondering is, do guards use this technique of using a civilian vehicle often? or is it just because of the adverse weather conditions at the moment and that regular patrol cars might not be able to cope with some road conditions?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Prob just the weather and road conditions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Yeah they use them in Limerick a lot - seem them on many occasions.

Perfect for surveillance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭GTE

The more the merrier in my opinion. I see crowds of idiots smarten up once they see the white garda car turn around the corner. At least with the totally unmarked car it can give them a fright.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

On the 9 o'clock news tonight they were saying that somewhere in the south (cork city I think), all the patrol cars were taken off the street after one crashed. They are using a combination of garda 4x4s and army 4x4s instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,615 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Newsflash: Police using unmarked vehicles now. Film at 11.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

I've seen a fair few of those Garda Landcruisers around actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

They're not civilina vehicles, they're unmarked. There is a vast difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

ninty9er wrote: »
    They're not civilina vehicles, they're unmarked. There is a vast difference.

I just said civilian vehicles because I believed that it could have been owned by one of the guards and that they offered its use due to the current conditions:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Guards use unmarked and recovered vehicles to patrol all the time.
    They see feck all driving around in a squad car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 tedwbarrett

xFROSTY Gx wrote: »
    When I was walking to the shop tonight, I saw a group of kids around 15-16 yrs old throwing snowballs at cars. One of the kids hit a 05 - w toyota landcruiser. It slammed on the brakes and on went flashing blue lights on the dashboard(just the dashboard, nowhere else on the vehicle). Then a man in the landcruiser shouted something at the kids and then drove off. At first I thought it was just someone trying to scare the kids.

Then as I was walking back home, the landcruiser slowed down close to me because there was a dodgy looking group of people up the road be hind me. I had a chane to get a closer look at the vehicle. There were two guards with there high-vis jackets on and on the back window I saw a blue sticker that just said "Garda".

So what I'm wondering is, do guards use this technique of using a civilian vehicle often? or is it just because of the adverse weather conditions at the moment and that regular patrol cars might not be able to cope with some road conditions?:confused:

armed eru ull find them everywer with the trouble thats going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

xFROSTY Gx wrote: »
    I just said civilian vehicles because I believed that it could have been owned by one of the guards and that they offered its use due to the current conditions:)
    I've seen Gardaí arrive at the scene of an incident in their own car, probably because they're coming from/ going home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

On two occasions i've seen a car with wide alloys "boy racer style" zipping up the bus lane on Morehampton Rd ...and both times it turned into the laneway that goes to the Garda station...late for work ..or just blending in..???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

There are many unmarked vehicles on patrol at any time. In Co louth they use a red transit mini bus for border patrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

heh funny story about unmarked cars. I was going from Carlow to Dublin one day to Parkwest. At newlands cross I was in lane 1 on the LFS of the Naas road and I spotted a red mondeo going into the bus/access only lane on just past newlands X. So when the lights went green I followed him as testicle in the car beside me knew a short cut through some estates to Parkwest from there.

So off we went, just past Joels, the mondeo pulled in and let me past. When I got to the lights he came flying down behind me and up onto the kerb, window down shouting in.

He says and I quote "Are you a bus?". heh, I said to myself "who the feic is this fella? Am I a bus? teh frack?" I goes to him then "erm, ehm, er no!", what are you doing in a buss lane so?" he says. and I finally play the culchie card. "To be honest I'm a little lost, trying to get to park west, am up for the day from Carlow". "On you go then, don't do it again" he said.

Am I a bus? I pondered about this for some time. NO. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

i've seen them pull a guy who was rallying a toyota supra up the old m1, they were in a dark turbo Subaru Forester, that was near Lusk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The DS and Emmigration use all sorts of vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

flamegrill wrote: »
    He says and I quote "Are you a bus?". . :)

..NO, but i can give you a lift if you're stuck......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Brady

Ive seen the traffic cops using an unmarked silver Volvo S60 with LED flashing strips behind the front grill... its becoming more common... Pretty much most of the cop cars up north are unmarked, but big giveaway is the bullet proof windows..

Down here the giveaway for the unmarked focus's and mondeos (theres loads) is the 3 stubs on the roof for the aerials and most times you will see an LED flash strip on either side of the outside of the bumper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Do the gardai ever use unmarked bicycles? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭GTE

Do the gardai ever use unmarked bicycles? :confused:

Hahaha, I dont think that would work well. Something else would give it away haha