Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are "wedding table favours"?

• 10-01-2010 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭

As referenced here, what are "wedding table favours"?

Curiosity sometimes gets the better of me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭hornyfemale

Some people like to give their guests gifts as a momento of the day eg. chocolates, candles, pens, key rings. The normally include the name of the couple and the date. Donations to charity becoming very popular in recent years.
    Something I can't see lasting to be honest. An additional cost most couples can't afford and from what I see at most weddings guests don't always appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Ah, thanks, appreciate both the info and the added views.

That all seems a bit odd and meh to be honest. Still, I am not one to judge (much).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭clint_silver

Something like Rolo packets done up with the B&Gs names on them. Small, relatively cheap items per guest. Unless theyre memorable, I wouldnt bother. little bags of sweets or little stones with peoples names on them dont really do much. I can only comment as someone who sees these things being thrown in the bin late at night. I would guesstimate more people then not get something though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭bogtotty

It's an Americanised take on an Italian tradition. I pray to God it won't become the norm here. Favours I have received - miniature whiskey (nice - downed in one as hair of the dog); solid silver keyring in the shape of a love heart (no idea where it went to - complete waste of money); handcream (totally random); sweeties (meh); packet of endangered wildflower seeds (cute); ISPCA donation (right-on).
    Don't really see the point. As a guest I'm delighted to be invited, I don't need a gift on top of everything else. Needless to say, we didn't give favours at our own wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Wedding favours could be a chocolate to a bottle of bubbles to blow as the couple enter, traditionally you used to get a pack of matches but since smoking was banned in hotels there is a much wider range. I made cards for the favours, Pictures of my family in the front and a poem inside, it cut the cost of posting thank you cards afterwards as these were thanyou cards. Inside each of them were two gifts, there were quite a few musical people there so I had special guitar pics printed with a selection of images, some of each of our daughters, some of ourselves and some members of the bridal party, mainly funny pictures too and they were a great laugh, we didnt tell anyone about it so it was funny to see the faces of the likes of my dad who opened his card to find a picture of himself on a guitar pic.

The next gift we gave were scratch cards, €1 scratch cards although there was a little twist. We put one false scratch card per table, to work around this we had to buy a couple of variations of scratch cards so it wouldnt be too obvious. Each of the fake scratch cards had a winnings of €20k and it was absolutely hilarious, the looks on the faces of the people who scratched them. As they were put into cards and each card was named so as we knew who was getting which pic we could choose the most suitable for the scratch cards, i.e. people who would see it funny and it was a great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

sceptre wrote: »
    As referenced here, what are "wedding table favours"?

Curiosity sometimes gets the better of me:)
    There a little keepsake that are placed on the guests tables to remember the day. IMO they're a waste of money but then I'm a hardened sceptic :rolleyes:

If you really want these things on the day I've seen sweets like after dinner mints wrapped in tulle which are nice enough.

We're not having any of this at our wedding. It was actually an expressed condition and thankfully himself has no interest either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

God be with the days when you got a piece of wedding cake to bring home. :D

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

The best wedding favour I've ever gotten was from my cousin's wedding. They did donations to the Ulster Cancer society, and they had those little pins in the shape of a ribbon - pink for female guests and blue for males. I think most people took their pin with them at the end, but even if they didn't at least the money went on something worthwhile.

Worst one ever was a mug with a picture of the bride and groom on it, although it wasn't a nice picture (which would have been grand cos it would have been functional) it was a really bad holiday snap. What posessed them, I don't know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

I had pins from the DSPCA on my tables.

I know some people aren't bothered with favours so it's a personal choice really.

Most of my friends and relatives are animal lovers and I collect pins so it was kind of a "me" thing to do I guess.

It got people talking and people did come up to me and say they thought it was really nice but at the same time they were gonna hardly tell to my face that they thought it was a load of bollix either haha.