Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need help and have no idea where to start

Options
  • 10-01-2010 1:37am
    Registered Users Posts: 20

Hi,

I got a 3 year degree in quantity surveying a few years ago from W.I.T

Now Ive been unemployed for a year and a half and im thinking about going back to college to study something new.

Im 23 years old.

I have absolutely no idea where to start.

I want a new job entirely, construction is dead in this country.

I was looking through various courses online and the only ones I could find that interested me require very high points, like political science or medicine. (I only got 330 points in my leaving cert and my degree was a pass.)

Is it possible for someone like me to get into these courses, and would I only be able to do so as a mature student? Or could I apply for a postgraduate degree in an unrelated field to my own?

I dont really know whats best for me, is there anyone in the same position who can advise me please?

Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

*Generally,you are considered to be a mature student if you are at least 23 years of age on January 1 of the year you enter your course. If you are interested in a particular college you should check how it defines a mature student.

by applying as a mature student, the college takes your application and may invite you for an interview or to sit an exam to assess your abilities for the course.

if they find you "worthy" then they will offer you a place.

alternativly, apply through the cao and pray the points drop a LOT and not too many apply.