Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The reason behind laid up insurance cover

• 08-01-2010 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

This was our beloved '83 Celica
    4254140641_ced92a38d7.jpg

The Monday before Christmas we had a fire in the shed. With the roads being bad the fire brigade took 40mins. The boys tried their best but we lost the Celica along with a '77 Avenger and all the fathers tools and stuff.

4254170171_8282386eb9.jpg

You can just about make out the 2 cars. The fire brigage said that the temperature was in excess of 280 degC in places so its not surprising that the beams melted like this
    4254921726_6d3570b752.jpg

As yet we dont know what happened or how the fire started. The investigators will issue a report. The "loss adjuster will have to come around as well..We are all gutted but at least no body was hurt or worse still killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Sorry to hear that dude!

It could have been worse! One of the guys in our club had his car sitting up for the last month as the insurance had lapsed in Nov and he was going to wait until Feb to insure it again as it wouldn't be getting any use over Christmas. Some vandals torched it in his drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭deckie27

Do companys provide laidup cover in Ireland
    Does it cost much?
    I have a few classics but keep full insurance on them all the time even if there not driven(laid up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Thats a b1tch indeed, sorry to hear that !

I've had my Pagoda SL on a laid up policy with AXA for about 4 years now.It hasn't turned a wheel and gives me peace of mind for a few hundred quid. I think its less than €200.

Did you have a battery charger plugged in ? A friend of mine lost two mint Classic Mercs bvecause the trickle charger went faulty and caused a fire, hence I would never use one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

MercMad wrote: »
    Thats a b1tch indeed, sorry to hear that !
    Did you have a battery charger plugged in ? A friend of mine lost two mint Classic Mercs bvecause the trickle charger went faulty and caused a fire, hence I would never use one.

Naw nowt plugged in. The firemen said it could be rodents eating the wires.. but we will have to see what the investigator says..

Thanks again for the suport lads ... !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Major bummer, Vanhire. :(

Twas a lovely looking Celica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Sorry to see that,not good at christmas time.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Sorry for your trouble :(
    MercMad wrote: »
    I've had my Pagoda SL on a laid up policy with AXA for about 4 years now.It hasn't turned a wheel and gives me peace of mind for a few hundred quid. I think its less than €200.

Anyone else have a laid up policy? Could you please share with us what you're paying and for what car (any agreed value?) and does it have to be garaged / locked up? Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Most classic car policies started out as just that 'laid up policies'
    The limited milage driving bit is just an extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭ikillcopiers

Jaysus man, sorry to hear, that's terrible news!

At least no one was hurt, that's the main thing.

I can only imagine how your father feels at losing his cars and stuff,
    my heart goes out to ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

Parents said they would look into putting my cars and my garage in their garden onto their house insurance while I'm abroad... I must bump them on that matter... especially when you see this.

Sorry for your loss VanhireBoys, I hope they can compensate you adequately.