Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Images of Dublin in 1961 (large pics involved!)

• 08-01-2010 12:01pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Some great old pics with plenty of old cars for the old-timers amoungst you! ;)
    (I even numbered them for reference - that's service for ya...)

4256611746_39faf5ccfb_o.jpg

4256610358_a10a7fe5b4_o.jpg

4255837711_d4a7d7d0ac_o.jpg

4255836237_d13de291e1_o.jpg

4255835233_66212c828f_o.jpg

4256596170_4125564bf3_o.jpg

4255831729_cae92c2d12_o.jpg

4256591774_88c4f9f7b7_o.jpg

4256590248_31c6f59c5e_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Those pics are great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

A few Oxfords or badge engineered variants, like a 16/60 with an AA badge, Beetles, Anglias, a Rover P4, hmmm think so. There were still coal carts until a few years ago, CDL had them I think. I wonder could they introduce parking on that part of College Green, to spite the tree huggers:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Great shots..did you take them..:D..love the black Zody Garda car....I'll never forget a trip i once had in one of those bus's with the front cycle fender,(the no. 50a from Crumlin into town) always remember them being a bit shorter that the other ones but much faster, like a GTi version..;)...the guy drove so fast i really thought it would turn over ...but didnt...happier times...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Great pics dude! ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Great shots..did you take them..:D
    Nahh - got them in an email and thought of you lot!

The thing that stuck out for me was Nelson's Pillar. :pac:
    That cop car is cool too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

ya, the garda car appears to be outside the Bridewell Garda station behind the 4 courts?

Where's number 6? looks a bit like Grafton street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 jrwings

Great pictures, the thing that stands out the most is the condition of the roads, well the put 2010 road standards to shame.

Where's number 6? looks a bit like Grafton street?
    Top of Dame St, maybe, looking back at College Green?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

I wonder could they introduce parking on that part of College Green, to spite the tree huggers:D.

Let's go for it. Surely we can muster up a Prefect, and A40 and a couple of scooters, then we'll drop 'em right in front of the bus gate! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

jrwings wrote: »
    Great pictures, the thing that stands out the most is the condition of the roads, well the put 2010 road standards to shame.

These days the roads get a lot more wear and tear from a lot more, and heavier vehicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Ballykine43

Thanks Dades. Memories of when I was a student in the early 60s and the whole world seemed to be on bikes.

For the non-Dubs....

1..7..Upr.Exchequer St /Dame St. junction

2..8..9..College Green end of Dame St.

3..4..5..O'Connell Bridge..

6..Parliment St junction with Dame st...Christ Church in the distance..

I had the right street - wrong direction!

Dades wrote: »
    I had the right street - wrong direction!

I only know because i used to work those streets..(courier...not a rent boy..:rolleyes:)..my only sat nav back then was a Rothmans packet an a biro.....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Great pics, Garda car, P&T van, Taxi , guys on motorbikes with no helmet, lots of bicycles and the horse and cart aswell... Any mor photos ?

This was actually taken today..............:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Those pics have been knocking around for awhile now,they are part of this archive covering many more countries,theres so much more to look at besides ireland.
    http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/cushman/index.jsp

If anyone sees any nice motoring related pics on there post them on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭DarenO

back again posting after a short break

not quite photos of Dublin, but have been on British Pathe, archive film website, here's a link to one film but there are many other Irish car related films, i've spent too much time on the website already

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=52614

or this one, which shows the Shamrock car, a favourite topic among us classic boardies

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=68702

Regards
    Darren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Excellent pics and a great trip down memory lane! Many thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

not a junkie in sight! wonder what that felt like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

does anyone know what the kilmaine advert on the bus in picture number 4 was for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭james1410

maxxie wrote: »
    not a junkie in sight! wonder what that felt like :D

I know dublin looks nice in these pics but now its horrible i hate dublin and its the only place that gives me the chills as you really have to watch your back up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Mjollnir

james1410 wrote: »
    I know dublin looks nice in these pics but now its horrible i hate dublin and its the only place that gives me the chills as you really have to watch your back up there!

I found Dublin rather quaint when was there.

Come to L.A. We'll show you things to worry about happening behind your back.

Mjollnir wrote: »
    I found Dublin rather quaint when was there.

Come to L.A. We'll show you things to worry about happening behind your back.

Its not whats happening behind yer back..its the lunatic in front of ye with the syringe.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

james1410 wrote: »

Spoken like a true Culchie

Up the Dubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

WHIP IT! wrote: »

Spoken like a true Culchie

Up the Dubs!

Stay with the topic lads.............;)

The Kilmaine advert i'm guessin was another booze advert...

anyone "cop" the manual traffic light on O'Connall bridge....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Stay with the topic lads.............;

Indeed. This is the classic cars forum, lads :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭B11gt00e

Absolutely Fabulous pictures... really great to see a collection of that size and quality.

One point about Picture number six...
    For the non-Dubs....

It's the right junction alright, but you're looking down toward Trinity and not up the hill toward Christchurch. The curve in the road at the Olympia Theatre is very distinctive... and that grey wall opposite the junction is City Hall... All those buildings below City Hall haven't existed in years... There was a park there (Bernardo's Square) with a fountain but now it's a new office block type thing... Partially visible below

q_kMBf49ylvEa0a04ZPBDDC-i9_OYhnV3HBY60HhOZptPWRhZnQmbD02MDA=.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Mr. 'H'

I can't make it out - what make are the buses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

mossfort wrote: »
    does anyone know what the kilmaine advert on the bus in picture number 4 was for.
    Kilmaine was a shirt manufacturer / tailor afair.

The buses were Leyland.

The bus in pic one: RA110 HZA 235 Leyland PD3/2 601023 – CIE H41/33R new 8/60; w/d 1/77 and scrapped 8/79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Great pictures, I don't suppose you have some like those from other towns ?

cian1500ww wrote: »
    Great pictures, I don't suppose you have some like those from other towns ?
    Afraid not. The ones I posted I got in an email.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I think Padraig Harrington looks great on the pushbike to the right in number 8!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

For the non-Dubs....

1..7..Upr.Exchequer St /Dame St. junction

2..8..9..College Green end of Dame St.

3..4..5..O'Connell Bridge..

6. That's Trinity College in the distance. Pic is taken from Lord Edward st, shooting down Dame st.

The pics are fantastic OP, thanks. It must have been well dodgy on a bike among cards with narrow wheels, on wet roads, with almost no lanes marked out. The sheer number of scooters is a big surprise - I wonder were they "retired" press ones.

Dades wrote: »
    That cop car is cool too.

That would have been before sirens. I expect there was a large electric bell on the front bumper.