Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Jeff Hardy and his current company Spoilers ~~~~

• 07-01-2010 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭

So as you fellow wrestling fans should know young Jeff returned the other night to TNA. On paper it’s a superb coup for TNA, the guy is a MASSIVE draw, he has a fiercely loyal fan base moves a ton of merchandise and will appeal hugely to the younger fan base something which even Hogan may struggle with.

However nerding it up on the net it’s a move that seems to have come up for huge criticism. Some people are annoyed at Jeff for apparently stabbing Vince in the back, some people think his return was to mellow and others wonder the wisdom signing a guy who may end up in jail or dead of an overdose in 6 months. So boards posters do the rewards outnumber the risks, is this a move that capitulate TNA or should Dixie have waited till at least the case was over?

If this does not deserve a thread lock mods:o

Jeff to TNA good or bad for TNA? 26 votes

TNA should have waited till he was acquitted…
    0% 0 votes
    It’s a superb coup for TNA **** the doubters
    46% 12 votes
    Honestly not sure yet….….
    53% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

TNA have got quite possibly the biggest draw on their hands at the moment, and I have a feeling that they won't capitalise on this. Hardy should be pushed to the moon now. Just imagine the matches he could have with the likes of Joe, Angle & AJ...

But it looks like TNA are gonna drop the ball, stick him into the X Division, and push Hogan and the dinosaurs instead.

It's a great move though for TNA in the short term, to increase viewership & create interest though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Arra who cares really if he's up in court? theres so many more scummier stunts that have been pulled than employing Jeff Hardy in the past few years in all fairness. Anyone that thinks that the seedy world of pro wrestling operates within the moralistic guidelines of everyday life is totally deluded. Sure WWE are advertising a convicted rapist as GM for next week if we're going to bet all high and mighty about it.

TNA spotted the chance to sign up the top babyface in WWE from 4 months ago, they'd have been insane not to, at least it somewhat balances out the amount of fossils they've signed up.

If I was high up in TNA the main worry I'd have is getting Jeff to give 100%. He barely tried the last time he worled for TNA, his run was horrendous. That's if his appearance on TV last week wasn't just a one off, no one really knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

flahavaj wrote: »
    Arra who cares really if he's up in court? theres so many more scummier stunts that have been pulled than employing Jeff Hardy in the past few years in all fairness. Anyone that thinks that the seedy world of pro wrestling operates within the moralistic guidelines of everyday life is totally deluded. Sure WWE are advertising a convicted rapist as GM for next week if we're going to bet all high and mighty about it.

TNA spotted the chance to sign up the top babyface in WWE from 4 months .

Well not me! :p

I think some people rightfully are a little worried that Jeff may end up in jail and that’s going to be a huge own goal for TNA in the long run. :eek:

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Well not me! :p

I think some people rightfully are a little worried that Jeff may end up in jail and that’s going to be a huge own goal for TNA in the long run. :eek:

Even if he does get put away, its still publicity, all they have to do is make the most of it if they get a media spotlight on them. Guarantee you Bischoff, the master of controversy would be licking his lips at getting the media's spotlight on the company. All he has to say is Jeff committed the offences while in WWE and reflect the bad publicity back onto Vince. Say TNA are giving him a fresh start, a second chance etc etc, hes now clean. Sure he even has the sensible haircut now.:pac:

Theres no such thing as bad news, especially in the wrestling business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

I'd hope for Jeffs sake that TNA works out for him this time. If the reports are true and he reneged on a verbal agreement with Vinnie Mac there isn't much out there for him if he doesn't succeed there.

Course he could be someones bitch in jail in a few months but that's a whole different can of worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I'd hope for Jeffs sake that TNA works out for him this time. If the reports are true and he reneged on a verbal agreement with Vinnie Mac there isn't much out there for him if he doesn't succeed there.

Course he could be someones bitch in jail in a few months but that's a whole different can of worms.

To be honest unless he tries to shift Stephanie or Michelle, I think Vince will always take him back, jeff is MONEY and Vince loves that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

Rjd2 wrote: »
    To be honest unless he tries to shift Stephanie or Michelle, I think Vince will always take him back, jeff is MONEY and Vince loves that. :pac:

I don't know about that. I'd say what he did was, in Vinces eyes (if the reports are true) almost as bad. Vinny doesn't even acknowledge the competition and now after keeping Jeff fresh in peoples minds - he was mentioned on TV quite a bit after his departure, even in the slammys - he has ended up providing free publicity for the competition.

I think Jeff has nuked that bridge. If the reports are true that is.

Guarantee if he doesn't get locked up he'll work for WWE before the year is out. Vince might be vengeful but he likes money and profits more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Its an interesting situation.

Some people think Vince has no blood on the show incase it affects Linda's senate run? They have a convicted rapist as gm next week. Now they reckon Vince has a verbal contract with Hardy who is about to go to court with serious drug accusations? These stories dont add to me. Sorry for going off topic to start here but i think its all related. If you dont then feel free to delete this.

Is Jeff a good signing for TNA? Will his felonies affect his popularity? Will Hogan let Jeff take a leading role?

I dont think its a high risk move for either Jeff or TNA to sign up together short term. It gives TNA a high profile star young fans relate to. If Jeff goes to the big house or od's then lets be honest who outside wrestling fans really gives a bollox. Test and Umanga proved to me that the press dont give a feck unless its Benoit level tragedy. I dont think his drug accusations will affect him that much either. Do people really care about this? My guess is no. He was still shifting the merchandise after he was caught playing chemist.

Will Jeff give his best? God knows.

I cant see how a short term deal can be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

I'd say the move will make little difference in the long run. Like Nash, Christian, Angle... *some time later* Sting, Foley, Lashley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Jeff Hardys girlfriend said on her Twitter account that the rumours of Jeff having a verbal contract to return to the WWE within a certain time period are completely false

Verbal contracts aren't worth the paper they are written on anyway :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Was his deal with TNA just one night deal or is it that it depends on his court case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

I think he has burned a few bridges with WWE now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

EdK wrote: »
    Jeff Hardys girlfriend said on her Twitter account that the rumours of Jeff having a verbal contract to return to the WWE within a certain time period are completely false

Verbal contracts aren't worth the paper they are written on anyway :p

And they're certainly not worth anything with Vinny. Even if such a contract did exist, McMahon doesn't respect verbal commitments when it doesn't suit him. It'd be a bit rich for him to get his knickers in a twist over Jeff deciding he wants to make some money with TNA while he's away from the WWE.

That said, I think TNA are making a big mistake. He's facing two felony posession charges for stuff that was found at his house, and it's already past the Grand Jury (they skipped the probable cause hearing). Even if they haven't made financial commitments for a sustained period, they're presumably investing TV time in the guy. Based on his x-division appearance - rather than 'main event' - I fear they won't really use him right either.

Maybe I'm a bit jaundiced also by seeing that unprotected chair shot he landed on Homicide's head. After all we've seen, surely such things shouldn't be happening in a supposedly reputable promotion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Dancor wrote: »
    I think he has burned a few bridges with WWE now.

Most definitely. In fairness they supported him through some bad times when they could have just left him self destruct and gave him pushes that he mightn't have really deserved. That's grattitude!

I heard Matt Hardy is little more than a jober these days. Any chance WWE could take the anger out on him, burying him an giving him a stupid gimmick or something. Anyone know when his contract is up? Could we see a Hardy reunion in TNA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Hogan has burned his bridges many times with Vince before, yet Vince will always take him back. Arguably Austin as well.

The only thing I see in this which bothers me, is why debut him when there were so many debuts in one night? They could have built this up something massive in the same vein as Jerichos last comeback 2 years ago.

I do think for TNA to capitalise on this is they have go go live in future. All very well having all this talent, but if people are reading spoilers before it airs, it will hurt ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,730 ✭✭✭✭Penn

gimmick wrote: »
    The only thing I see in this which bothers me, is why debut him when there were so many debuts in one night? They could have built this up something massive in the same vein as Jerichos last comeback 2 years ago.

I agree, people kinda knew Hall, Waltman, Flair etc were going to be on Raw. But if they just gave a little teaser about Hardy and built it up gradually, they'd get more viewers for following shows
    I do think for TNA to capitalise on this is they have go go live in future. All very well having all this talent, but if people are reading spoilers before it airs, it will hurt ratings.

Problem with that is, TNA appeals more to some stars (for example, Jeff Hardy) because of the decreased workload. I agree that live is better, but would it hurt TNA's roster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Memnoch99

The only thing I see in this which bothers me, is why debut him when there were so many debuts in one night?

Good point, reading the spoilers for tna is probably a turn-off for some possible viewers, thinking ''that looks a mess in the spoilers Im not watching that'' . I know I certainly do.
    If its live they wont have that problem.

As for Jeffs debut-what a waste. That could have been built up so much better (or built up full stop).

Problem with that is, TNA appeals more to some stars (for example, Jeff Hardy) because of the decreased workload. I agree that live is better, but would it hurt TNA's roster?

Thast the catch 42 isn't it. I think WWEs workload is more down to the amount of house shows they do, something which TNA are not that heavy on. So, if they did 4/5 live shows a month plus the handful of house shows, the workload is still probably half as hectic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

According to reports a few weeks before Jeff was leaving, he failed Welness for the third time.

This means he can't work for WWE for a year.

I'd say Vince is happy for Jeff to go to TNA for a year so people don't forget him.

Hell if TNA push him to the moon and make him champ it just makes it even better when a year down the line he jumps ship back to WWE.

Also, if he does get convicted, well it's a TNA employee, not a WWE one.

It's win/win for Vince.

Hell if TNA push him to the moon and make him champ it just makes it even better when a year down the line he jumps ship back to WWE.

Didnt do Christian any favours. I know he was not a recent champ but I always thought Vince had a habit of making other promotions champs/stars work before they made it to the top in WWE. It could be different if Jeff is a returning WWE champ though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Dancor wrote: »
    Didnt do Christian any favours. I know he was not a recent champ but I always thought Vince had a habit of making other promotions champs/stars work before they made it to the top in WWE. It could be different if Jeff is a returning WWE champ though.

Jeff was way more over that Christian ever was

^ Exactly, Christian was never the draw Jeff was/is. Vice knew that even if he put an awful lot of whistles and bells around Christains return, he was never going straight to the top. Okay, his return was more than slightly crap, but Id imagine that was the process.

Vince likes money. Jeff has made him plenty of that and will continue to do so in his career for himself and his employer.

JP Liz wrote: »
    Jeff was way more over that Christian ever was

Never said he was.
    Vince likes money. Jeff has made him plenty of that and will continue to do so in his career for himself and his employer.

I dont think he is worth the risk TBH. Jeff is messed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 EireGunner

TNA is a good company for Hardy and Hardy is good for TNA.TNA get a big name fan favourite at a time when they are trying to compete with WWE, Jeff Hardy is in a company where he has less traveling and wrestling matches, he also won't have to worry about Failing a drugs test.

Also when hardy left WWE he didnt fail a test if he did WWE would have made it public they always do no matter who the superstar is, I do admit that if he was tested around then he probably would have failed due to what happened a week later.

As regards Hardy going back to WWE in the future, Vince McMahon will bring back any wrestler to WWE if it is good for the comany no matter what they did and who they are he brought Eric Bischoff to the company doesn;t get much worse than that!

Hardy is awesome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 EireGunner

Oh yeah with the whole court appearance with Jeff it does remain to be seen what ounishment he will get, i presume with TNA taking the chance on him now it shows Hardy the faith they have in him and they might of signed him on better terms if they had waited until after when he might be cleared then WWE would have been back in the picture and the price would have rose a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Hogan has burned his bridges many times with Vince before, yet Vince will always take him back. Arguably Austin as well.

spoilers don't hurt ratings. Meltzer just said that he'd studied it and found no correlation.

I think the reason they debuted so much people one one night was a kind of shotgun esque attack for ratings as opposed to a targeted one. Put so many people on on the night that you expect a big rating (which they got) and if they see just one person they like they might come back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭MiciG91

I havent watched wrestling in nearly 6 years.The only reason i watched last week was because Bret Hart was coming back.TBH the show was ****e expected much better.Now i havent watched TNA but Jeff Hardy was my favorite wrestler back in the day and if he's still jumping off ladders i might tune in. Are the dudleys on TNA ?? if they were could you imagine if Matt Hardy signed with TNA there would be very good storylines out of that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭scoopmine

Jeff Hardy in my opinion was the biggest available babyface TNA could have signed for the night. Jeff will always be a loose cannon and its up to the company to make the most of what he can do. Therefor vince and hogan will always try to have jeff on their team and jeff will always have choices!