Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ford Granada MK3 who has one?

• 07-01-2010 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Hi

i have a 1990 mk3 ford granada saloon which is my daily driver im a ford fan and collector of them. Mine is an orignal irish car sold new to the first national building in blackrock dublin the quetion is how many orignal irish

ford granada mk3s are left in ireland? i know were there is another orignal irish one 94 and i seen a silver one in around gorey co wexford a few times but they seem to be really rare now.

heres mine

S7301664.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

james1410 wrote: »
    Hi

i have a 1990 mk3 ford granada saloon which is my daily driver im a ford fan and collector of them. Mine is an orignal irish car sold new to the first national building in blackrock dublin the quetion is how many orignal irish

ford granada mk3s are left in ireland? i know were there is another orignal irish one 94 and i seen a silver one in around gorey co wexford a few times but they seem to be really rare now.

heres mine

S7301664.jpg

She's clean looking , what mileage is it on?

I got picked up in a 1990 Sierra by a Taxi Man from Coolock last year it was still going strong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

There is a geezer in Swords with a 90 MK3 Granada.... Black it is.... Cant believe she is still going.... Great to see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭james1410

She's clean looking , what mileage is it on?

I got picked up in a 1990 Sierra by a Taxi Man from Coolock last year it was still going strong

Do you still have the sierra? i have 1990 sapphire as well an ex garda car im restoring her!

Theres 194.000 on her and an almost full service history! its still going strong! shes a great everyday driver! its great the amount of intrest you get when im out in her im always having lads asking about her!

im going to keep a register off all the granadas i come accross so to have idea roughly how many there is in ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

There used to be a saloon, around 1990 that lived near me up until very recently. I also saw a late eighties/early nineties hatchback model drive past me very recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

james1410 wrote: »
    Do you still have the sierra? i have 1990 sapphire as well an ex garda car im restoring her!

It wasn't mine it was some taxi man from coolock i was a white one and abit rough round the edges but it was his daily driver

There is a Co-op superstore in either Buttevant or Charleville in Co Cork that usually has a Mk 3 Granada hatch parked outside it, I'll have a look later on the way home to Cork to see where it is exactly.

Aside from that one I haven't seen a Granada in years, the bug eyed Scorpio is as rare now.

'tis in Buttevent, a Blue / Green hatch Scorpio, 1995 2.0. NCTd until 2011, a bit rough around the edges but all there.

You'll never believe what happened next, I was driving through the town and a silver 94 TS hatch came through the town the opposite way, I was like :eek: wtf........

......... and a few miles later before Mallow a green 92 W registered one came against me, I sh1t you not, I barely believe it myself to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

Jesus, how did Ford go from that to the Scorpio, the single ugliest car Ford has ever sold in Ireland.

The overall shape is similar though, and under the skin they are very very similar. As you say though, the bug eyed Scorpio is an awful looking thing, I would still buy one though if it was the right price (circa €500 for a minty black one with full leather and all the toys).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,549 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Friend of my father had an 88 Granada fairly recently, I haven't seen it in a year or two though so it may be gone. All four doors were rusting badly, I dread to think what it was like underneath.

Apart from that I am on the road a lot and as a result see hundreds if not thousands of of vehicles every day but haven't seen a Mk3 Granada in years. Given that it is out of production for ~15 years, you can be pretty certain that 99% of them are now gone.

BTW there is an article about repairing rusty sills on a Mk3 in this months Car Mechanics mag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

There was a black Mk. 2 Granada saloon often seen around Limerick up until recently, I think it's this one: http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Granada/LX-2.0-L/200946195855545/advert?channel=CARS

BrianD3 wrote: »

Apart from that I am on the road a lot and as a result see hundreds if not thousands of of vehicles every day but haven't seen a Mk3 Granada in years. Given that it is out of production for ~15 years, you can be pretty certain that 99% of them are now gone.

+ 1, that's why I was amazed at seeing the two today after seeing the usual one, absolutely :eek:

you know the granada and sierra dont rust that much compared to the older ford cortina capris ect.. the granadas usualy go on the arches and on some at the rear of the sills. and the sierra also goes on the rear arches sills and sometimes the boot floor.

my one is only going on the arches so its not to bad. there are a good few granadas still about just hidden in back yards ect.. ive come accross 4 around arklow co wicklow and there is 3 scorpios i know of also so its just a case of getting out there and looking for them also its a big help if you drive one! im always having lads complementing me on my granada!

and lads reminising of them how nice a car they were when they came out!

the bug eye scorpio is very ugly but other wise a great car! with prity much all could ever want in a car! the higher spec models have very comfortable leather seats cruise control abs heated seats electric everything! if i was going to buy a fairly modern car i would get one of them as they offer great value for the money they go for but im into

my older cars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

My dad bought one of the old lord mayors cars in Cork with the C-1 reg years ago. Good to see some still flying away. Plastic wood and soft velour all the way!

There is a 94 one on Donedeal in Galway for about a grand.

RoverJames wrote: »
    There is a 94 one on Donedeal in Galway for about a grand.

yeah i seen that one shes nice! and looks to be in good condtion! the 92 estate is good looking to the amount of room in the saloons is impresive but the estates are unreal! you could live in them!

im surprised about the silver one been broke for parts as it looks to be in very good condtion.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

There was a Irish Granada Cosworth in Galway in around 94-95,metallic blue hatchback, it used to get serviced at the dealership I worked in, we fitted some conrods to it due to flood damage back then.

There a real beast the cossy granada was some car in its day compared to other models of the same class! then again anything with the cosworth name is fantastic! i might some time fit a cossy 24v and manual into mine!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

RoverJames wrote: »
    There is a Co-op superstore in either Buttevant or Charleville in Co Cork that usually has a Mk 3 Granada hatch parked outside it, I'll have a look later on the way home to Cork to see where it is exactly.

Aside from that one I haven't seen a Granada in years, the bug eyed Scorpio is as rare now.

That's undergoing restoration now, 198,000 Miles on her :)

PS: My Dad bought it :D

PPS: Sorry about the thread resurection :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Get some pictures up :)

Car is not as bad as what people thought, needs a new bootlid due to rust (Easier to replace than repair) BUT the arches are perfect, no other rust on it.

When he got it, I spent 2 days cleaning it and it turned up a treat :)

Theres actually 199,500 Miles on it,

img1003copy.jpg

img1013da.jpg

img1015km.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭shaunsweb

Hi. Was just reading about the Granada and pleasantly surprised by the number that appear to be still around.

I have a Mark III Facelift model that I bought back in 1995 (yes 1 owner). It's Dark Green Metallic 5 door hatch with 235000 miles on the clock. I have it dry stored now and is my pride and joy. If anyone can point me to somewhere where I can get spares for it, I would be really grateful as dealers now don't tend to stock the parts I need

thanks

s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 therustybeetle

Just found this thread, good to see a few fans of the mk3 granada still out there.

I very rarely pass another on the road, the only ones i know to be around my area (north cork) is a 94 in castletownroche, still around i think, and the 95 in buttevant. hadn't seen it for a while so good to know its gone to a good home!

My own is a daily driver, mk3 prefacelift with 120k miles. Head gasket had to be done at 110k. ultra reliable apart from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

There's a mint 1991 one in Tralee, one owner car from
    New.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

A really cool car when new. Here it is looking its best. I can't embed pics I am ashamed to admit.

tada!

Ford%20Scorpio%20Mk2.jpg

Just found this thread, good to see a few fans of the mk3 granada still out there.

I very rarely pass another on the road, the only ones i know to be around my area (north cork) is a 94 in castletownroche, still around i think, and the 95 in buttevant. hadn't seen it for a while so good to know its gone to a good home!

My own is a daily driver, mk3 prefacelift with 120k miles. Head gasket had to be done at 110k. ultra reliable apart from that.

very nice granada you have there and another 90 D one! what dealer was your one sold out of new? mine was sold new out of esmonde motors stillorgan dublin and there is a very clean 94 one i know off local to me which came out of the same dealer!

im still driving mine as a daily and while there is some sort of issue with over fueling since i got it back its been as reliable as ever! its the best car i ever bought! i was extremely pissed off and sad when it was stolen! but since ive got it back ive been really paranoid about leaving it anywere!

mine has over 200.000 miles on it now and has been all over ireland! i wouldent sell her for a brand new!

if anyone is looking for parts for preface lift mk3's let me know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

I used to own a 2.l Granada Hatch then later, a 2.8l. The 2.8 was stolen one night in Ballyfermot. The guards knew about it when I reported it, as they had been chasing it around all night, including by helicopter. It was fitted with a tow bar and they thought it might have been taken for a ram raid. It was finally abandoned and I got it back, but not before the little darlings went through the inside with Stanley knives! Everywhere was destroyed. I had a big mad chain wrapped around the steering wheel and they had to cut the wheel in several places to get it off, leaving just about half of it intact, ie, one spoke and part of the outer rim. Anyway, insurance paid up, dented my NCB (as it did back in the day for fire or theft, but thats another rant!!) and I never saw it again. Sniff, sniff.......

That '95 I pictured above is in storage at the moment, Resting alongside a '94 Granada Cosworth

Great to see the love for them still alive, I don't remember them as a new car (Am only 18) but one of my all time favourite cars alongside Mk1 Mondeos and Sierras.