Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maynooth club?

• 06-01-2010 12:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know if there's a cycling club in or near Maynooth? I'm a new cyclist and cycling in a group may help. A multi sport club would be fine too - planning on doing some duathlons this year to prepare for Connemara and GaelForceWest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

A friend of mine is a member of Lakeside Wheelers in Mullingar. Granted it's about 60km away, but if you don't mind a drive to and from spins it might be an option. They seem like a very welcoming bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pbull69

Yes the wheelers are a very welcoming bunch!!! I'm 1 of them and have been multisporting for nearly 4 yrs. But maybe Lucan CC may be closer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Lucan has a good reputation and is part of some of the Orwell leagues I believe?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

This is the list of clubs local to you with the club secretary listed (i've not put up their contact detail but they are available though the link at the bottom). There seems to be a club in maynooth itself so maybe give the secretary a ring and see if it suits you.

Kildare

Dominos CC
    Louis Van Wyk
    1615 Newline Grove,
    Kilmead Village
    Athy, Co. Kildare

Maynooth SFC

Conor McHugh
    Blackwood,
    Robertstown,
    Naas, Co. Kildare

Murphy Surveys Kilcullen CC
    Liam Walker
    1056 Nicholastown,
    Kilcullen,
    Co. Kildare

Naas CC
    Lorcan Stack
    Ballinastocken,
    Blessington,
    Co. Wicklow

Newbridge CC
    John Malone
    5 Lynden Court,
    Portlaoise, Co. Laois

http://www.cyclingireland.ie/Key-Documents/Technical.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Lucan is quite local. They are in the league with Orwell, Usher, Tiernan's and UCD and it is a very good league for beginning racing. Indeed Stagg are the sponsor of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

IIRC Usher start their training spins out Maynooth way.

Edit: they meet in Leixlip on Saturdays and the square in Maynooth on Sundays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Cheers lads. I'll ring the Maynooth one but I think it's only for the Galway Cycle in March. Lucan could be an option - Mullingar is a bit far. Who are Usher? Racing isn't a key factor for me - my bike is a hybrid anyway. I'm more interested in social cycling for fitness purposes than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Macros42 wrote: »
    Who are Usher? Racing isn't a key factor for me - my bike is a hybrid anyway. I'm more interested in social cycling for fitness purposes than anything else.

Usher Irish Road Club

They say they cater for leisure riders as well as racing (think they claimed the top 3 spots in the inter-club league this year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭barney150

Clonard Road Club leave from enfield on sat and sunday mornings. They have a leisure group and a racing group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 SMacX

The Galway Cycle have a bunch of people from all sorts of sports.

Social cycling for the noobs, Sportives for most, some triathletes, some footballers, some runners, racing cyclists...

Its a loose setup, if you want to get a group out for the spin, there is always someone up for it. Meets every Saturday and Sunday at the old campus gates, just up from the Roost at 10. No pressure to do the Galway Cycle and plenty of experience to get ye going.

Ask for Conor, Andy, Sean, The Prez whoever, you'll get a welcome.

Sounds good. I'll do that. Probably not this Sunday tho - roads are treacherous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

With all due respect you might be better starting by organising a couple of friends or like minded neibours. All the clubs mentiond above will be more than welcoming but theres noting more demoralising than been dropped or under pressure on your first few club runs. Better to know your own comfort zone in terms of pace and distance before making contact. Used to be a good group in Celbridge KP nutters don't know if there still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Sean02 wrote: »
    Used to be a good group in Celbridge KP nutters don't know if there still around.

Not sure if they're still out as a group, but I saw a few of their number meeting at Louisa Bridge a while back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 joeythevet

The KPs otherwie known as les plonquers meet at the bridge in Celbridge at 10.00 sharp on sunday mornings. Good group to go out with if you are planning duathlons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

joeythevet wrote: »
    The KPs otherwie known as les plonquers meet at the bridge in Celbridge at 10.00 sharp on sunday mornings. Good group to go out with if you are planning duathlons

and a sound bunch of lads with no pretensions about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 joeythevet

all sound guys ranging in age from 30 to 60 something they usually cycle for three hours at this time of the year medium to fast touring pace.

some of them also do a short saturday spin from Celbridge House pub on a saturday morning starting at 10.15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Mua

Macros42 wrote: »
    Anyone know if there's a cycling club in or near Maynooth? I'm a new cyclist and cycling in a group may help. A multi sport club would be fine too - planning on doing some duathlons this year to prepare for Connemara and GaelForceWest.

Did you have any luck with finding a club near Maynooth?? Am living in Maynooth and looking to join one as well. Just bought a bike and looking to get fit and train with a group. Nothing too serious.... Anyway if you've had any luck would be very intersted:)

Clonard road club have an easy spin on saturady morning leaving mother hubbards at 8.45. Would suit a beginner.
    They go out sunday morning too, same time. Sunday would be faster and longer so it wouldn't suit a beginner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Mua

barney150 wrote: »
    Clonard road club have an easy spin on saturady morning leaving mother hubbards at 8.45. Would suit a beginner.
    They go out sunday morning too, same time. Sunday would be faster and longer so it wouldn't suit a beginner.

Can you just turn up at Mother Hubbards or do you have to register somewhere first?? Any idea how long a spin sat morn??
    Thanks Barney150:)

I joined Donadea Running Club. Doing my own cycling. DRC is a great club - very friendly and caters for all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Fredo

Mua wrote: »
    Can you just turn up at Mother Hubbards or do you have to register somewhere first?? Any idea how long a spin sat morn??
    Thanks Barney150:)
    Hi Mua,
    This morning was my first time with the Clonard cyclcing club. I rang Colm May (or Maye) I'll PM you his number.
    I just turned up this morning at Mother Hubbards for 8:45 and we hit the road. It was my first time cycling with a club, we did 1 hour the pace was brisk (for me) 27/28kph, it was ok to hang at the back but when I started to fade a bit they reduced the pace slighly which was very nice. Very enjoyable and very nice bunch of people.
    They also go on Thursday evening at 6:30 from MH as well.
    I live in Kilcock, if you want to go for a spin some evenings or week-ends pm me.

Fred
    Sorry it is my real name :rolleyes: maybe I should change my name to Pierre

Mua, no need to register just turn up. They are going out this thursday for an easy spin, about 1 hour at 24km/hr. Would suit a begineer. Leaving mother hubbards at 6.30.