Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody else finding it hard to walk these cold, icy days

• 05-01-2010 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭

Anybody else having difficulty walking when out and about during these cold and frosty days.

It takes me 5 to 10 minutes to walk to and from work (each way) on a good day. With the icy roads it could take me anything from 40 to 45 to 50 minutes to walk to work, and same again for coming home. My ankles are sore from walking so slow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Put on some gloves and just be ready to put your hands out in front of you. That's what I do. Can't be walking slow forever. Dam ice rinks that are our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

Yep! was in a horrible mood so went storming out of my house to go for a walk and clear my head, i walked for about 3 mins and next think i know im on my arse on the ice, it only fuelled my anger and as i got up i nearly fell again, as i continued to walk over the ice, needless to say my walk had the opposite effect :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

It is difficult enough and I have slipped once or twice.It does add on to my journey but it would't affect my journey so much as to make a 5 minute journey 45 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Nope my office is toasty warm and i'd almost prefer it to home sometimes. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Random wrote: »
    Put on some gloves and just be ready to put your hands out in front of you. That's what I do. Can't be walking slow forever. Dam ice rinks that are our country.

Nah falling on ice is like toast falling butter side down you always end up on your arse FACT!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I love laughing at people who fall over. It is great and never happens to me. They always end up with wet patches on their asses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

As I was getting off the bus yesterday some guy fell for what seemed like an eternity. He almost balanced himself about 5 or 6 times and just when he thought he was ok, smack. It was like when a skateboards rolls from under your feet and you're horizontal in less than a millisecond.

It was fucking hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I keep losing traction and having to do the hand-flail dance to stay upright.

I have no dignity left after two days back in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I love laughing at people who fall over. It is great and never happens to me. They always end up with wet patches on their asses.

I can predict you falling tomorrow or in the near future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i broke my bollix on new years night walking home with a pizza, i was starving and the pizza was ruined:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I feel like a fogey, takes me ages to walk to work. I hate that jolt that you get when you're about to slip! I think its safer to drive than walk these days!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Thread disappoints! 12 Posts so far and not a single sexual innuendo post about the thread title!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

token56 wrote: »
    I can predict you falling tomorrow or in the near future.
    I can predict this never happening ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm due back in work next week after 4 months off recovering from a bad break in my leg.

Had to venture out this week to see if I'm able for the 15 minute walk to the Luas (Would imagine it's going to be 30 minutes now due to my slow walking).

It actually seems retarded to be out trying to walk on ice after spending so long trying to mend the break - a break that was caused by me slipping on a wet surface.

Has to be done though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Just get good walking stick to lean on, and wear that hi-vis jacket/vest too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Another Thread of yet again, How the irish cannot cope with the snowy conditions...

My neighbour puts a pair of socks over his shoes when he goes out these days and not a bother on him to walk.. I would rather look like a tool with socks over my shoes than like a prat trying to keep my balance on the ice...Problem Solved..

For what it worth, We are going to see a whole load more winters like this so now is the time to sort out these teething problems..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

jimmyw wrote: »
    Just get good walking stick to lean on, and wear that hi-vis jacket/vest too.

Problem with sticks, they slip too :( I was walking along with a crutch and it slipped. Managed to recover it though. Only just!

Think I'm just going to have to salt the path ahead of me as I walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

o1s1n wrote: »
    I'm due back in work next week after 4 months off recovering from a bad break in my leg.

Had to venture out this week to see if I'm able for the 15 minute walk to the Luas (Would imagine it's going to be 30 minutes now due to my slow walking).

It actually seems retarded to be out trying to walk on ice after spending so long trying to mend the break - a break that was caused by me slipping on a wet surface.

Has to be done though :(

Just wrap some wire mesh around the souls of your shoes. Greatly improved grip on the snow. Sure, you'll look like an eejit, but it'll save you breaking your leg again. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I just slide everywhere, tis awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭1071823928

yup it takes me ages to walk to work now, i already fell so im going even slower now!! fell on my knees and hands though like a little kid!