Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else broke already?

• 04-01-2010 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

Got paid for this month waaay back in December..well the 21st but feels like ages away. Not gettin paid till the end of this month (6 weeks on one months wage)

Just checked my bank balance and holy sh!t i obviously had way too much fun over xmas. Im feckin smashed already. One of my new years resolutions was to be more careful with my money...err..thatll have to wait till next month so.

Anyone else stock piling tuna and pasta for the rest of the month??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

If i got 360K in the morning, i would be almost broke.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm getting paid on Friday! :pac:

I once had to eat ketchup though so I know how ya feel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Not anymore broke than usual. Spent a grand total of 84Eu over 3 weeks this Christmas.. It pays to visit home once in a while:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

I know how you feel, Im fookin smashed, me folks are just back from holliers and I dont have their wages either!!!!

Roll on the 23rd!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

This is what adverts.ie is for. Have a look around your room. Then sell most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I'm actually not bad, but there's still 3 weeks to go - ask me again in a few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

Roll on Thursday night! My wages are just gonna be covering my debt so I'm gonna be broke for another week at least! :-/ Spent 1200 out of 1500 (three weeks worth of wages) the day after I got paid. Never doing that again. I need a promotion. Had to eat a packet of rashers last night for dinner.

Rashers and Ketchup! FML. Although i must admit it was delish! Nyom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

nope because i can budget unlike the ****ers running this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Ridiculously broke. :mad:

On the plus side, I will lose a lot of weight this month from not being able to afford to buy nice things!

Have learned my lesson good and proper though! I am finally going to get my finances in order for ever! (No really, I mean it this time ... :o)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I got paid early for Christmas as well. Now I'm fecked :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I'm getting paid on Friday thank fu_ck!!
    I didn't do too badly as I gave up the drink in November, saved a LOT of money on that...which I then spent on a tv and PS3. Did I normally drink THAT much? No, but it helped me to get them.
    Still though...roll on Friday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm normally broke for the whole month of December and then grand in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

This is what adverts.ie is for. Have a look around your room. Then sell most of it.

LOL. I was going to do this very thing tonight but was too lazy to go to the shop to buy batteries for my camera. They say you've got a lot better chance of selling stuff with pics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not yet, but making month's end will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Andrew Flexing

check this out if you want to make the money you have go a bit further!

good luck man!

my URBAN EXPLORATION YouTube channel: https://www.facebook.com/ASMRurbanexploration/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

check this out if you want to make the money you have go a bit further!

good luck man!

Stop spamming your crap all over the site.
    Put a link to it in you sig and leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭laura29

anyone else really feelin the need to say fk the mortgage this month and headin for a winter sun deal to egypt :D , seriously its all i cn think about ! didnt get away last year and cant wait for this summer overpriced flights etc etc , ye i know abt the consequences of missing a payment but at this moment i really couldnt give a flyin fk wat the bank says , were so not livin in this country , am i mad !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

I just checked my boards username and password and it works with adverts.ie too. I think it's a sister site. Very handy. So if anyone is looking for some great bargains in amplifiers and speakers (and subwoofer) they'll be up in this site tomorrow. I only upgraded, so this gear is perfect. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If you can't afford to pay back the debt that you felt was alright to get yourself into, then you shouldn't be going on any holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Cant because im broke and was too busy enjoying myself over xmas to remember that i still had this months mortgage to pay on top of all the endless sambuca shots and €48 taxi rides home in the snow.

/ive no sympathy for myself either dont worry..i thoroughly enjoyed myself though..i think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

laura29 wrote: »
    anyone else really feelin the need to say fk the mortgage this month and headin for a winter sun deal to egypt :D , seriously its all i cn think about ! didnt get away last year and cant wait for this summer overpriced flights etc etc , ye i know abt the consequences of missing a payment but at this moment i really couldnt give a flyin fk wat the bank says , were so not livin in this country , am i mad !!

Not at all, sure we all feel that way lately.

But could you refrain from using text speak as it is against the forum rules.

Maybe have a read of the Charter at the top of the forum.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭caspa307

so who works for cpw in this thread??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

caspa307 wrote: »
    so who works for cpw in this thread??:D
    Who are they when theyre at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Paid weekly. Roll on Friday to top up the oul bank account.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Threads Merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Nope, I'm fine. I just worked out how much I'd need to get til the next payday and budgeted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Not totally broke yet, but cutting it quite close...roll on Thursday!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭laura29

If you can't afford to pay back the debt that you felt was alright to get yourself into, then you shouldn't be going on any holiday

what are you my bank manager ! always one isnt there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

I wish I had a job so I could be broke. Currently rolling in tax payer money and Tesco Value products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

If anybody is stuck with their credit card, ring up your credit card company and renegotiate with them. I did so this morning and they said that they will charge me 6.9% on the outstanding balance for the next 6 months rather than the current 16.9% which they are charging (I told them that a competitor was advertising a 0% rate for 6 months if I transferred).

You'd be foolish not to ring them up, or even move credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Yeah, I'm so broke. I owe the limit on my credit card too :(

C'mon, grant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Dionysus wrote: »
    If anybody is stuck with their credit card, ring up your credit card company and renegotiate with them. I did so this morning and they said that they will charge me 6.9% on the outstanding balance for the next 6 months rather than the current 16.9% which they are charging (I told them that a competitor was advertising a 0% rate for 6 months if I transferred).

You'd be foolish not to ring them up, or even move credit card.

I had mine set to always pay 20% of the outstanding balance each month which worked quite well. I changed it to 10% now because I'm earning fcuk all at the moment. Luckily I owe very little (~€250) on it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm so broke. I owe the limit on my credit card too :(

C'mon, grant.

if you waiting or relying on a grant dont think its to clear your credit card

Jesus i didnt get any grant,that makes me sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

I have to say this is the first year that I'm not totaly broke in January, I planned and bought all my Christmas pressies in the months leading up to Christmas and bough mos of the stuff online. Mostly went to peoples houses over the period and only made it to the pub twice so saved a bit there too as only have to bring offie drink to a house and wine for the hosts.
    Over all I'm pretty happy with my spending. Although I can completely understand others being smashed as its usually me this time of year.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭TheCelticWizard

I get paid for Janruary half way through December as well, great to get it then but always have it all spent by the 2nd week of Jan. It really sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭caspa307

anniehoo wrote: »
    Who are they when theyre at home?

carphone warehouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Get paid on Thursday but rent is due and heating. Have enough food stockpiled though.

Have a wedding in a few weeks though. Ouch!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

anniehoo wrote: »
    Got paid for this month waaay back in December..well the 21st but feels like ages away. Not gettin paid till the end of this month (6 weeks on one months wage)

Just checked my bank balance and holy sh!t i obviously had way too much fun over xmas. Im feckin smashed already. One of my new years resolutions was to be more careful with my money...err..thatll have to wait till next month so.

Anyone else stock piling tuna and pasta for the rest of the month??

T'is nothing... Last year HR they changed our paydays.... we used to get payed around the 25th of the current month we're working... got switched to a back month system... so we get payed around the 7th of the month after we worked....

last year that worked out as 8 weeks between paydays :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I too got paid early in December, but thanks to not blowing too much on Xmas pressies and lots of house parties I have just enough left to last til the end of the month and I still have a couple of hundres euro expenses to get next week.

I'm thinking of buying a new camera, or paying off more of my credit card.......Nah, new camera sounds more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I get paid two weeks on Friday and I have about 280 quid left with all my credit cards maxed out. I will go home this weekend and I know that there is a few quid waiting for me there which should help me through till next Monday. So yea I am pretty broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

if you waiting or relying on a grant dont think its to clear your credit card

Jesus i didnt get any grant,that makes me sad

I have money saved from working my ass off over the summer for my rent. That's in a credit union account and I don't touch it until I pay my rent every month. The credit card bill is mostly from living expenses at beginning of December when I wasn't working and had nowhere else to get money. My parents give me absolutely nothing. So, er, yeah. I do need a grant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The annual January influx of seasonal part-time prostitutes, who vanish from the streets on the last Thursday of the month.