Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

panic attack... im 40 in 23 hours....

• 04-01-2010 1:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

messjob... im in work later on... (2-12) shift... that means i turn forty the very second i clock out... (bday.. 5/01/70)... am actually panickin more about that fact than the fact i have been off since 23rd dec. and have to go in probably spend most of day 40-60ft up repairing cranes for welders.... hey it keeps me in work... etc....

anybody else turn 40 lately??? will my willy fall off and my arse explode?? heeeeellllpppp!!!! (oh yeah and no prty planned or anything... same auld ****e every year... everybody too skint after xmas... jaysus my 21st and 30t werent exactly anything to go back on.... but should i expect any major catastrophies???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Legally after 40, you have to start punctuating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Or give up on birthdays.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Shut up grandpa I'm trying to listen to my music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Go buy yourself a Porsche and have a affair.Seems the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I have a friend just like you .... but she's 26!!:eek:

I tell her every day she needs to cop on, youth is sooooo wasted on the young!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭xw2lj9uspm1eyh

Ah check list for mid life crisis

Honda Goldwing
    trendy clothes
    and a young woman's love preferable (18-21) who loves nothing more then shopping trips and surprise trips to Dubai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

flanum wrote: »
    messjob... im in work later on... (2-12) shift... that means i turn forty the very second i clock out... (bday.. 5/01/70)... am actually panickin more about that fact than the fact i have been off since 23rd dec. and have to go in probably spend most of day 40-60ft up repairing cranes for welders.... hey it keeps me in work... etc....

anybody else turn 40 lately??? will my willy fall off and my arse explode?? heeeeellllpppp!!!! (oh yeah and no prty planned or anything... same auld ****e every year... everybody too skint after xmas... jaysus my 21st and 30t werent exactly anything to go back on.... but should i expect any major catastrophies???

No.
    No and no.
    Depends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭Ridley

I hear there's a place in Switzerland for your problems...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Pingu-D

I had something similar when i turned 21.....then i was reminded age is only a number......that is until you score some 17 year old young wan and your mates rip the mick for months on end! :p

realistically its jus a number at the end of the day! but if you feel u want to indulge your mid life crisis, might i suggest splashing the cash and getting the audi r8....want that car so bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

All your preconceptions about turning forty are scientifically proven to be true. You are ****ed. This is the officially end of your youth. Now everyone will think of you as "middle-aged". Then when you're 60, you'll be ancient.

I'd make the best of these precious hours if I were you.

Happy birthday! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Haha, you're forty years old.

Not yet!

Hours more to go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Not yet!

Hours more to go...

:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Tbh, I'm worried that I've lived through a whole decade, jeez I'm getting old.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

between leap years time zones and polar shift, youre probably already 40.

Ha Ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

i was forty once...

then i woke up :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Have you prepared your will yet? IF not, sort that shít out asap :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

but should i expect any major catastrophies???

40 is nothing.

Think of all the the things you can still do with your life.

Hell, these guys are on their 70's and still raising hell ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

40 is the new 30 - you can panic in ten years time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

You're gonna be 50 in 10 years >_>

55 in 15 years and then you start being called a senior citizen for some things :eek: Now that is scary

You're gonna be 50 in 10 years >_>

55 in 15 years and then you start being called a senior citizen for some things :eek: Now that is scary

After that depressing post you will now have to throw him a party at your gaff to make up for your lack of empathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

If it's any consolation, I've heard time goes slower for older people. So the next 20 years will feel like 40. Loadsa time to do stuff. Or did I hear older people go slower as time goes by? Never mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm still getting used to 2010!

Anyone else born of the 70's find it scary to read that a person with XX/XX/7X is now 40! :eek: . Ah well I was born on the tale-end of the decade so I'm not *too* bad for now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Turning 40 is grand, didn't bother me in the least.

When I hit 41 I still wasn't bothered.

But when you hit 42, your "in your 40's" then and it pretty much hits home then.

So now I'm 43, turning 44 in March (march 9th if anyone wants to start saving) then I'll be considered to have reached my "mid-40's" :o (sucks eh!) and two years later I'll be in my "late 40's" :mad:

So you see, things start to happen really fast once you get over that 40-41 stage.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

If its any consolation, you have outlived most people in Swaziland, Angola, Zambia and Lesotho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Could be worse. You could be dead in 23 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Legally after 40, you have to start punctuating.

Note (as of yet) the lack of thanks for this, kids.

That said, I'm sure there are other avenues of smug, thanks-harvesting that may yet still have life in them.

Get to it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

anybody else turn 40 lately??? will my willy fall off and my arse explode?? heeeeellllpppp!!!!
    your willy will fall off if you have that affair with that 18 year old

regarding your other worries probably best to avoid that vindaloo for now

OP, Do you mind if we discuss this tomorrow in the "All things Retro" forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Happy Birthday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Happy birthday Flanum :)

anybody else turn 40 lately??? will my willy fall off and my arse explode??
    Is everything still entact? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

stovelid wrote: »
    Note (as of yet) the lack of thanks for this, kids.

That said, I'm sure there are other avenues of smug, thanks-harvesting that may yet still have life in them.

Get to it.

You're incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

well the day is over... no major panic... i broke me chair while tryin to put on my socks, went to a funeral, visited a few absent friends while at the freezing cemetry, went for civilized lunch.... then went to the pubs in home town.. playing 70's music on jukeboxes etc... tried to call ino every pub but wasnt fit for it.. hit bed then just woke up about an hour ago and found cheese and a beer in the fridge... it wasnt too much of a panic of a day at all..... these "landmark" or should i say "hallmark" days are a load of ****e... same as any other day... but thanks for all the advice everyone.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

it would probably be better if ye could move this to beer-guts and receding hairlines. .. forum..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Once you hit 40 you can never trust a fart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Turning 40 is grand, didn't bother me in the least.

When I hit 41 I still wasn't bothered.

But when you hit 42, your "in your 40's" then and it pretty much hits home then.

So now I'm 43, turning 44 in March (march 9th if anyone wants to start saving) then I'll be considered to have reached my "mid-40's" :o (sucks eh!) and two years later I'll be in my "late 40's" :mad:

So you see, things start to happen really fast once you get over that 40-41 stage.

So once you hit 40 it all starts to go downhill......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Have a few kids, and suddenly you'll realise you're almost 60 when you get a chance to think for yourself again.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I heard that after 40 you have to give up Boards.ie . . . .