Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool dance scene

• 04-01-2010 1:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭

I was over in liverpool for new years and had a great time i am a big fan of dance music like commercial stuff though!

club modo or club mood were the 2 best nightclubs anyway was just wondering is there anywhere in dublin that has a similar scene to liverpool as far as music?

i go to base bar / tripod / barcode on a sunday but it just isnt the same

they seem to be miles ahead of us as far as clothes and music!

anyone like to share the experiences or has anyone got a definitive playlist of dance music with good mixs that might be typical to what i would of heard in liverpool + how do djs find the sick mixs of pop songs is it just hours of viewing facebook? beatport? this forum etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Looks like you're going to the wrong clubs for dance. Clubs that play decent dance are Crawdaddy (although not so much anymore), The Button Factory (On a Thursday or Saturday), Andrew's Lane (Tuesday or Thursday), Spy/Wax (especially on a Wednesday), ThinkTank, and Kennedy's. Might be a few more too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

i thought the think tank was gone to ****e now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Havn't been in ages, but AFAIK it still runs a couple of dance nights, Tuesday at least I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭darcy07

cheers for the replys lads of the above clubs u have mentioned they are mainly weekday clubs for students more of a weekend man myself and my experience of the above is that they arent that busy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Couldn't really tell you what the scouse dance scene is like thesedays but certainly in the 90's it was rocking with the legendary Quadrant Park in the early 1990's http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92FN2zie7KM and of course the legendary Cream which subsequently followed (also Garlands as well which i believe still stage events)

Manchester and Leeds are highly recommended for club nights, if you need any info on either of those citys i can help you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Isn't there a Scouse House genre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

darcy07 wrote: »
    cheers for the replys lads of the above clubs u have mentioned they are mainly weekday clubs for students more of a weekend man myself and my experience of the above is that they arent that busy

Look in the clubbing forum for gigs coming up, the quality of the music is always top notch depending on what you are looking for of course. Also don't go with the intention of pulling to a gig because more than likely you will fail leave that carry on until you get to Burger King.

If this doesn't suit you feel free to enjoy Barcode for the rest of you clubbing day.

Oh and don't forget Twisted Pepper also, In my opinion TP and Kennedys are by far the best spots for gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭akaspike

If your in Liverpool make your way to Garlands, It was a while since i was last there. We used to head to Garlands then the Gbar, but i was over last week and Garlands have stepped it up. It's a nut house on uncontrollable wheels. It's a crazy party place with no breaks. My straight mates thought they were back in Ibiza. What a show! Ah it made my weekend. Really miss liverpool now.
    It's not a place for the lads, head up in 2 or 3's and just like studio 54 leave your problems at the door. You'll come out wanting more. I think it runs to 7am but it's a water bar after 3!!
    Oh bring your dancing shoes and some make-up. It's a blast. Cant recommend it enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Garlands hold regular nights in Leeds as well http://www.skiddle.com/whats-on/Leeds/Mission/GARLANDS-Returns-to-Leeds/11383413/ £8 in and it goes on until 6am how good is that!!!

I'm gonna be in Liverpool in December to see The Farm in concert their 20th anniversary tour so will be looking to go clubbing afterwards so look forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

akaspike wrote: »
    If your in Liverpool make your way to Garlands, It was a while since i was last there. We used to head to Garlands then the Gbar, but i was over last week and Garlands have stepped it up. It's a nut house on uncontrollable wheels. It's a crazy party place with no breaks. My straight mates thought they were back in Ibiza. What a show! Ah it made my weekend. Really miss liverpool now.
    It's not a place for the lads, head up in 2 or 3's and just like studio 54 leave your problems at the door. You'll come out wanting more. I think it runs to 7am but it's a water bar after 3!!
    Oh bring your dancing shoes and some make-up. It's a blast. Cant recommend it enough.

that's one of the best club reviews i've read in a long time. maybe even ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

liverpool sounds sh!t

brianc27 wrote: »
    liverpool sounds sh!t

what can i say :eek::D

scousers_2.jpg

scousers_6.jpg
    scousers_10.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Last time I was in Liverpool was May last year. Was over for a stag, 3 of us snuck off to head to Cream around half 12. Sasha and Digweed were playing from 12-4 then another DJ till 6.

Yokes were 5 for a tenner.

Everyone was off their rocker.

Lights came on at 3am, everyone looking round going 'what the ****', coppers piled in.

Didn't see any of it myself, but apparently there was a bottle of GBH or GHB going round, and 4 or 5 people were puking blood and carted off to hospital.

The police had surrounded the whole club, were interviewing everyone 1 by 1, it took us till 4.30 to get out the other side of their cordon. 1 and a half hours, not nice at all.

Isolated incident I know, but it remains my memory of clubbing in Liverpool.

jaysus that's mad:eek:

thankfully my limited clubbing experiences in Liverpool for the msot part were good except i was ripped for coke one time my own fault really but how and ever....
    joker77 wrote: »
    Last time I was in Liverpool was May last year. Was over for a stag, 3 of us snuck off to head to Cream around half 12. Sasha and Digweed were playing from 12-4 then another DJ till 6.

Yokes were 5 for a tenner.

Everyone was off their rocker.

Lights came on at 3am, everyone looking round going 'what the ****', coppers piled in.

Didn't see any of it myself, but apparently there was a bottle of GBH or GHB going round, and 4 or 5 people were puking blood and carted off to hospital.

The police had surrounded the whole club, were interviewing everyone 1 by 1, it took us till 4.30 to get out the other side of their cordon. 1 and a half hours, not nice at all.

Isolated incident I know, but it remains my memory of clubbing in Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Mumu is the best night in Liverpool by a mile. It's now running in Silo (former home of Voodoo).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Does anyone here actually have the low-down on UK licencing laws?

With that 24 hour drinking which came in a few years back, why is it that clubs cant run in similar fashion to those in Berlin? One of ye mentioned that one Liverpool club stayed open until 7am but was a non-alcohol bar from 3am onwards....