Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lingerie - Who buys Him or Her and can guys buy what women want ??

• 04-01-2010 12:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭

I am a modern guy but one thing I've never got into is the whole underwear shopping thing.

On TV or if you see the MD of Anne Summers interviewed (or indeed any mainstream lingerie shop) they all say that they have lots of male customers.( I cant think why unless they are shopping for themselves)

Anne Summers is an anomalie and is more of a high street novelty store but its a claim made by some of the high street stores too.

I have bought clothes for women as gifts etc but not lingerie.I cant see myself popping into Debenhams and flicking thru ranges and asking the assistant for help. Funnily enough, I cant buy underwear for me when I am at a stand and I see women rummaging thru the ranges - dead pervy I think.

So I will throw it open.The technology looses me and its ever so technical. Any successful purchases ,absolute disasters disasters or pleasant surprises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

There is a difference between women's underwear and Lingerie.

They ave pretty different functions even tought they cover the same parts of a woman's form.

You'd be better of going to a proper lingerie store like La Senza or into Ms Fantisa's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I'd love if a guy bought me lingerie :) Ann Summers does actually do some nice bits, but they're fairly overpriced.

Lots of guys buy lingerie for their partners - and lots of guys do buy it for themselves :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

shellyboo wrote: »
    and lots of guys do buy it for themselves :P

I knew it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Thaedydal wrote: »
    There is a difference between women's underwear and Lingerie.

As Thaedydal said underwear and lingerie are very different. I've never had a boyfriend buy either for me, I've always been the one to buy anything like that.

It would be nice though to be surprised with some lingerie, it's not difficult imo to walk in and go oh I like the look of that...I'll get her that, yep that size, there's the money, thank you bye now! Ta da easy! :p
    Ms Fantisa's.

Slightly off topic but oh never been there, where is it?! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

TBH I'd rather the guy didn't buy me lingerie, i'm fairly picky first off, and most of the time I need to try stuff on to see if it'll fit.
    Say a fitted babydoll or something like that - size 6 or 8 would do, except some of them expect you have no boobs if you're that size :rolleyes:

So I'd rather he either went shopping *with* me or didn't get buy me that stuff because I'd hate if he did and I couldn't wear/fit into it.
    I've bought different sizes in different things because some allow for hips and boobs and other's don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I can't believe that there are men who still havent found out that buying your partner something personal and sexy like this earns serious brownie points.
    For the uninatiated there are a few guidlines.
    1) The shop assistant IS your friend. Never ever be afraid to ask for help.
    2) Learn her sizes.
    3) See 2) - Cannot emphasise that enough.
    4) Buy sexy & sultry NOT slutty. If she wants to dress sluttishly then she'll buy the stuff that makes HER feel sexy. Ultimatly, if she feels sexy then you reap the benifits.

One of my most decadent pleasures is going with her to get corsets fitted. I sit back, relax with a coffee and watch as she gets fitted and laced into a varity of corsets by the shop owner till she (and I) find the perfect choice.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Jemmy wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but oh never been there, where is it?! :D

It's an adult boutique at the back of powerscourt shopping center on south williams street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

It's an adult boutique at the back of powerscourt shopping center on south williams street.

Thanks, may have to call in there next time I'm in town! ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Have gone lingerie shopping with the missus but she'd prefer to pick something out herself, thats fine by me as i wouldnt want to buy her something she may not like,or worse, fit into. Shopping together is fun though, although i prefer not to see her in it until the event itself lol but as was already said, once she feels sexy then you'll reap the benefits

krudler wrote: »
    . Shopping together is fun though,
    +1 it is and its a great way to spend time together - if you dont own a dog go shopping together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Cant do it tbh, I pretend to be liberal online but I gets the 'catholic guilt' just glancing at the mannaquins in the window.

Maybe if the GF came along..... and went in........by herself.....I might....I might.... be able to stand outside....across the street....and wait for her.

Cant we get this stuff online yet????? (in discrete packaging??)

PK2008 wrote: »
    Cant do it tbh, I pretend to be liberal online but I gets the 'catholic guilt' just glancing at the mannaquins in the window.

PK really - cmon man.

I am one of lifes innocents and my toes could even go beetroot. But shopping together even for ordinary stuff is really nice.

I regularily pat the mannaquins bums in Debenhams Blanch when passing;)

PK2008 wrote: »

Maybe if the GF came along..... and went in........by herself.....I might....I might.... be able to stand outside....across the street....and wait for her.

Cant we get this stuff online yet????? (in discrete packaging??)

Sexy things?? On the Internet?? Unheard of! :P

There are many, many, many lingerie websites. Oh so many.

There's really nothing to be embarrassed about though - the people who work in the sex/lingerie shop aren't going to be shocked by you buying underwear, and neither are the other people in the shop!

I had a great aul natter with the dude in Ann Summers today, didn't occur to me to be embarrassed. Place was full of lads and couples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

OldGoat wrote: »
    I can't believe that there are men who still havent found out that buying your partner something personal and sexy like this earns serious brownie points.
    For the uninatiated there are a few guidlines.
    1) The shop assistant IS your friend. Never ever be afraid to ask for help.
    2) Learn her sizes.
    3) See 2) - Cannot emphasise that enough.
    4) Buy sexy & sultry NOT slutty. If she wants to dress sluttishly then she'll buy the stuff that makes HER feel sexy. Ultimatly, if she feels sexy then you reap the benifits.
    All of this :D

I used to work in the Lingerie Dept. in a big, rather posh store. At Christmas and Valentines' Day the floor would get filled with lost looking male souls fervently hiding behind the racks of teddies, desperately hoping that no-one they knew would spot them. Invariably they would purchase something red, frilly and lace, and invariably we'd spend the following weeks doing returns on the majority of these purchases.

The cleverest (and unfortunately) rarest of these guys were the ones who came in, had a brief look, came over to one of us and shoved a piece of paper with his missus' sizes on it into our hands and said "help me!".

It's incredibly sexy to go shopping for lingerie with a guy, he can tell you what he likes, you can show him what you like, much innuendo and flirting follows, it's hours of foreplay before you've even taken your coat off!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

out of curiosity.
    Would the style of under garmets not be dpicted bye what kinda girl she is personality and stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

g'em wrote: »

It's incredibly sexy to go shopping for lingerie with a guy, he can tell you what he likes, you can show him what you like, much innuendo and flirting follows, it's hours of foreplay before you've even taken your coat off!!

i actually never thought of it this way. I have bought stuff for the OH before in shops like BT/Marks/Debenhams etc. We have been through the underwear dept and she would point out things that she likes and i would point out things that i like. Then with that info in mind for a b-day or crimbo i would go and get it, maybe not exactly what she pointed out but something along those lines. TBH i have no problem in asking for help. once in Italy i bought the OH stuff and didnt know the cup size in the end i just had to point to her chest and say about the same as yours, she took it in good humour, she must have seen loads of guys like me in there before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Bingo!

I have never or would never buy lingerie for a partner,unless she was there to pick it out or to show me what she liked beforehand,its a feckin disaster waiting to happen.

Her - thats the wrong size,do you wish I was that thin or something you insensitive clod.

Me - bollix.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

funnily enough, i'd feel awkward shopping with a man for my lingerie

i'd keep thinking the shop assistants were imagining us having sex

weird i know, i think about these things too much!

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Bingo!

I have never or would never buy lingerie for a partner,unless she was there to pick it out or to show me what she liked beforehand,its a feckin disaster waiting to happen.

Her - thats the wrong size,do you wish I was that thin or something you insensitive clod.

Me - bollix.

:(

i dunno man id risk buying her lingerau, if i was in a reletionship I have good taste or so I've been told.... Id go rumaging through her coloths and getting sise's. and stuff and undies and bras hopefully and take notes and then go forth and spend some money...

I dont think it would bother me that much.
    and if she started giving me crap cause i got the wrong sise id change them and go bye my self soemthing nice. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I have always bought my women lingerie. I have gotton to know her likes by what she says. I have also found out that she sometimes likes them a bit racer than she pretends. I do not understand why she just does not say as her pleasure is my pleasure.

A site I have started using and it can be used at home is

lovehoney.

Google it you will find it. They deliver to ireland and there quality is good.

I have shopped in anne summers in the past though I am not confident about myself and it shows when I am talking.

The good thing about logging onto sites is you can ask questions like

What would you buy.......

There is also sections of the good sites which let you discover your womens shape. I am lucky that I always bought the stuff that suited her shape but for those who are not lucky this is a handy tool.

A little tip I also figured is to cut the tags completly off the underware. Why? Over time they change size and if they can bigger they dont remember the size they are in and this hopefully increases there confidence in themselves as they only know if it fits or not but not the size. As you lads know if a women feels confident in what she is wearing it makes her very apealing.

However this is a dangerous strategy with your 100 euro underware so you migh like to check it fits before doing this....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Myself and the GF did an experiement about a year ago. We were heading off for a weekend, so she was to buy lingerie for one night and me for one night (for her!) Lets say her choice was classy and mine was on the slutty end of what a pornstar would wear a good lesson though :)

out of curiosity.
    Would the style of under garmets not be dpicted bye what kinda girl she is personality and stuff?
    Oh absolutely, but there are a few tried and tested styles that the majority (not all, but most) women will like and feel comfortable in.

Black is good. Silk is brilliant - it skims rather than clings as man-made fabrics have a tendency to do. It feels better for the wearer and the admirer too ;) The key to great lingerie is feeling comfortable in it - if she feels over-exposed/ squeezed into it she won't feel comfortable, if she's not comfortable she won't feel confident, if she's not confident sexeh time will suffer.

French knickers are a winner for ALL bums - they show enough to be incredibly sexy but cover up enough to make the wearer feel great. Thongs are only for the youngest, pertest, airbrushed bums (unless you know beforehand that she favours them).

Underwired balconette bras are the French knicker equivalent in bras - extremely comfy, they push and hoist in just the right way - big boobs will stay controlled and in good shape, small boobs will get a nice boost and create cleavage where there were only little mounds previously, and average sized bewbs will look extra fabulous.

Non-underwired and unsupported (non-padded) bra's can be hit and miss - it's generally only the perkiest of boobs that can carry these off, so if your gf is over 25 gravity has probably already started having its wicked way. Give us a bra we can be proud to show off the laydees in.

If your lady is a little self-conscious about her tummy a corset or something with gentle boning in it will make her feel fab - be careful of the ones that stop in the midrif though, high risk of muffin-top. Something that has suspender attachments on the bottom will be long enough to cover the whole torso and gives the extra option of adding hose. Alternatively a babydoll will cover up a multitude of self-conscious bits but feels fantastically sensual on.

Suspenders are a funny one though - generally only the sleekest legs can wear them, otherwise you end up with thigh-muffin-top, quite possibly the most disconcerting sight a woman can see on her own body :o Avoid them until you know her exact size/ preference.

Do your homework, find out her size, go-online shopping together to find out what she likes/ doesn't like and then go for it :)
    sam34 wrote: »
    funnily enough, i'd feel awkward shopping with a man for my lingerie

i'd keep thinking the shop assistants were imagining us having sex
    They don't, honestly - it's work at the end of the day, and more often than not you're thinking about your lunch break/ the new pair of shoes that you want to buy with your staff discount/ what your plans are for the weekend - when you're surrounded by sexy lingerie all day it tends to take the thoughts of sex right out of your head and you don't pay more than a passing glance at the couples coming in to buy stuff :)

Oh absolutely, but there are a few tried and tested styles that the majority (not all, but most) women will like and feel comfortable in.

Black and is good. Silk is brilliant - it skims rather than clings as man-made fabrics have a tendency to do. It feels better for the wearer and the admirer too ;) The key to great lingerie is feeling comfortable in it - if she feels over-exposed/ squeezed into it she won't feel comfortable, if she's not comfortable she won't feel confident, if she's not confident sexeh time will suffer.

French knickers are a winner for ALL bums - they show enough to be incredibly sexy but cover up enough to make the wearer feel great. Things are only for the youngest, pertest, airbrushed bums (unless you know beforehand that she favours them).

Underwired balconette bras are the French knicker equivalent in bras - extremely comfy, they push and hoist in just the right way - big boobs will stay controlled and in good shape, small boobs will get a nice boost and create cleavage where there were only little mounds previously, and average sized bewbs will look extra fabulous.

Non-underwired and unsupported (non-padded) bra's can be hit and miss - it's generally only the perkiest of boobs that can carry these off, so if your gf is over 25 gravity has probably already started having its wicked way. Give us a bra we can be proud to show off the laydees in.

If your lady is a little self-conscious about her tummy a corset or something with gentle boning in it will make her feel fab - be careful of the ones that stop in the midrif though, high risk of muffin-top. Something that has suspender attachments on the bottom will be long enough to cover the whole torso and gives the extra option of adding hose. Alternatively a babydoll will cover up a multitude of self-conscious bits but feels fantastically sensual on.

Suspenders are a funny one though - generally only the sleekest legs can wear them, otherwise you end up with thigh-muffin-top, quite possibly the most disconcerting sight a woman can see on her own body :o Avoid them until you know her exact size/ preference.

Do your homework, find out her size, go-online shopping together to find out what she likes/ doesn't like and then go for it :)

They don't, honestly - it's work at the end of the day, and more often than not you're thinking about your lunch break/ the new pair of shoes that you want to buy with your staff discount/ what your plans are for the weekend - when you're surrounded by sexy lingerie all day it tends to take the thoughts of sex right out of your head and you don't pay more than a passing glance at the couples coming in to buy stuff :)

This is very good information :D, tho i think it says something about a mans observent skills that he cant pick out some nice undies with out making a complete hash of it.

you just have to look at what she wears most of the time and go well hmmm some thing in that stylle exept is way much nicer....

Its dead complicated really people are only pretending its easy - got lost on the muffin tops and was thinking chocolate/mars bar muffins and that was good.

Now Im hungry :pac:

CDfm wrote: »
    Its dead complicated really people are only pretending its easy - got lost on the muffin tops and was thinking chocolate/mars bar muffins and that was good.

Now Im hungry :pac:

:pac: hahahah man that just made me laugh :D

Was in M&S yesterday to watch the carnage that ensued at the lingerie end of sale bargains. I am traumatised.

Visited La scala but the damage was done.Perfume shopping ugh.

Now shoe shopping thats safe, what could go wrong - well the cashier asked were they for me:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

I've done this once myself. Online. I knew what size waist she was, and asked her her bra size. She got a little suspicious after that as to what I was up to, but wasn't expecting this.

Bought through Amazon. I picked something that I thought she'd like, colour and style, and that I thought would look really sexy on her. I think she liked them when she got them.

Shame we broke up about 2 weeks after that. I never got to see them on her.

I'd have no problem going into a shop though to do this. I'd just walk in, have a quick look around before grabbing the first shop assistant I saw.

Black is good. Silk is brilliant - it skims rather than clings as man-made fabrics have a tendency to do. It feels better for the wearer and the admirer too ;) The key to great lingerie is feeling comfortable in it - if she feels over-exposed/ squeezed into it she won't feel comfortable, if she's not comfortable she won't feel confident, if she's not confident sexeh time will suffer.

French knickers are a winner for ALL bums - they show enough to be incredibly sexy but cover up enough to make the wearer feel great. Thongs are only for the youngest, pertest, airbrushed bums (unless you know beforehand that she favours them).

Lol - good advice, but I wear all the things you said only slim/sleek/perky wimmins can wear... and I ain't any of those things :D

shellyboo wrote: »
    Lol - good advice, but I wear all the things you said only slim/sleek/perky wimmins can wear... and I ain't any of those things :D
    ah now, I never said that any woman can or can't or should or shouldn't wear anything, just what I've found the majority feel comfortable in.

If you're comfy and you feel good then the sky's the limit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I've always preferred to get my own undies as my size is a big problem when it comes to buying anything sexy.

I'm a 14, your classic hourglass, big boobs, small waist, marilyn monroe type and I've never found any undies that make me look good.

I'm sure they exist but I wouldnt be arsed paying top dollar for anything that the rest of the world doesnt get to see so its high street all the way for me and usually the only sexy undies they do are for the skinny girls. :(