Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who do ye think will win the National Football Leagues ?

• 03-01-2010 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

The leagues are back in action soon - February 6th and 7th ,
    any ideas on who might win each division ?
    Kerry could be slow starters in division one , and also may be tinkering about with selections in order to find a couple of suitable replacements for the lads they have lost , can Cork add the division one title to last years division two , Tyrone have the big teams at home and if they win their opening game against Derry in Celtic Park they could be the call .
    I'd go for Kildare to continue their progress under McGeaney in divison two and make the final at least , while division three looks ultra-competitive maybe Wexford or Sligo as Antrim may be hampered by St.Galls effort in the club championship .
    Limerick look the class team in division four and are hard to oppose .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

tatoo wrote: »
    I'd go for Kildare to continue their progress under McGeaney in divison two and make the final at least , while division three looks ultra-competitive maybe Wexford or Sligo as Antrim may be hampered by St.Galls effort in the club championship

I am not sure what Wexford will be like tbh :( Wallace and Colfer have retired, while Forde and Banville are out injured for the league campaign. Will have to wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Poor oul Mattie seems to be continually crocked :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

Kerry in recent times only seem to win the league in the year after they HAVENT won the All Ireland, so they may take it handy till later in the year.

Tyrone tend not to overdo it this time of year either.

Dublin are in utter schyte at the moment.

I go with Cork to take NFL1. Probably meeting Galway in the final

NFL2 I like Meath, with Armagh as runners up. I think Kildare may find life a bit harder now everyone knows what to expect from them.

NFL3 is a poor division, Antrim have the Galls lads missing, and the manager has said he will experiment a lot. Wexford have awful misfortune with injury. Fermanagh would be a more interesting proposition if Rory Gallagher was available for all games, but presumably he'll be left do his thing with St Galls for the first few games anyway. I think Sligo will beat Cavan in the final.

NFL4 you'd have to fancy Limerick. I think they'll meet Longford in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Waterford to spring a few surprises in Div 4. After reading Lawlors excellent book I'll be rooting for them even more than usual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Conditioned

Division 1
    Top Two - Cork and Tyrone
    Relegated - Mayo and Monaghan

Divison 2
    Top Two - Kildare and Armagh
    Relegated - Laois and Westmeath

Divison 3
    Top Two - Fermanagh and Antrim
    Relegated - Louth and Roscommon

Division 4
    Top Two - Limerick and Carlow

Outright winners in bold!!

I had posted before I read the posts and the point about St.Galls is something I hadn't considered but probably will be a factor.

Most of the teams in Division 3 seem to be on the slide apart from Fermanagh, Antrim and Sligo. Though there is always the chance that some of the other teams may pick up.

Divison 4 should be very tight at the top. Limerick will be strong favourites and I'm tipping Carlow for second place with Brendan Murphy and Tommy Walsh proping up the midfield. Though Leitrim, Longford and Wicklow and Clare will all challenge I think it'll largely depend on the hunger of the players and in Clares case how Kilmurry-Ibrickane get on in the club championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

.... and in Clares case how Kilmurry-Ibrickane get on in the club championship.

Same man manages both teams, Michael McDermott. I would expect him to make the K-I players available for all Clare's NFL games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭KevinK

Tyrone
    Kildare
    Sligo
    Limerick

telecaster wrote: »
    Same man manages both teams, Michael McDermott. I would expect him to make the K-I players available for all Clare's NFL games.

He's certainly in a better position than he could have been given that the choice is his, but he may decide that All-Ireland glory at club level should take priority as sucess here will have a greater knock on effect long term on the inter county than winning Division 4 this year. He's also in his first year which allows him to take this gamble.

telecaster wrote: »

Kilmurry have to beat the London champions ( Tir Chonaill Gaels ) in Ruislip on the 24th of this month , I'm told the London lads will be no pushover .

Further to the above posts ;
    Kilmurry scraped over TCG's in what must have been one of the worst televised football games ever ,
    and Clare will be without the Kilmurry players for the first couple of league games .

Anyone with any brainwaves re the league winners ( starting Saturday night ) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭TheWestsAwake

Division 1
    Top Two - Cork and Tyrone
    Relegated - Mayo and Monaghan

Divison 2
    Top Two - Kildare and Armagh
    Relegated - Laois and Westmeath

Divison 3
    Top Two - Fermanagh and Antrim
    Relegated - Louth and Roscommon

Division 4
    Top Two - Limerick and Carlow

Outright winners in bold!!

Well if Mayo go down it will be their first time outside the top division since 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Divison 4 should be very tight at the top. Limerick will be strong favourites and I'm tipping Carlow for second place with Brendan Murphy and Tommy Walsh proping up the midfield. Though Leitrim, Longford and Wicklow and Clare will all challenge I think it'll largely depend on the hunger of the players and in Clares case how Kilmurry-Ibrickane get on in the club championship.

I hope you are right and we do get promoted. But Tommy Walsh is not playing for Carlow this year thats for sure. Looks like he won't play with anyone in the league, and after that its either gonna be for Wicklow again or else not play at all.

We have Brendan Murphy who even at just 20 is twice the player of Walsh, a great talent. And another young guy Sean Gannon from Eire Og partners him at mf. Reckon they will be the best centrefield duo in Div 4. Destroyed Wicklows mf in O'Byrne Shield game 2 weeks ago.
    I'd be very confident of getting promotion...once we win the game v Longford on Sunday. Win that we'll be flying, lose it and the usual Carlow problem will kick in where half the panel is gone by the 3rd or 4th game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

Cork
    Kildare
    Roscommon
    Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

Division 1
    Cork

Divison 2
    Kildare

Divison 3
    Fermanagh or Cavan