Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coloured lights on cars

• 03-01-2010 1:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

Right so i got stopped the other night for having blue lights on the front of my car and informed that they're illegal for all non emergency services vehicles. Fair enough i guess. But what im wondering is whats the legality of other colours such as green, yellow etc?? Whats the legislation on these kind of things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Testament1 wrote: »
    Right so i got stopped the other night for having blue lights on the front of my car and informed that they're illegal for all non emergency services vehicles. Fair enough i guess. But what im wondering is whats the legality of other colours such as green, yellow etc?? Whats the legislation on these kind of things?

Totally illegal.

Section 41Road Traffic (Lighting of vehicle) Regulations 1963.

41. (1) (a) A vehicle shall not be equipped with lighting which when lit shows any light to the front of the vehicle except a white or yellow light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Is it a fine or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

jackncoke wrote: »
    Is it a fine or what?

Yep. Summons to court. General penalty under 102 applies I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Why would you have blue lights on your car?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Were they bluebulbs or flashing blue lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

antodeco wrote: »
    Were they bluebulbs or flashing blue lights?

Here by the looks of it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63408160#post63408160

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Blue ring on the outside of a fog light. Not flashing either. Yep thats the one in the post above. They aren't even on half the time so bad luck havin em on that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Looks like you were just unlucky, if you didnt get stopped then you would have at some stage.
    I wonder about all the other cars, vans & trucks on the road that have blue lights, leds on the them? Are they all getting pulled over the Guards? Or is it just oh here comes a modified car lets pull them over and give them grief?

I think its also the luck of the draw when it comes to what guards are around aswell because iv driven past a fair few guards around the town with them on before and nothing was ever said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Er, bad luck doesn't have anything to do with it. They're illegal - get rid of them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

Blue ring on the outside of a fog light. Not flashing either. Yep thats the one in the post above. They aren't even on half the time so bad luck havin em on that night!

So did they issue you a fine or take your details to send a court summons? Or did they just say turn them off they're illegal?

cson wrote: »
    Er, bad luck doesn't have anything to do with it. They're illegal - get rid of them ;)

Well theres a white light selectable on them aswel so it was bad luck i had it onto blue that night;)

The-Game wrote: »
    So did they issue you a fine or take your details to send a court summons? Or did they just say turn them off they're illegal?

Ya im going to be summonsed for the lights and the exhaust. Overall and expensive trip to town for food!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

Ya im going to be summonsed for the lights and the exhaust. Overall and expensive trip to town for food!:rolleyes:

whats wrong with the exhaust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I know you got them cause they're cool and all, but having blue lights in front is really bad, particularly if you can set them to flash.
    Not very likely you'd get mistaken for garda in that car, but still.
    /old fart speech :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

No harm to see the cops pulling for those ridiculous add-ons.

I see some goons around here that can be heard coming a mile away, yokes that have less to do with performance and more to do with a "look at me" mentality, and every inch of them plastered with for sale signs.

/rant

Magnus wrote: »
    I know you got them cause they're cool and all, but having blue lights in front is really bad, particularly if you can set them to flash.
    Not very likely you'd get mistaken for garda in that car, but still.
    /old fart speech :)

Well i've already said that they can't be set to flash blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I have white LED sidelights on the car and they have a blue-ish tint. Look good!

Why have flashing lights at all though? I don't get it.

No harm to see the cops pulling for those ridiculous add-ons.

I see some goons around here that can be heard coming a mile away, yokes that have less to do with performance and more to do with a "look at me" mentality, and every inch of them plastered with for sale signs.

/rant

No for sale signs anywhere on my Levin and since its a full system upgrade from the manifold back there is a good difference in performance between whats on it now and what comes as standard.

Why have flashing lights at all though? I don't get it.

Again I've already said they're not flashing lights.

Sorry, I'm not trying to pick on you here-but you've already said they can be set to flash: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63408160&postcount=1379

Not a nice thing to get pulled-but why was your exhaust flagged, noise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

I don't get why people have these blue lights on their cars at all, every time I see them I just think "trying to look like the gardai, what a tool".

Sorry, I'm not trying to pick on you here-but you've already said they can be set to flash: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63408160&postcount=1379

Not a nice thing to get pulled-but why was your exhaust flagged, noise?

Yes but they flash through 5 or 6 colours on a loop they wont flash on just one. And i've never had them flashing on the road just to clarify. Yep got pulled for the noise, didnt think the noise was that bad myself considering that i do have a silencer in the back section of the pipe.

ContyHooks wrote: »
    I don't get why people have these blue lights on their cars at all, every time I see them I just think "trying to look like the gardai, what a tool".

Not trying to be smart but anyone that mistakes my car for a garda car is a tool!

Seems pointless to me to festoon a car with lights, but if it doesn't break the law or impact on road safety, each to their own. I think in fairness that you were well aware of the possibility of attracting police attention though :)

I'd find a noisy exhaust far more of an annoyance personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

Not trying to be smart but anyone that mistakes my car for a garda car is a tool!

Yes and nobody does, they just think the owner of the car is a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

One rule for you but another rule for truck drivers.

They have blue lights on their trucks and of late I have seen many commercial vehicles with flashing RED LED's. They are also illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,391 ✭✭✭markpb

Berty wrote: »
    I have seen many commerical vehicles with flashing RED LED's.

Bikes? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

Ive seen Bikes even with Blue LEDs visible on the front, they dont flash but theyre still there.

Testament1
    Unfortunate for you being pulled up on both, in fairness ive seen pics of your car and its not as if it would be mistaken for a garda car. If you were flashing them on and off fair enough you would expect to be pulled up. I reckon it would depend on the gard on the day to actually do you for the blue lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I can see why they do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

What is the deal with trucks actually, they're like Christmas trees drivin around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Truckers and skangers - the downside of the drop in cost of LEDs