Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advice please

• 02-01-2010 1:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭

At the minute i have a 1.4 focus, i love her but think it's time for a change.. dream car would be a sylvia but thats not very realistic at the moment, im a poor student and need something thats handy enough to run but still id like something a bit more fun.

Any suggestions?

Was thinking maybe a corolla but everyone has them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,927 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Kinda tough to suggest without more details..

The 1.4 focus is a grand car but a bit slow IMO.
    I had a 1.6 Ti-Vct one for a while, Great car and nippy enough. Very good handling, best in its class.

What do you think about integras?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭XXNikXX

I'm 20 and i'm lookin at about 3-4 grand plus whatever i get for my own, the less i spend the better so i'd say the max altogether would be about 6..

Do a good bit of drivin so the cheaper on petrol the better.

I'd like something a bit different, not a golf, civic etc..

Yeah the integras are nice, i'm not gonna lie and pretend i know much about them though. Are they expensive to run?

Any suggestions welcome :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

From experience I have found the Focus to have the best handling of any hatchback car I have driven, the brakes are top notch too. OK the 1.4 is a poor performer, so why not look at a 1.6 Focus.
    When I was at the stage of being fed up with medium sized hatch backs I bought an older BMW 316i (1994 Corolla XLi to a 1992 BMW)

I do love the focus, never had one bit of bother with her, looks well, drives well, the only issue i've had is the fact that she's too slow...

Wouldn't go for another one simply because it's time for a change..

Thinking the integra could be a nice one, go for a 1.6 maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

XXNikXX wrote: »
    Thinking the integra could be a nice one, go for a 1.6 maybe?
    1.6 Integra's are supposed to be quick enough, never been in one though. Can't imagine it'd be too heavy on juice either.

I have a 1.8 Integra and its brutal on petrol but the 1.6 aint a VTEC.

What about a mk4 Golf GTI, shouldn't be too hard to insure seen as you're a girl. They're fairly common but it'd be a nice step up from the Focus.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200936195112862

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200937195157492

Or a 147?

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200952196302956

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

driving a 147 at the moment myself and its a lovely car, can move when you want it to as well...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/147/NCT-04%232/200940195392607/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/147/1.6,/200943195622195/advert?channel=CARS

although they always look better in red imo!...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/147/1.6-LUSS/200939195310135/advert?channel=CARS

or what about an astra? this add is old but they might still have it....

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Astra/COUPE-2./200947195924732/advert?channel=CARS

anyway, happy hunting!

Wouldn't be gone on the golf's to be honest and there's too many of them around.. Same with the astra's, they're nice but just don't do it 4 me..

The 147 tho... very impressed :) wouldn't have thought to look at one but they're actually a smashin lookin car, espescially in the white..

So on my shopping list (so far) i have...
    alfa romeo 147
    integra
    a levin maybe?

Thanks for all the suggestions, any others are more than welcome :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 yess-man

bmw 330d :) 204bhp not heavy on juice,looking gooood

yess-man wrote: »
    bmw 330d :) 204bhp not heavy on juice,looking gooood
    3.0L, tax would be 1200 or something like that and the insurance would be huge too.

I think the white Alfa is a lovely looking car too, tis very different and girly too (in a good way).

I've always hated Levin's, a friend had a bzr and it was the loudest thing i've ever heard and it wasn't fast at all. It sounded fast though!!!

I reckon the 147 would be your best bet, you'd get a fairly new one for 6k, nicely specced too.

Have to say i agree, the 147 seems like a good option. They look well and it's something a bit different too. There's somethng i like about the integra aswel though..

Guess it's just a case of keep looking, and when i find the car for me i'll know.. plus i have to try and get rid of my own yoke :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 yess-man

ye tax is 13hundred but i like when the space under the bonet is filled up :) insurance 700, not too bad. alfa is a nice car and looks diferent if it was a rear wheel drive maybe i would take a look.good luck

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Ferris

At the minute i have a 1.4 focus, i love her but think it's time for a change.. dream car would be a sylvia but thats not very realistic at the moment, im a poor student and need something thats handy enough to run but still id like something a bit more fun.

Any suggestions?

Just get a 200sx S14. I got a '98 one for 3k and its a great car to drive.

Ferris wrote: »
    Just get a 200sx S14. I got a '98 one for 3k and its a great car to drive.

Yeah buying it would be no problem but then i have to run it... do a good bit of driving and just don't think i could afford it. :(

If you're just going for looks and don't really care about performance, pretty much all the Jap coupes would be counted out. I even think the Integra's are a bit boring looking in the 1.6 variant, the Type R's look a lot better.

Have you considered a Hyundai Coupe?

It's not that i don't care about performance at all but i do need to be able to afford it. I just want something with more go than what i have and that i like the look of too.

A hyundai coupe wouldn't do it though, the look of them just dosen't appeal to me in the slightest.

I'm too picky i know....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭Testament1

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    I even think the Integra's are a bit boring looking in the 1.6 variant, the Type R's look a lot better.

Completely right there but trying to insure the Type R can be a bit of a nightmare! An SiR Integra maybe? Nothing slow about them and much more insurable than a Type R. All they need is the high spoiler from the Type R.

When I was getting my Teg insured, the SiR is import only so that jacks the price up a fair bit, the Euro model Teg's are far far easier to insure, what about this...

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=120363&cpage=4#poststart

I can vouch that its a very well kept car. It'd be about the same to insure as an Imported SiR. And they aint that costly to run. You also get the looks and Recaro interior.

Now that's the kind of car i would like to drive.. I don't know much about them though and not gonna pretend that i do, when i see the whole type r thing i just think tax, insurance and get a bit worried..

this is the kinda one i was thinkin of goin for..

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Integra/1.6-16-V/200851191233161/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

Now that's the kind of car i would like to drive.. I don't know much about them though and not gonna pretend that i do, when i see the whole type r thing i just think tax, insurance and get a bit worried..

this is the kinda one i was thinkin of goin for..

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Integra/1.6-16-V/200851191233161/advert?channel=CARS

That garage seem to have a few integras on their hands: http://www.finemotors.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=search

Lovely lookin cars alright.

TheColl wrote: »
    That garage seem to have a few integras on their hands: http://www.finemotors.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=search

Lovely lookin cars alright.
    The SIR they have for sale looks very nice, has the Type R Spoiler too

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

go for the rwd nissan.

i had a accord sir-t. 2 litre, comfy, look nice and vtec there when you wanna mess around.

have a r33 turbo skyline now and honest to god its no worse than the vtec was.

The SIR-T's are bloody heavy on juice though.

And Tax...and they're import only so Insurance is a pain too

EDIT, just notice that you were saying go for the 200sx...all the same applies to that also pretty much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

Hey just wondering would you consider a Mit. FTO......cousin had one till a few weeks ago.........I know there aging a bit but still a beauty of a car!!;) plus there not the most expensive to buy right now.....leaving you extra money for insurance!:D Its a 2.0 ltr engine or a smaller 1.8.....both petrol of course but he reckoned he got 40 ish mpg from his two in the last two years....there not a common car just be careful to look for one with a full history!

http://www.fto-ireland.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9919

Have look at this to get an idea of what they look like......that in particular is not a great motor but you'll find better with a quick search around!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Check Insurance before you buy and of coarse fuel consumption, Insurance companies don't like Hondas very much either! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭YipYipU

<Mod snip - No advertising here>

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭YipYipU

Soz, my bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

YipYipU wrote: »
    Soz, my bad.

pm the OP with a link to the Advert if you want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭miss enzo

Any suggestions?

Not trying to be a spoil sport here or anything but do you think it smart to go from a low performance car to a RWD (probably turbo) car??? I dont know you or you driving experience but to me that rings alarm bells.... maybe get a more powerful FWD/4WD first???

Hey just wondering would you consider a Mit. FTO......cousin had one till a few weeks ago.........I know there aging a bit but still a beauty of a car!!;) plus there not the most expensive to buy right now.....leaving you extra money for insurance!:D Its a 2.0 ltr engine or a smaller 1.8.....both petrol of course but he reckoned he got 40 ish mpg from his two in the last two years....there not a common car just be careful to look for one with a full history!

http://www.fto-ireland.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9919

Have look at this to get an idea of what they look like......that in particular is not a great motor but you'll find better with a quick search around!;)

not a common car at all... i shud know... i have one!!! haha!! love my car but they are very hard to insure!! I know lads in their 30's paying well more than what I pay... I have mine 3 years, 5yrs NCB (+2yrs named driving experience) 25yrs old and no other company in ireland will even quote me on the car except quinn... luckily im not being screwed too much with them, cause id have no other option but to stay with them...

I get about 35 MPG in mine when i keep her in low revs..... in MIVEC its another story!!! The only problem.... and its not really a problem, is that mechanics dont know much about them and therefore dont like working on them, also parts are expensive. They might be cheap to buy at the mo but they are not to keep I have to get all my service parts from the UK.
    If you do decide to go for one... feel free to ask me anything you need to know...

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

^ her FTO is a real minter in fairness

If it was my money i'd look at getting a Type R Integra. 1.8, very easy to run. You won't have much trouble trying to insure it. It won't give you any trouble mechanically, it'll have more power than you could want coming from a focus. You'll sell it on very easily because they are a sought after car. If you do decide to go that way, bring someone who really knows them as there can be a lot of scrap out there after having the death.

The thing I stress about getting the 1.6 injection tegs is that nobody wants 'em so they are harder to sell on.

Another one would be the Celica VVTL-i although you will be doing well to find one within your budget. Might be a bit harder on petrol though than the Type R.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭kennethk