Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fashion faux pas?

• 31-12-2009 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭

I know it's not very €uro but I'm gonna hit the road in a few mins and to be honest it's fecking cold. Gonna don the old football socks over the black bibs. What do ye all think? Is wearing football socks over the lycra leggings a big no no? Me leggings are black and the socks are Tipperary blue and gold.

Regardless of yer answers I'm still gonna wear em. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Football socks OVER your tights....... really no words to say how I feel.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

coolbeans wrote: »
    I know it's not very €uro but I'm gonna hit the road in a few mins and to be honest it's fecking cold. Gonna don the old football socks over the black bibs. What do ye all think? Is wearing football socks over the lycra leggings a big no no? Me leggings are black and the socks are Tipperary blue and gold.

Regardless of yer answers I'm still gonna wear em. :D
    Doesn't bother me, but I'm a Fred anyway, and concern myself more with comfort and practicalities than appearance:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Uhm, put them under the tights?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

bcmf wrote: »
    Football socks OVER your tights....... really no words to say how I feel.
    how about "hungover"?

(just a guess)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Well they're bib shorts that are supplemented by Aldi layers to make them full length . No way I'll get sox under them. Looks like you'll have to disassociate yourselves from me lads. I'm moving to Dublin next week! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Do it. It will look amazing...just check out this specimen:

304345932_370b530a36.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Wait. Shorts and long socks? With exposed knees in between?

niceonetom wrote: »
    Wait. Shorts and long socks? With exposed knees in between?
    No, not that bad. I've layers under the bib shorts to make them full legth. Socks will be over said layers.

el tel wrote: »
    Do it. It will look amazing...just check out this specimen:

304345932_370b530a36.jpg?v=0

Nah, I've better legs than her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I've never ever suffered from cold shins on the bike.
    Quads, feet, yes. Shins. No.

May you get the beating you deserve for this.

If you can get those layers over your feet, you can get them over the socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

This thread needs an antidote

bettiniphoto_0027477_1_full.jpg

niceonetom wrote: »
    If you can get those layers over your feet, you can get them over the socks.

Too late, I'm gone. :p

Were you thinking of something like the guys here?
    635487744_3e9c0c14cb.jpg
    I am sure the Euro-officianados would approve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

coolbeans wrote: »
    Too late, I'm gone. :p
    you were 'gone' the min you said to yourself " yeah socks over tights. This looks ok"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Would love to see you wear tipp socks in Kilkenny. Has anyone informed the euro police yet?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

pics or it didnt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭estariol

pearl-9253-med.jpg

these in white for penance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

In cold dry weather I often wear long hiking socks under my tights.

Words alone cannot describe the horror of football socks over tights, but a picture helps...

nelson-muntz.gif

It's remarkably feckin difficult to take a pic when you're home alone but I endeavoured all the same. My shoes are black. I think I'm gonna regret this. :o Here you go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

It's the Tipp colours I've a problem with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Thumbs down, thumbs down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I think you look great. Keep it up.

Don't let 'em bully you Coolbeans - you are entitled to wear what you want, whatever they think;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

100395.JPG

Nice.

If ever this forum needed an anti-thanks button. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Are the socks covering your shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Please say you wearing more upper layers than that

sy wrote: »
    Are the socks covering your shoes!

Ah, but would that make it better or worse? We're all familiar with Belgian booties (aren't we?), so, are we witnessing the birth of something similar? Tipp Trews?

Obviously the answer is "no, we're witnessing a tragic cry for help from a deluded and misguided individual". But still, it's a question that needs answering I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

I think you've unwittingly started a new trend - it looks fabulous... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Let's not turn cycling from this:

Bennati_in_PhiladelphiaC.jpg

into this:

a_Sprint_Horse_Jockeys_at_Work.jpg

It could be worse

0803_Armstrong_Verbier_PhSpt.sm.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If you go fast enough op people won't notice, its an incentive to cycle faster.

you have no idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

All you now need is a pair of those tight late 80's early 90's O'Neills Gaa shorts to wear and your complete ...