Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Car Dealers

• 30-12-2009 9:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭

Just a little rant but maybe some car dealers watch this forum

I was led to believe that the Irish Car industry was in the Doldrums

Well I have been to several Dealerships recently looking to Buy a new Automatic Diesel Budget approx 30-35000 no trade in

To say the service I got was poor would be putting it mildly being left standing around was normal then when finally approached dealt with very poorly Product knowledge very poor and no attempt to make a sale maybe I look like someone who cant afford a new car or something also the range of cars available for test drives is appalling

I looked for a Toyota Prius cant be got waiting time at least 12 weeks Denis Mahony M50 worst treatment

Went to Bradys Navan Road to look at DSG Golf Diesel or Passat was treated very bad no interaction with customer product knowledge very poor

I am now seriously considering importing a Honda Accord CDTI Diesel Auto as I am fed up going around Irish Dealers to be treated like they were doing me a favour I looked at 2 in Northern Ireland and the Dealers were way more professional

This industry really needs to wake up and start to work to get customers

I am now going to spend outside Ireland even though I would love to spend here

Regrets
    myles:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Good for you. You'll probably get breakfast and coffee served to you in the showroom in the UK and even get a smile and some relevant info.

btw, +1 for Denis Mahony. Awful shower. Had a very bad experience there. Got the consumer agency on their asses.

Good luck with the new motor.

EDIT: - Don't forget about the 6 month old and/or mileage rule for importing otherwise you have to pay vat I think. There are very informative and exhaustive threads on here for you to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

mylesm wrote: »
    Just a little rant but maybe some car dealers watch this forum

I was led to believe that the Irish Car industry was in the Doldrums

Well I have been to several Dealerships recently looking to Buy a new Automatic Diesel Budget approx 30-35000 no trade in

To say the service I got was poor would be putting it mildly being left standing around was normal then when finally approached dealt with very poorly Product knowledge very poor and no attempt to make a sale maybe I look like someone who cant afford a new car or something also the range of cars available for test drives is appalling

I looked for a Toyota Prius cant be got waiting time at least 12 weeks Denis Mahony M50 worst treatment

Went to Bradys Navan Road to look at DSG Golf Diesel or Passat was treated very bad no interaction with customer product knowledge very poor

I am now seriously considering importing a Honda Accord CDTI Diesel Auto as I am fed up going around Irish Dealers to be treated like they were doing me a favour I looked at 2 in Northern Ireland and the Dealers were way more professional

This industry really needs to wake up and start to work to get customers

I am now going to spend outside Ireland even though I would love to spend here

Regrets
    myles:mad:

+1 agree with you 100%

Level of service is very poor here compared to UK or NI.

I would definately consider importing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mylesm

Thanks for heads up on mileage -6months I am watching that all right really almost made up my mind to import Honda Accord 2.2CDTI Auto

thx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Good dealerships do exist here, they're just a bit thin on the ground. Castle Subaru in Bray is one, but unfortunately Subaru don't yet have diesel automatics. I'd try a few more before giving up altogether. If you do go down the road of importing brand new from the UK then don't forget to specify km/h clocks when ordering.

On that point, I've had a very good experience with BMW Conlans in Rathangan. They come highly recommended from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Phil 5 bellies

Not surprised TBH, most dealers here for the last 10 years or so havent been actually selling cars, just taking orders as they come in.

Nowadays though the market will be cleaned of crap salesmen that cant talk someone into buying a car. :D

There'll be a return of GlennGary Glenn Ross type salesmen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭nightster1

Hi, Irish dealerships in general have uninterested staff. The staff can take orders only.They cannot sell. They are poor on product knowledge. I guess it comes from the top down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

I had a very pleasant experience with Bolands in Carlow. Couldn't be more helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

HB Dennis when Alfa/Fiat were terrible but found Airton in Tallaght very good. C&R Subaru in Clondalkin also are a super bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

Sheehys in Carlow, ask for Padraig. Very sound guy, won't muck about.

Also having dealt with Laharts in Kilkenny I found Ian there very nice to deal with. that's where I bought my new Skoda.

FM Autocentre on the wexford road in Carlow one guy called Edwin was very sound aswell.

In all of the above cases, I was brought in and sat down. Went through all the options, was offered tea/coffee etc.

I would have been in combats and runners with a hoody in most cases and I was treated the same as I have been when dressed up less casually.

Hope this helps, there are good dealers. Maybe not in Dublin.

Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Hi OP,
    I feel your frustration - will update my own thread in a moment, but I am trying to buy a brand new car (scrappage) and the problems I am having with dealers is huge.

Finally got to a price (we both said deal) was happy with - he was supposed to ring me last wednesday to take a deposit - fine - it was close to christmas but it is now the following wednesday and still nothing. I dont know what to do - think will try another dealer (again) or change brand - was looking for a Fiat.

Edit: One of the first dealers I went to said "the car is 12900". I said grand, am paying cash etc etc...you know haggle a little. He straight away said no. No way. Laughed at me. I left feeling humiliated. The dealer I am referring to above I got €600 more off, but no reply to taking a deposit.....I am tying to GIVE them money. I have never found it so hard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

dellas1979 wrote: »
    Hi OP,
    I feel your frustration - will update my own thread in a moment, but I am trying to buy a brand new car (scrappage) and the problems I am having with dealers is huge.

Finally got to a price (we both said deal) was happy with - he was supposed to ring me last wednesday to take a deposit - fine - it was close to christmas but it is now the following wednesday and still nothing. I dont know what to do - think will try another dealer (again) or change brand - was looking for a Fiat.

I thought the dealer was checking something out for you and was due to get back to you before taking a deposit and that the distributor was closed until today?

No, he said that he was closed until today. He also told me he'd get back to me last wednesday....
    Have you tried ringing the dealer?

I am debating whether to or not. He rang me 3 times last week so no doubt he has my number...
    See now I have doubt over everything. I think I need to contact Fiat to clarify what exactly is standard in the car -their website keeps changing. Now it says the metallic colour I want is standard (no extra charge) where as dealer is telling me it is an extra charge. Hence utter disillusion with Fiat.

I am debating whether to or not. He rang me 3 times last week so no doubt he has my number...
    See now I have doubt over everything. I think I need to contact Fiat to clarify what exactly is standard in the car -their website keeps changing. Now it says the metallic colour I want is standard (no extra charge) where as dealer is telling me it is an extra charge. Hence utter disillusion with Fiat.
    It might be as simple as he's out of work sick. Did the RRP on the website change when metallic paint became standard?

I wouldn't buy at that stage. Too bad a taste on my mouth after the messing about. You like to have that warm feeling from the off when buying a car I think.

Anan1 wrote: »
    It might be as simple as he's out of work sick. Did the RRP on the website change when metallic paint became standard?

Yeah, but if I was out of work sick my customers would be handled properly and not left dangling.