Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clocking while you wait

• 29-12-2009 12:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Was just trawling throught the Buy and Sell there and came across the following ad: "DIGITAL MILEAGE CORRECTION Cars, Vans and Motorbikes, 24hr 7 day mobile confidential service, BMQ second memory. All areas covered Same Day. Phone 085XXXXXXX".
    I texted him for a bet saying the following "Howiya, are you clocking cars? I've a few need doing". He replies "Ya, sure. Where are you?" I've a good mind to go to the cops with this. Just proves that the motor trade is a viper's nest in my opinion. What are your thoughts on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

It's no secret, those 'correction' adverts have been around for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 aidandunne

It's bad that the B&S carry these ads. It's just endorsing clocking and sharp practice IMO. The whole thing stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

They being getting away with it for years. Can't see them stopping now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

It's fully legal provided you don't claim the mileage is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

What JustinOval said. Not only have those clockers been around for years, what they do is not illegal either. Don't bother going to the guards...

Selling a car knowing it has been clocked is illegal.

I can see how it's legal I suppose but there's no doubt most of the motors he "works on" will be sold with falsified mileage. I feel for the victims of this and there's nothing that can be done about it. Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

aidandunne wrote: »
    I feel for the victims of this and there's nothing that can be done about it. Sad.

But there is. If people stopped buying cars without full (and checkable) service history, the problem would vanish give it time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

cant believe they get away with it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

Services like this are needs if

1/ You have to pull a broken clock with lets say 60K and replace with a second hand clock with say 100K, it has to be corrected.
    2/ You have to pull a broken clock and replace with new, the new clock has to be set to 60K

It's now always illegal

Unkel this is precisely the reason I'll be buying in the UK in January. Full dealer certified service history is common, and when combined with a HPI check I hope to be able to buy with confidence. The car will be six years old. You simply can't get this in Ireland most of the time. And yes Unkel, you're dead right. We buy cars without full verifiable FSH and then we're left with this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

5 minutes on google and a spend of 20/30 quid on ebay for the lead and you could clock your own car,its hardly a big secret! And i doubt the Gardai are unaware or care about it.

I DO NOT CONDONE CLOCKING OF CARS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

unkel wrote: »
    What JustinOval said. Not only have those clockers been around for years, what they do is not illegal either. Don't bother going to the guards...

its hard to prove other wise as if you lose your service manual, i know several lads who will make you a new one legally, you just have to tell them where and when, To the best of your ability

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

T-Square wrote: »
    Services like this are needs if

1/ You have to pull a broken clock with lets say 60K and replace with a second hand clock with say 100K, it has to be corrected.
    2/ You have to pull a broken clock and replace with new, the new clock has to be set to 60K

It's now always illegal

I bought a car that had the clock replaced after 13k miles, the dealer provided me with the receipt and a note explaining the reason (faulty clock) from the main dealer who carried out the work. No need for B&S backstreet dodgyness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭rccaulfield

Cud be a gard going around doing the clocking, then charging garages when they sell them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Well, the authorized service workshops for a lot of the brands actually log the service in the service network.

I only got bits and parts and a ton of receipts for my car. Got the local service garage to pull the whole service history of the network for me, so I have it for the future.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭v300

Fact is, anyone who buys a car without an expert inspection deserves to be caught.
    To spend €10, €20 or €30K etc... on a car and NOT to have it
    expertly checked from the headlight back to the tail light
    is Criminal in my opinion.

Mileage correction services have been going on for years.

Buy a car on condition, not on what a little mileage counter says.
    And always get it compression checked too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Cud be a gard going around doing the clocking, then charging garages when they sell them?

That's absoultely ridiculous.

-Chris- wrote: »
    That's absoultely ridiculous.

X2. :mad:

That would be considered entrapment and no Guard
    worth his salt would bother his hole doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

As said it's completly legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Toyota_Avensis

Couldn't the Government help combat these problems?

In order to prevent people from being sold lemons, couldn't they bring in a law or system (like the NCT) so that with every Change of Ownership it recieves at Shannon, a Certificate (like the NCT) should be enclosed with the change of ownership. This basic Certificate, could be issued by an Original Dealer for the Marque of Car being sold. It's like a Service/NCT with which <b>Clocking</b> can also be checked. It should be issued as one of the conditions of sale, a basic requirement.

Any potential car buyers, should be encouraged, that without this Cert, the buyer should walk away from the sale.

It could basically be like a further requirement / safety feature to ensure the car is ligit. Those selling ligit cars anyway wouldn't have any problem getting it done, and those whose cars which have been clocked, are left with the lemon.

I'm in agreement with the UK System though, were as FSH is very common.

The problem here is, generally Main Dealer Services are over €100, which drives people away from getting it done. They much prefare to do it themselves then to pay top doller to the dealer for it. Especially when well driven cars may require two services per annum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

v300 wrote: »
    Buy a car on condition, not on what a little mileage counter says.
    And always get it compression checked too.

This is going off topic, but to do a compression test on an engine before car purchase is going too far. If someone asked me to do this on any car I have for sale I'd tell them to "go away" (using less polite words). Any test that can be done without dismantling is welcome, including putting car up on my hoist to check underneath. But pulling coilpack off and plugs out (or glowplugs) to do compression test ... no way. Anyway, why would it matter since cars are sold with warranty which will cover any problem down the road that compression test would detect ? And if you are not getting a warranty, you should factor in a few quid into the price for potential problems down the road. The last two cars I bought were purchased on the phone without even seeing them ... at the right price, and from a trusted source, so no inspection necessary.

lifer_sean wrote: »
    so no inspection necessary.
    Good for you. I compression check my cars and have recently rejected
    a car because cylinder number 3 was down on a diesel Toyota
    with 50,000 Km's showing.;)

If I can't check it, I walk away. There's plenty of other cars out there with vendors willing to co-operate with a decent pre-purchase inspection.:p

Caveat emptor, and I certainly am.:D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭COB MGV8

But there is. If people stopped buying cars without full (and checkable) service history, the problem would vanish give it time :)

I traded in an Espace last year with a Renault main dealer - 5 years old with a full service history. Interesting thing was that the sales guy didn't give a monkeys about the history, made no difference to the price. When I went back to him a few months later with an issue with the car I'd bought, I asked him had he sold on my Espace - he said he had and that he still had all my documents, he'd found them when cleaning out his desk.....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 hplp

LOL, I just laugh at the number of cars that are always for sale just under the magical or dreaded 100k miles/km.

This has always been going on.

H