Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hdmi cable for PS3

• 28-12-2009 10:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭

got a PS3 for xmas, and today got a hdmi cable a bush 2m from argos. i have a samsung 40inch 1080p full hd tv, it has 3 hdmi slots. i put on modern warfare in slot 1 and the screen and sound were jumpy. so i tried slot 2 and look ok so starting playing MW but the sound kept pausing, stopping and jumping. at this stage im thinking i should have bought a monster cable, but tried slot 3 and it was perfect! must a problem with the tv, its only 10 months old. will i go back 2 DID electrical about it? also i thought hdmi cables worked or not at all?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

It's the TV, any old cable will do. It's not quite the same but using a SCART on the TV in my house (it's old but HD ready but no HDMI) with Sky it's absolutely perfect. I had to put the Sky into the other SCART for a while and the picture was horrible and really, really grainy. It's all about the socket quality. There's nothing wrong with your cable unless it wasn't plugged properly into the socket.
    I wouldn't expect DID to offer much but you definitely should contact them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭wizardman

you dont think DID will help me?! dont say that! surely its under warrenty? its fine now i only have 1 hdmi in use but will prob get sky hd in the new year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

wizardman wrote: »
    you dont think DID will help me?! dont say that! surely its under warrenty? its fine now i only have 1 hdmi in use but will prob get sky hd in the new year.

Maybe they're better than others but in my experience something like that outside the first month after a purchase I've heard of very little help. If the TV was completely banjaxed they'd fix it. Like I said, get in contact with them, don't listen to some stranger on the internet. :pac:

ok thanks stranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

i thought hdmi cables worked or not at all?!

regarding whether theyre 'gold plate connection' or such nonsense as difference in picture quality is non-existent long as it works. yours doesn't - its either faulty or not.. mine is faulty, but delicately balanced at a certain angle it works. try a standard Game one maybe? just like my one :rolleyes:

EDIT: scratch that its the TV. sorry lads.. your input test suggests so but try a diff. cable if you can..

-why i don't know as its the TV :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

amacachi wrote: »
    It's the TV, any old cable will do. It's not quite the same but using a SCART on the TV in my house (it's old but HD ready but no HDMI) with Sky it's absolutely perfect. I had to put the Sky into the other SCART for a while and the picture was horrible and really, really grainy. It's all about the socket quality. There's nothing wrong with your cable unless it wasn't plugged properly into the socket.

Off topic, but that's generally the case with most TVs... They usually only have 1 proper RGB SCART socket, so if you plug a proper RGB SCART cable into any other socket, it'll look like arse.
    This shouldn't be the case with HDMI ports - each one should display an identical signal. If not, then there's a problem with the TV

ok it just got weird. blu ray movies are grand in hdmi slots 1,2,3. so its only games work in slot 3. ive only tried modern warfare. maybe ill try another game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

If you feel there is a problem contact them, Or ring Samsung repairs dept. I worked for Pioneer and with intermittent problems like this we sometimes had to have screens on test for weeks on end before the problem appeared for use.

I know DID wont give you a new you.. They will offer to repair this one. "Thrust me we have dealt with them for years." well use to I left there start of the year

its just modern warfare that doesnt work in slot 1 and 2 only 3. but fifa 10 and any blu ray movie works in all hdmi slots 1, 2, 3. weird, wonder what is causing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

That's an odd one.

not sure what to do now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Strange one OP, hardly a settings issue on the TV, i was going to say maybe they don't have HDCP or something but if one works they all should.

I would contact samsung themselves TBH, and as somebody said you could have a device on test for weeks and the problems will not occur for the tester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

If it is the TV and its under warranty and you can prove that you bought it in DID then, they have no choice under law but to take the tv back, for repair, replacement or refund.

Read the following outlining your rights.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/consumer-affairs/consumer-protection/consumer-rights/consumers_and_the_law_in_ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

not sure what to do now!

Is it possible for you to video what is actually happening on screen and upload it.

How have you configured the video/audio output formats for your PS3.

i just plugged in the hdmi cable and the settings came up and the screen which i accepted. didnt do anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

wizardman, I've a very similar issue here with PS3 and and LG telly (42LG7000).

I initially had an upscaling DVD player, and later an HTPC connected using a chunky (expensive) HDMI cable to HDMI1 port of the TV and never had a problem.

When I hooked up PS3 using the same cable to HDMI1, picture and sound was jumpy, as if there's a loose connection somewhere. Same happened with HDMI port 2 and 3! However, picture and sound was perfect with HDMI4 (which is on the side of the TV).

I then got a cheap HDMI cable from Tesco (€6.98) and with this cable HDMI ports 2, 3 and 4 is perfect, but port 1 is still wobbly!

I have no idea what's causing this - and my TV is just three days out of warranty now!

Is it the port, or is it the HDMI cable, or is it something do with the content that's going in from PS3?! I don't have a clue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭andy1249

Seen this issue and corrected it before by adjusting the video output settings , specifically the one titled BD/DVD video output format , see here on this page ,

http://manuals.playstation.net/document/en/ps3/current/settings/bdsettings.html

Here you can set the color space as RGB and Y Pb Pr , it should be set to Y Pb Pr ( I think ...dont have my notes ...but you can toggle to see which one works ).

On of them sets color level at 0-255 ( RGB ) the other at 16-235 ( YPbPr) , you want the one that starts at 16.

Setting the wrong one on some TV's will give you a darker image than you should normally see along with crushed black levels .

Also , if you check your manuals and see something like , " The use of a PC is not assumed on these inputs " in reference to the HDMI inputs , its usually because of this issue , most PC's output RGB at 0-255 and it sometimes doesnt look quite right over the HDMI.

A lot of TV's wont have a problem with this as they can handle both formats OK.

On some sets it wont work at all with some inputs as they cant handle it , and yes some HDMI inputs do have different format handling capabilities , so this could well be the root of the problem here.

positron wrote: »
    HDMI4 (which is on the side of the TV)

same here it only the one on the side which works perfect. i just checked all ports again... blu ray movies and fifa 10 work perfect in all ports. only modern warfare will work in slot 3 perfect. jumpy etc in slot 1 and 2. might return MW to argos get a new disc?

sorted. got a new hdmi cable. same type just 2metre instead of 1. changed modern warfare for a new one, said it was faulty changed it no problem. and now all hdmi slots are working grand. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Good stuff.

so it was the cable? well.. they either work or they don't

yours was somewhere inbetween. -well certainly faulty. or..

could you get the old copy of MW2 back just to eliminate that from the equation

ive a feeling it was MW2 because it was the only thing giving trouble. everything else worked in slots 1 2 and 3.

dang man i was only jokin.. u think it was the disc?! i guess we'll never know for sure!