Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M1911 Hammer not cocking

• 28-12-2009 6:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭

As what is says above, checked the 3 sears for any wear, nothing on any of them. I'm puzzled TBH everything seems to be ok.

Anybody know anything about m1911's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Had the same problem with mine a while back, dissassemble it and put it back together, something could be slightly out of place or in wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

your leaf spring is either bent or not seated properly.

Remove it from the mainspring housing & inspect it, if its bent heat it with a torche & straighten it.

More than likely its just not seated properly, so just hold it in place while you re-assemble, it might take a couple of goes but its a simple fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Reseat your leaf spring first, most likely problem.

It should be pushing down on all parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Forgive me for the lack of lads but is the leaf spring on one of the three sears, the one which hits the release valve on the mag?

EDIT: Or is this it in the middle thats labelled the sear spring tip?

Tool01.jpg

Right guys I assembled/dissembled the gun three times now and in fact the first time the leaf spring was out of place.

So I put it back together but still no joy. As they say rinse and repeat and yet again no joy. I think it might be the three sears that might be resticting something because sometimes I really struggle to get the hammers pin socket to line up with the lower receivers pin socket, would the sear be leaning the wrong way around or what?

Although another time everything worked absolutely perfect bar the fact the pull on the hammer was very stiff so I was afraid of breaking the sears!

Would I be better to assembly it upside down or anything along those lines.

Anybodies time, help and patience is greatly appreciated!

What brand is it? There's kwa style, tm and we, all three are slightly different for the trigger unit.

KWA, I think maybe it might be that the leaf spring and sears might not be making good contact?

Maybe, did the spring get bent? (wouldn't mess with that just yet to be safe) Its pressing forward on all parts, and they are in place before putting the spring on them?

Did you lose a piece maybe?

Maybe, did the spring get bent? (wouldn't mess with that just yet to be safe) Its pressing forward on all parts, and they are in place before putting the spring on them?

Did you lose a piece maybe?

I don't think so its looks grand but if it did bend why would I not mess with it yet?

Well the trigger is working and the grip safety is working, well is springy to the touch .ie the trigger bounces back after it pulled etc

Right I'll try that, I'll put the ''gearbox'' in place and then set the leaf spring on them and see how that goes.

Don't think I did no, there doesn't seem to be anything out of place or anything missing?

A lot of people start bending the spring and it can get messy fast, and you end up needing a new one.

Thats why you should eliminate other issues first.

A lot of people start bending the spring and it can get messy fast, and you end up needing a new one.

Thats why you should eliminate other issues first.

Right so I won't touch the yoke at all.

I'll post up a pic of what my one looks like a bit later when I have another blast at it. Cheers Sam!

Usually the hammer not staying back is because of reassembling the thing badly, happened to me with a ksc once I think, it was a while back so I don't remember the details I'm afraid.

Bollocks and knowing me I'm probably doing it wrong! I search around for a guide for assembly online or something along those lines.

Flecktarn wrote: »
    Bollocks and knowing me I'm probably doing it wrong! I search around for a guide for assembly online or something along those lines.

Ye didnt lose the little firing pin under the hammer did you?

Its below where the real steel firing pin is.

Image200.jpg

Would be built into the frame on the ksc, the hammer hits it.

Ye didnt lose the little firing pin under the hammer did y
    Its below where the real steel firing pin is.

Would be built into the frame on the ksc, the hammer hits it.

Back again, still no updates.

No the firing pin is still in, I'm 99% sure its just the leaf spring isn't connecting with the sears properly.

Is there a certain way it should be bending in towards or anything along those lines?

When I worked one one of these, I had the same problem, I just re-did it a few times, I had made some simple assembly error.

The exploded diagrams in the manual help, if you lost it, airsplat have an online directory of them :)