Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Brian Lenihan TD

• 27-12-2009 5:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

I for one am absolutely gutted to hear of your illness.

My thoughts go out to you and your family and I sincerely hope your illness is not as serious as feared and you will have a full recovery.

I have the utmost respect for the manner in which you conducted your affairs as minister for finance in the last 18 months. You have been a credit to the country and this governments greatest asset by far.

I have absolutely no trust in fianna fail's consensus men of cowen, martin and dermot ahern. The thought that you may have to retire and leave these spineless suits to run the country makes me depressed. You are the beacon of hope on the cabinet table

God bless you!

Shame on you TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Good call.

He may have made decisions that I question (I think NAMA should be scrapped, for example) but I really do admire his guts at making tough decisions and for the most part, refusing to back down on them. As a personal attribute, and to a great extent a political one, that is and has been a great asset.

The best of luck to you, Mr Lenihan, and may you recover fully from whatever has allegedly afflicted you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

OP, why not email this to his office?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

ofjames wrote: »
    Shame on you TV3

for what, doing their Job?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭PLIIM

Hey lets not get carried away here. Its very sad and unfortunate that the man is sick.
    But he is still a pathetic Minister for Finance. Being sick doesnt make him any better at his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

PLIIM wrote: »
    Hey lets not get carried away here. Its very sad and unfortunate that the man is sick.
    But he is still a pathetic Minister for Finance. Being sick doesnt make him any better at his job.

I've always thought that he was doing an alright job. It's Brian Cowen trying to make political concessions that is screwing everything up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

It seems a lot of people here are getting confused between sympathy and empathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭PLIIM

Mark200 wrote: »
    I've always thought that he was doing an alright job. It's Brian Cowen trying to make political concessions that is screwing everything up.

They are all part of the same team. Dont get confused. Everything they do is orchestrated for the spin value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ofjames

For speaking of the man in the past tense for one.

And getting the most high profile consultant oncologist in the state to clearly imply Mr Lenihan's prognosis to be terminal on the day after christmas day. The man has a young family, and there are suggestions that some of his wider family had yet to be informed.

The manner of TV3's broadcast was completely insensitive and disrespectful in my opinion.
    Originally posted by PLIIM

I think your assessment of Mr Lenihan's performance is grossly unfair, and nobody has suggested that him being sick makes him better at his job so that comment is nonsense.

He has had probably the toughest and most stressful job in the country for the last 18 months. An impossible job really. Yet he has thrown himself into the role with great vigour and from all accounts worked tirelessly throughout his tenure to a now obvious cost to his health.

The man has an outstanding academic record in the legal profession and is clearly not your typical fianna fail career politician who cedes to the masses just to ensure they keep their seat.

Although he has undoubtedly made mistakes, I think he has got far more decisions right than wrong and has displayed a clear resolve to act in the country's best interests. He is also pretty much the only senior minister who is untarnished by fianna fail's mismanagement of the economy from 2002-2007.

He is trusted by the EU, ECB and sovereign debt markets to make the cuts in public spending that are required to keep the country afloat over the next 4-5 years. When you look around the cabinet table and see the likely candidates to fill his role should it come to that - Dermot Ahern or Michael Martin you see two men who possess such naked leadership ambitions that they will likely run a mile from doing anything that is even remotely unpopular with the electorate. Are they likely to develop the same trust from these key stakeholders? I very much doubt it.

If he does have to retire because of this, it will be a very bad day for the country and the economy in my opinion.

For speaking of the man in the past tense for one.

That never happened. They reported the FACT that he has cancer in the present tense.
    Stop trying to make it look different than it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

My thoughts go out to you and your family and I sincerely hope your illness is not as serious as feared and you will have a full recovery.

I have the utmost respect for the manner in which you conducted your affairs as minister for finance in the last 18 months. You have been a credit to the country and this governments greatest asset by far.

I have absolutely no trust in fianna fail's consensus men of cowen, martin and dermot ahern. The thought that you may have to retire and leave these spineless suits to run the country makes me depressed. You are the beacon of hope on the cabinet table

God bless you!

Shame on you TV3

seriously get off the soapbox !!! ...... he has been just as bad a politician as the rest of them ..... none of them deserve to stay in office and none of them deserve their salaries.

That never happened. They reported the FACT that he has cancer in the present tense.

Direct quote from TV3's dialogue:

UH: "Yes, Colette, this is very shocking news and sad news especially for the minister's family and especially coming at Christmas time.

"But it's also shocking news for members of the public. Brian Lenihan was, eh... eh... is regarded as one of the most popular members of the Government. The people had a soft spot for Brian Lenihan. In fact, he is seen by many as being one of the most competent members of government.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    seriously get off the soapbox !!! ...... he has been just as bad a politician as the rest of them ..... none of them deserve to stay in office and none of them deserve their salaries.

whether you like it or not they are in office for another 3 years, and his potential replacements are of a far lower standard in my opinion.

granted they are as a group a terrible shower, but in my view only him, hannifin and the two green ministers are in anyway competent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Their job doe not extend to this. If Mr Lenihan chooses to step aside, or resign his seat in the lower house, then it becomes a matter of public interest. However, we do not know how he chose to deal with this matter. He may have sought to do it in a family sensitive manner. He may also have sought to soldier on in Dail Eireann for as long as possible.

It was highly insensitive, and to ransom him to 2 Days to tell his family, and his collegues is appalling. I believe the "2 Days" thing has made the story even more distasteful.

It also sickens me that that rag the Sunday Independent has taken it upon themselves to condemn TV3. The public are rightly doing that. We dont need the country's biggest rag to inform us how we should feel.

Het-Field wrote: »
    Their job doe not extend to this

Yes it does, its part of their licence to report news in a factual manner as they did.

Direct quote from TV3's dialogue:

UH: "Yes, Colette, this is very shocking news and sad news especially for the minister's family and especially coming at Christmas time.

"But it's also shocking news for members of the public. Brian Lenihan was, eh... eh... is regarded as one of the most popular members of the Government. The people had a soft spot for Brian Lenihan. In fact, he is seen by many as being one of the most competent members of government.

Source please, or did you just type it up as you made it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭garyt24

It is sad to hear anyone get cancer but as far as it goes for him as finance minister...Well lets just say that anybody on the wage he is on should have to make hard decissions...So dont get carried away thinking he is a good minister because he is not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

No he didn't, that's how it sounded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

TV3 acted like a gossip magazine not a tv station.
    They gave him 2 days to inform anyone who he was close to(family,friends) that he was suffering cancer. The 2 days were christmas eve and christmas day.
    Ya,very professional I'd say.

If it was a relative of yours, I am sure you would not be so dispassionate regarding TV3's broadcast.

The source is below.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/how-the-public-were-told-about-the-finance-ministers-illness-1990146.html

ASIDE: How inarticulate was Ursula Halligan in that report?! If you are sitting on something for two days you would think she wouldnt be tripping over herself every two seconds. Shoddy in every respect. The general quality of TV3's output is rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

God bless you!

Shame on you TV3

Nice sentiment, but I doubt he reads boards.ie...

You might be better off sending him a letter/e-mail.

If it was a relative of yours, I am sure you would not be so dispassionate regarding TV3's broadcast.

The source is below.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/how-the-public-were-told-about-the-finance-ministers-illness-1990146.html

ASIDE: How inarticulate was Ursula Halligan in that report?! If you are sitting on something for two days you would think she wouldnt be tripping over herself every two seconds. Shoddy in every respect. The general quality of TV3's output is rubbish

None of this matters - they reported the facts, end of.
    Fair play to TV3 for telling the nation as it is, factual reporting- that we have a TD in a very important ministry very ill (best wishes to him btw) in a recession - they did their job as licenced by the authorities to do.

None of this matters - they reported the facts, end of.
    Fair play to TV3 for telling the nation as it is, factual reporting- that we have a TD in a very important ministry very ill (best wishes to him btw) in a recession - they did their job as licenced by the authorities to do.

Watch that youtube clip and tell me all they did was report the facts??

If this was all it was, why are there rumours (the same as the one they had on the Minister) that TV3s Managing director has already been on the receiving end of more than abuse from major advertisers, but also the cancellation of their advertising.

ninty9er wrote: »
    Watch that youtube clip and tell me all they did was report the facts??

If this was all it was, why are there rumours (the same as the one they had on the Minister) that TV3s Managing director has already been on the receiving end of more than abuse from major advertisers, but also the cancellation of their advertising.

FAIL ; you said rumours......unlike they fact the reported on our minister of finance.

These facts you refer to have yet to be officially confirmed to the public by Mr Lenihan, his doctors, or the Dept of Finance.

Until such a time as they are confirmed, what TV3 reported is merely conjecture.

From the little that is known, it appears the man has literally only just discovered that he has a deadly disease. It's Christmas time, and he is likely enjoying (as best he can given the circumstances) his first few days off with his family in god knows how long. And if the illness proves to be as severe as TV3 have implied, who knows how many more christmases the man will be able to enjoy with his family?

Instead of allowing his family digest this terrible news in peace and privacy over the holidays TV3 have thrust the spotlight on him in the most insensitive and intrusive manner.

The man deserved the opportunity to announce details of his illness at a time of his choosing in the new year. It would be a different matter had he been concealing this illness for a matter of months which would obviously make it a matter of public interest.

I cant believe you could be so heartless not to see the insensitivity in what TV3 did.

TV3 has not reported anything that has been confirmed as fact.

FAIL: There was a lot mor than simple "fact" (which doesn't yet exist) and the tripe Ursula Halligan came out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Id concur with the good wishes to Mr Lenihan for his health. I understand he is facing a very serious variant of cancer, but hes still got a chance and I hope he makes it.

I am a bit torn on the reporting of it: It was a bit shoddy and mistimed. However, its not entirely a private affair. If it is confirmed that Lenihan is facing this threat, then it *is* of public interest in that it is likely that Lenihan will have to withdraw or at least strictly limit his involvment in the government at a time when he was the lynchpin of the government in facing perhaps a dire economic and political enviroment. Lenihan has been dominating the direction of this country and its citizens for the past 18 months or so: anything that threatens to remove him from a decision making capacity is of interest this country and its citizens.

TV3 could and should have done a much better job of it however. It would have been better if Lenihan could have been the one to make the announcement: that he hasnt dont so may indicate that he himself is still adjusting to new realities, and perhaps wasnt ready to go public yet. TV3 should have been more sensitive to that. How many people are ready to hear a doctor tell them theyve got cancer?

This is actually an issue with regards to greater freedom of the press in Ireland: one of the best arguments for those wishing to restrict freedom of the press is privacy of public figures. In the way they have handled this, TV3 have given ammunition to those who would resist allowing greater protection for our media in informing the public on the activities and interests ( and I dont mean hobbies) of our public representitives.

It is bad news all round.

TV3 has not reported anything that has been confirmed as fact.

FAIL: There was a lot mor than simple "fact" (which doesn't yet exist) and the tripe Ursula Halligan came out with.

It is in the public domain and fact - only the dept of finance itself is not confirming it.
    If you think you are right in your assertion, you'll be proved wrong in the coming days after Christmas.
    @James, I'm not heartless as you like to portray me, but you've gotten carried away with your pedantic posts. Grow a set.

Sand wrote: »
    Id concur with the good wishes to Mr Lenihan for his health. I understand he is facing a very serious variant of cancer, but hes still got a chance and I hope he makes it.

I am a bit torn on the reporting of it: It was a bit shoddy and mistimed. However, its not entirely a private affair. If it is confirmed that Lenihan is facing this threat, then it *is* of public interest in that it is likely that Lenihan will have to withdraw or at least strictly limit his involvment in the government at a time when he was the lynchpin of the government in facing perhaps a dire economic and political enviroment. Lenihan has been dominating the direction of this country and its citizens for the past 18 months or so: anything that threatens to remove him from a decision making capacity is of interest this country and its citizens.

TV3 could and should have done a much better job of it however. It would have been better if Lenihan could have been the one to make the announcement: that he hasnt dont so may indicate that he himself is still adjusting to new realities, and perhaps wasnt ready to go public yet. TV3 should have been more sensitive to that. How many people are ready to hear a doctor tell them theyve got cancer?

This is actually an issue with regards to greater freedom of the press in Ireland: one of the best arguments for those wishing to restrict freedom of the press is privacy of public figures. In the way they have handled this, TV3 have given ammunition to those who would resist allowing greater protection for our media in informing the public on the activities and interests ( and I dont mean hobbies) of our public representitives.

It is bad news all round.

If the minister's capacity to do his job is curtailed he will step aside. There is no doubt about that. He is an honourable man.

However, it looks that he is still undergoing tests and his capacity to do the job over even the next 6 months is not yet clear.

He should have been allowed ascertain his ability to do his job first, then make the public announcement of his illness and his intentions going forward.

TV3 deprived him of that opportunity which in my opinion was an act of gutter journalism.

I disagree that this is a freedom of press issue. For me, the issue here is moral standards in the media. Standards I clearly feel were flouted by TV3 in this instance

I disagree that this is a freedom of press issue

disagree all you like, but it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭Sand

If the minister's capacity to do his job is curtailed he will step aside. There is no doubt about that. He is an honourable man.

However, it looks that he is still undergoing tests and his capacity to do the job over even the next 6 months is not yet clear.

He should have been allowed ascertain his ability to do his job first, then make the public announcement of his illness and his intentions going forward.

TV3 deprived him of that opportunity which in my opinion was an act of gutter journalism.

I disagree that this is a freedom of press issue. For me, the issue here is moral standards in the media. Standards I clearly feel were flouted by TV3 in this instance

Honestly, I am not clear where you are significantly disagreeing with me. I think this case will be cited by insiders to prevent greater freedom of the media in the future, hence I feel it was bad news for everyone. TV3 should have been far more sensitive to Lenihan here.

However, it is of public interest if a major political figure is going to be forced from a decision making capacity by this condition - and given the seriousness, even if it has been caught at an early stage and is operable Lenihan will have to undergo a very serious operation and recuperate.

TV3 ballsed up, Lenihan should have been the one to make the announcement when he came to terms with it himself, but within some reasonable time frame: that time frame being sometime after christmas but before the dogs on the street knew about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He is an honourable man but cancer of the pancreas is extremly serious, I can't see him come back.
    And I don't want him being a martyr, a minister can be a 14 hour a job day and few can do this.
    Time to step back, family comes first. My opinion does not matter, this dedicated public servant will make his own decision

Agreed, he should have been allowed make a statement this week and then decided what he wanted to do. TV3 wanted their scoop and they certainly got it!
    I'm no journalist but maybe they could have been persuaded to hold off in exchange for an exclusive interview later this week

Originally posted by niceirishfella
    you've gotten carried away with your pedantic posts.
    disagree all you like, but it is.

Pot, kettle, black?

A review of your posts to this thread and similar ones reveals your contributions have basically been limited to thanking anyone and everyone whose posts have even loosely tied in with your 3 line blurtings.

Try put together a coherent argument next time perhaps, if you're able to that is.

Pot, kettle, black?

A review of your posts to this thread and similar ones reveals your contributions have basically been limited to thanking anyone and everyone whose posts have even loosely tied in with your 3 line blurtings.

Try put together a coherent argument next time perhaps, if you're able to that is.

is this the best you got?:rolleyes:

Sand wrote: »
    Honestly, I am not clear where you are significantly disagreeing with me. I think this case will be cited by insiders to prevent greater freedom of the media in the future, hence I feel it was bad news for everyone. TV3 should have been far more sensitive to Lenihan here.

However, it is of public interest if a major political figure is going to be forced from a decision making capacity by this condition - and given the seriousness, even if it has been caught at an early stage and is operable Lenihan will have to undergo a very serious operation and recuperate.

TV3 ballsed up, Lenihan should have been the one to make the announcement when he came to terms with it himself, but within some reasonable time frame: that time frame being sometime after christmas but before the dogs on the street knew about it.

My interpretation of your previous post was that TV3 were within their rights to broadcast this news last night and it was just the manner of the broadcast you disagreed with. Clearly having read your post that I have quoted, that was a misinterpretation and to be honest I pretty much completely agree with your synopsis in that last para.

It is in the public domain and fact - only the dept of finance itself is not confirming it.
    If you think you are right in your assertion, you'll be proved wrong in the coming days after Christmas.
    @James, I'm not heartless as you like to portray me, but you've gotten carried away with your pedantic posts. Grow a set.
    It was in the public domain that Mary Harney was going to be sent to Brussels to be Ireland's next commissioner.

I don't think I'm right, I know it, because if I wasn't you would be able to point me to a statement released by/on behalf of Brian Lenihan stating that he has cancer. That it is likely to be impending bears no relation to the FACT that it has not yet happened and as such TV3 have no basis for releasing the information to the general public.

Suck on them apples.

lol ........you must have been great a public debating at School..........lol:p

Such a sad and childish contribution.......

lol ........you must have been great a public debating at School..........lol:p

Such a sad and childish contribution.......
    I still am, thanks;)

Anyone accusing someone on a politics forum of being childish needs to take a step back. This isn't Yoof over on P.ie:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭ghost_ie

If it's true that TV3 gave Brian Lenihan 48 hours to tell his family before they announced his illness that is really despicable. He has young children and he would not have wanted to spoil their Christmas by telling them the news until the festivities were over. It took me far longer than 48 hours to tell my children I had cancer. Surely it would have been better to wait for an official announcement rather than force him into telling his family before he wanted to? I'm not and have never been an FF supporter but I sincerely hope Brian Lenihan recovers from his illness as successfully as I did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

If members could re-familiarise themselves with the concept of mutual politeness as well as the forum charter, that'd be mighty cool. Choosing not to will result in my closing the access door.

None of us are children so let's not behave like them (specifically the na-na fingers waggling in ears bits) please.

/mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

PLIIM wrote: »
    You are so off the point
    you will see what the world thinks off him as a minister for finance when the stock market open after xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

dont make little of what tv3 did
    He found out he had cancer tv3 then rang him and told him you have 48 hours to tell you family
    IF you stand over this type of action shame on you and anybody else and you must not know what it is like for a family member to get cancer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

All sympathy and support for Minister Lenihan and his family, he always struck me as a good man in a bad spot, although I have vehemently disagreed with some of his decisions in his current role.

As far as TV3 goes, its pretty much par for the course when it comes to the media, I can't see a lot changing as a result of their behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Even though, I am vehemently anti-Fianna Fail, I think that it is an absolute disgrace what TV3 did in reporting the issue concerning Brian Lenihans alleged medical condition.

That sort of so-called reporting is simply unacceptable.

I want to take this opportunity to wish Brian Lenihan and his family well during this time and that, please God, he will come through this medical scare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Rujib1

I agree TV3 were right dicks in this case. Just totally unacceptable journalism in my opinion.
    As for Dr Crown's performance. Totally disgusting. This guy is probably a serious doctor, but he has had a history of anti government and anti HSE opinions aired in public. Admitedly, these mey be genuinly held beliefs, but I suspect there is no love lost between him and policies recently enforced by Mr Lenihan!
    Secondly, who leaked the info about Mr Lenihans health issue to the press?
    Disgruntled health service staff!!!!!
    I smell a whif of pay back time for Mr Lenihan in all of this saga.

R1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

Rujib1 wrote: »
    I agree TV3 were right dicks in this case. Just totally unacceptable journalism in my opinion.
    As for Dr Crown's performance. Totally disgusting. This guy is probably a serious doctor, but he has had a history of anti government and anti HSE opinions aired in public. Admitedly, these mey be genuinly held beliefs, but I suspect there is no love lost between him and policies recently enforced by Mr Lenihan!
    Secondly, who leaked the info about Mr Lenihans health issue to the press?
    Disgruntled health service staff!!!!!
    I smell a whif of pay back time for Mr Lenihan in all of this saga.

R1

ye thats what I was wondering too, how the hell did TV3 find out?? I too am not a FF fan and will not be voting for them but what TV3 did lacked compassion and any sort of moral integrity. Disgusting and you get the impression they were salivating at the mouth when they heard the news...ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

This fast-moving thread is over a year old (last contribution before this evening was at the end of 2009). While the integrity of TV3 may (or may not) still be in question, it's effectively a zombie thread when dragged up now - if you're up for discussing TV3's part in all this at this time, I suggest starting something in the News/Media forum under Soc.