Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Scoring' ?

• 25-12-2009 5:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭

Does anyone esle see scoring random people as repulsive ?

It's 5am and this came into my head :p It's just I remember in school being asked would I 'meet' shuch and such, even though I would be too shy to do anything like that, it has always repulsed me. The idea of scoring with random people you meet with no sort of relationship between them just seems wrong,, but everyone seems happy to do it.

Any feel the same way ? Or just let the flaming begin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I don't see anything repulsive about it. It's just a bit of fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭BarryDoodles

Maybe you lack the ability to seperate the physical from the emotional?

or maybe the ability to seperate physical and emotional is a symptom of something wrong today?

either way it can be a bit of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Maybe you lack the ability to seperate the physical from the emotional?

or maybe the ability to seperate physical and emotional is a symptom of something wrong today?

either way it can be a bit of fun

Maybe I do, That could be it alright :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

never got into it meself, then again I was going with a tool for just over 7 years so didnt get the chance to score a bit more. Broke up with her and decided a one night stand be lovely, poor me decided to leave me spare bike helmet in yer ones house so had to call back a few days later :( not the best two weeks of me life I must say lol. In a relationship over 3 years now and love her so Im happy. If people are into casual sex then leave em off. Dont bother me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

absolutely no problem with the general concept and action... few unpleasant consequences in my past, but all good.

what i do hate though is that word 'scoring'. i duno, im old now i guess. we used to meet. now the kids score. just sounds weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i live my life by the old saying " if you cant have the craic what can ye have ? "

so i do....

well

hers anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I've always been the scoring type. Although I realise there is an emotional reason for this, I've always seen it as a sort of sport, where I am selling myself as well as I can.

It's fun, it's innocent, and some of the best moments of my life have come from it.

You have nothing to fear. And you won't regret having scored a few women. Certainly when you're an old man and you're reviewing your life, you will have fond memories of the young ones you had a bit of fun with.

/Have drank three bottles of wine. Forgive me for my honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

For the first few years in college I was, but I met my g.f in third year and that put an end to it.

If you don't get it out of the way you will always think about the women you could have been with. I would hate to have only ever been with one woman, and I'm sure my g.f is happy I learned a few tricks before getting with her.

I give you the advice my dad said to me and my brother "remember kids, sometimes you have to do the ugly ones to appreciate the good looking ones! just don't end up marrying one of the ugly ones like I did"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

seanybiker wrote: »
    poor me decided to leave me spare bike helmet in yer ones house so had to call back a few days later

You must have been really hard up for a spare condom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

maybe you might be gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I don't see anything wrong with it, as in immoral. But I do find it a bit repulsive. I don't like the idea of getting physically close to a complete stranger, for me the natural sequence of these things is stranger -> aquaintance -> friend ->"more than a friend-> all that physical shite. Skipping steps just seems weird and unnatural!

Beisdes, people these days don't seem to know of stranger danger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Piste wrote: »
    the natural sequence of these things is stranger -> aquaintance -> friend ->"more than a friend-> -> all that physical ****e. Skipping steps just seems weird and unnatural!

you forgot the end of the sequence, it actually goes:

stranger -> aquaintance -> friend ->"more than a friend-> -> all that physical ****e -> -> bastard ex who tried to sleep with my sister/mother/ best friend (or any other thing we did to mess up the relationship)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 blue1980

I absolutly love scoring randomers. The excitment, the raw energy, the anonimity, new smells, new tastes...... love it. Every night of the week if I could.

Maybe you should try to loosen up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

It's just I remember in school being asked would I 'meet' shuch and such, even though I would be too shy to do anything like that, it has always repulsed me.

Twins. Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I remember I scored a point in my first and only GAA match. That was a nice score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Sure it's a bit of craic. Give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

blue1980 wrote: »
    new smells, new tastes...... love it. Every night of the week if I could.

Ewww....gross. You could at least stick to the ones that have showered !!

It's 5am and this came into my head :p It's just I remember in school being asked would I 'meet' shuch and such, even though I would be too shy to do anything like that, it has always repulsed me. The idea of scoring with random people you meet with no sort of relationship between them just seems wrong,, but everyone seems happy to do it.

I wouldn't say its replusive and I've certainly done my fair share. I just don't see any point in it to be honest thou. Whats the point in kissing someone you don't at least like - which kinda means knowing them at least a bit.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Scoring randomers is better than no scoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

blue1980 wrote: »
    I absolutly love scoring randomers. The excitment, the raw energy, the anonimity, new smells, new tastes...... love it. Every night of the week if I could.

Who says people who don't like scoring total strangers aren't loosened up already? It's just a matter of taste. If you said you didn't like icecream I wouldn't tell you to loosen up a bit and try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

Can't say I really care about it. Whatever happens happens like.

/drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

what i do hate though is that word 'scoring'. i duno, im old now i guess. we used to meet. now the kids score. just sounds weird.
    At least it's better than "shifting" and less confusing than "meeting". :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I've never done it.

Not that I find it repulsive, just the way I am. I have to know somebody before I kiss them. I just need some sort of connection other than looks or drunkness. But that's just me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

TomCo wrote: »
    You must have been really hard up for a spare condom.
    ha ha i was boy. Never wore that helmet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

gizmo wrote: »
    At least it's better than "shifting" and less confusing than "meeting". :o

Boo-urns!

Nothing wrong with saying you got the shift!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Nothing wrong with it, you never know what's going to come of it.
    I met my current OH of a year by randomly scoring him one night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I was just thinking about today when I was 16 in "Peace Park" in Cork and teens my age then would just go around to randomers and such((Metalheads,Goths,Emo's,Skaters,scene types etc that is)).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Every time I go out on the town (or whatever), I chat to strangers. It's really fun. You meet some lovely people, some assholes, some people that know your friends, some people you were at the same gig as or the same class at one stage and never talked to. The good, the bad and the ugly. Sometimes a sexual attraction occurs from this or grows from it and sometimes you feel like acting on it. Sometimes a friendship grows from it and you act on that. Dunno how many beautiful girls of kissed or amazing friends I've made over the last while but I can safely say that when I look back on 2009, one of the best things I'll remember is taking every opportunity to chat to a stranger and allow the interaction to play itself into something or nothing. Kissing strangers can be fun and can be awful. I judge my interactions case by case but I never say no to the idea of an interaction itself. What occurs subsequently is down to chance, choice and, sometimes, a bita luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Every time I go out on the town (or whatever), I chat to strangers. It's really fun. You meet some lovely people, some assholes, some people that know your friends, some people you were at the same gig as or the same class at one stage and never talked to. The good, the bad and the ugly. Sometimes a sexual attraction occurs from this or grows from it and sometimes you feel like acting on it. Sometimes a friendship grows from it and you act on that. Dunno how many beautiful girls of kissed or amazing friends I've made over the last while but I can safely say that when I look back on 2009, one of the best things I'll remember is taking every opportunity to chat to a stranger and allow the interaction to play itself into something or nothing. Kissing strangers can be fun and can be awful. I judge my interactions case by case but I never say no to the idea of an interaction itself. What occurs subsequently is down to chance, choice and, sometimes, a bita luck.

100% agree! :)

Random banter is the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭stringbox

Jesus dude, that's virgin talk. If the offers are any good, go for it. Don't do it to yourself. You'll be pissed off when you're 24 that you turned down good offers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I hate the woed "scoring" too. It's sooooo American.
    Meet, shift or will ya be with her.:p
    Shift is only in there due to the line "If ya can't lift her, don't shift her", a rule which some of us don't have the looks to live by.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

baz2009 wrote: »
    I hate the woed "scoring" too. It's sooooo American.
    Meet, shift or will ya be with her.:p
    Shift is only in there due to the line "If ya can't lift her, don't shift her", a rule which some of us don't have the looks to live by.:P

Hmm you'd want to be careful there -score in US terms generally means a bit more than it does in Irish terms...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

yes and no...ok i can see how it's a bit of fun + i've scored people who i've never even said hi to back in the day

but on the other hand, they could have had anything in their mouth before your tongue got there!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I hate the word 'scoring' being used instead of just plain old 'kissing'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Novella wrote: »

Id agree it s abit agravating.

doesnt really bother me its fun chating up a girl thinking of smart ass retorts making fun of each other and eventullu smooching i like it not mad on 1 night stands but hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

seanybiker wrote: »
    never got into it meself, then again I was going with a tool for just over 7 years so didnt get the chance to score a bit more. Broke up with her and decided a one night stand be lovely, poor me decided to leave me spare bike helmet in yer ones house so had to call back a few days later :( not the best two weeks of me life I must say lol. In a relationship over 3 years now and love her so Im happy. If people are into casual sex then leave em off. Dont bother me at all.
    LOL, I really thought "spare bike helmet" was a euphemism for something else and that this story was going to end in pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MissIT

Aw no to me kissing is something special I do with someone I care about.
    Scoring is something more casual, no emotional attachment but good fun too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

MissIT wrote: »

But.... Are you not doing the exact same thing, just calling it a different name?! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

There be plenty scoring on offer come midnight on New Year's Eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

It's just a bit of fun. A way to learn how to be a fantastic kisser :) Also you realise what's good/not good in the tongue department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

MissIT wrote: »
    That is a really good definition! I used to always call it kissing, but kissing sounds too intimate when you're describing something you did with someone you don't know as well.

I don't much like scoring, especially with a completely random person. Too old for that sort of carry on now :p It is fun just to make-out/score/get with/whatever someone now and again.. but I think relationships are my thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MissIT

But.... Are you not doing the exact same thing, just calling it a different name?! :confused:

Ya exact same thing but minus the attachment I feel when it's with someone i really care about.

Maybe that's stupid but that's just the reason I refer to it as a score rather than a kiss :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

pearliefan wrote: »
    That is a really good definition! I used to always call it kissing, but kissing sounds too intimate when you're describing something you did with someone you don't know as well.

I don't much like scoring, especially with a completely random person. Too old for that sort of carry on now :p It is fun just to make-out/score/get with/whatever someone now and again.. but I think relationships are my thing.

Pffft, never too old. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Alessandra wrote: »
    Sure it's a bit of crack/cock. Give it a go.

Absolutely!
    dsmythy wrote: »
    There be plenty scoring on offer come midnight on New Year's Eve.

At about half 11 it'll be "winning time". Everyone who's not got someone will lower their standards slightly and be open to offers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Hmm...May be out in Galway city on New Year's Eve night ...

Hmm indeed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭A quiet one

Do you mean repulsive as in that visceral disgust which instinctively protects you from disease?
    Or, repulsive as in morally reprehensible?
    Or repulsive as in freaks you out? like if 2 straight guys were promised the snog of their lives from a hotti, but on condition that he remains blindfolded cos she's very shy... and afterwards they discover they've been scoring with another guy.

Clearly you don't see it as a means to bolster your sense of self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

LOL, I really thought "spare bike helmet" was a euphemism for something else and that this story was going to end in pregnancy.

Haha me too!!!

I see nothing wrong with scoring a stranger to be honest. Well, I would have no problem with it if I was single now, and I have when I was single in the past!!

It's a harmless bit of fun!! ;)
    Practise makes perfect and yada yada yada