Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your hopes for 2010

• 24-12-2009 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

Was chatting with a mate of mine about how great 2009 was and how at the end of 2008 while having the same conversation our biggest hope for 2009 was to beat France in Croker... and look where we are now :D

So what are your hopes for 2010?

As much as i would LOVE ireland to retain their Grand Slam, i would be happy with a finish down the table if Kidney starts giving our young players a consistent run of games. The likes of SOB, Sexton, Healy, Earls, D. Ryan, POD etc. need to start getting senior game time with a view to 2011. And i would "risk" the slam to bring them more and more into the fold.

Next on the list would have to be a Munster vs Leinster HC final in Paris with Munster shining through in the end of a smashing rugby match that will go down in history as one of the greatest ever sporting events in the history of the world! :D An all ireland Magners grand final would be nice also.

Another U20 grand slam would be nice. And i think this might be our year. We have easily the most talented group of lads out of all the other nations and i for see at least 5 - 6 future international stars coming from this current squad. I'll be there in Dubarry park for every home game and i hope some of you will join me there. These lads need and deserve our support as much as the national team do.

Probably more than anything. I want to see the IRB NOT make a balls of the rule changes and for them to clean up their citing system and penalty system for offenses such as eye gouging, stamping, head butting etc.

No more dull kicking rugby and we are in for another good year of rugby. :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

As a Connacht fan...

Connacht to make it out of the group stages of the ECC undefeated and secure a home Quarter against a heavily marketed English side and a home Semi against a heavily marketed Irish side, winning both.

I could take defeat in the final as long as it's not to a team of English cavemen.

In the league, to make it off the bottom. The Welsh teams are in a mess and deserve to be pushed down.

With international players, Fionn Carr to be capped properly in place of leaden footed melted Action Men lookalikes. Sean Cronin to at least bench for the 6N and to start a couple, he really is a star and it's painful that he isn't recognised more...but then he doesn't get the same TV time as lesser hookers.

Oh, and money to be found for covering the Clubhouse side of the Sportsground. I'll build the ****er myself, given a day in B&Q and a couple of willing accomplices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Theus

As much as I'd love to see us retain the slam, I'd be happy with 2nd as I really dont see us beating France away.

I'd like to see Leinster and Munster get to at least the semi finals of the HC and maybe an all Ireland final in France if we're lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

chupacabra wrote: »
    POD

Agree with most of everything you say... but hope you mean senior time at provincial level for O'Donoghue, not international... based on his recent performances for Leinster he won't be in the squad for the WC in 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

As a Munster fan..

To meet up with Denis Hurley and apologise for my cruel treatment of him on this forum during the 08/09 season. :pac:

Before today, another would be to sign Tommy Bowe, but that's not going to happen it seems. :(

To beat Leinster in April at TP, serious payback needed after "that" game and the embarrassment at the RDS this season. Felix Jones to score the winning try. :D

To finish top of the group in the HEC and to hammer Northampton at home in the process.

To get a home Magners League Semi-Final and Final (against Leinster) and win the competition.

To see Nick Williams step up after Denis Leamy's unfortunate injury.

To witness a Jean de Villiers intercept try.

Keith Earls to find his position because I don't think Kidney/McGahan/Earls himself know what that is yet.

As an Ireland fan..

To see Ireland maintain their form in the Six Nations.

To have three options at 10.

To find a replacement for Hayes who can scrummage.

To beat France in Paris.

BOD named IRB Player of the Year 2010. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

My hopes for 2010 are simply Leinster to retain the Heineken and win the Magners, not a lot to ask. I do think that 1-15 we are a match for any team in Europe and barring injuries have the leaders to take us to this.

For Ireland, obviously I would hope for another Grand Slam, but I think France will turn us over.

Player wise, I hope Tullows own Seanie O Brien will start at least 1 GN game, and I would like to see Fionn Carr in an Irish 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

To win everything. There, short and sweet with no faffing about, I'm sure that's what all of us want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

To finally beat the bloody Kiwis!!

Defending the Grand Slam

Leinster, Munster and Ulster in the semis of both the Magners and the Heino

Connacht in the semis of the Amlin and to qualify for the Heino

Landsdowne reopening

Fitz, Sexto, Horan, Flan and Leamy getting back to full fitness

100 caps for messrs O'Driscoll, O'Gara and Hayes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Rugby wishes for 2010?
    Another unbeaten year for the most successful Irish international team ever.
    An Irish province to win the ML, CC and ERC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Leinster to do the double.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

beat the bloody Kiwis

and an all irish heineken final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

To retain the Grand Slam and for Munster to reassert their dominance of the Heineken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Robbo wrote: »
    Oh, and money to be found for covering the Clubhouse side of the Sportsground. I'll build the ****er myself, given a day in B&Q and a couple of willing accomplices.

Il help ya Rob,we both feel the cold that side!!:eek:

An Irish province to win the Heineken, thereby giving Connacht a place in the HEC the following season.

Stade Francais won't fancy a game in the Sportsground on a cold and windy Friday night...:pac:

Oh, and Connacht to get a half decent coach for once.

JUSTICE FOR THE WEST!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

On a similiar note to thomonds - Bradley to take over at leinster. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

A little less kicking, ..... PLEASE!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Ireland to beat New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

accensi0n wrote: »
    And to beat France in Paris.

Yeah, can't forget that one.

Ireland to beat either France or New Zealand (I'll take one or the other, I'm not greedy) and win the other 4 games in the 6 Nations, especially if we beat France!

Leinster to either win the Heino or lose to Munster in the greatest final of all time (I'll accept that, but I doubt itll happen)

Ulster to make the playoffs, Connacht to finish above a Welsh team or go far in the CC.

McGahan to do a Matt Williams and leave Munster to be replaced by Bradley....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Leinster to either win the Heino or lose to Munster in the greatest final of all time (I'll accept that, but I doubt itll happen)

Being honest, I'd prefer to be beaten my any other team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

For an injury crisis to sweep the country that is so great the only option left is to cap me.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

As a Munster fan..

To meet up with Denis Hurley and apologise for my cruel treatment of him on this forum during the 08/09 season. :pac:

Before today, another would be to sign Tommy Bowe, but that's not going to happen it seems. :(

To beat Leinster in April at TP, serious payback needed after "that" game and the embarrassment at the RDS this season. Felix Jones to score the winning try. :D

To finish top of the group in the HEC and to hammer Northampton at home in the process.

To get a home Magners League Semi-Final and Final (against Leinster) and win the competition.

Keith Earls to find his position because I don't think Kidney/McGahan/Earls himself know what that is yet.

As an Ireland fan..

To beat France in Paris.

exactly they have their tail feathers up after the last game... time to give them a proper thomund park welcome and knock seven types of ****e out of them

Leinster better enjoy the HC trophy while they still have it... this year its coming home to where it belongs:cool:

Victory against the french would be sweet also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

That is all i want to !! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

munster to win Heineken and win the Magners and ireland to beat NZ

As a Munster fan..

Before today, another would be to sign Tommy Bowe, but that's not going to happen it seems.
    :(

As an Ireland fan..

Ross but he won't be picked. :(

To beat France in Paris.

Came upon this thread again!

Horrible year for me, no wish was granted! :pac:

An Irish province to win the Heineken, thereby giving Connacht a place in the HEC the following season.

Stade Francais won't fancy a game in the Sportsground on a cold and windy Friday night...:pac:

Oh, and Connacht to get a half decent coach for once.

JUSTICE FOR THE WEST!

Looking back over this... I find it funny that even though Connacht didn't make the H Cup they could still well have seen Stade this season :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

One can still wish.. there is always next(jesus)this year :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I'd be happy with a WC semi final - where Ireland actually perform at a WC

Leinster are on a roll at the min - so my expectations are too high

also like to see Gonzaga win the schools, or at least a final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

hmm
    munster too win hc and beat leinster
    ireland too win 6 nations and win the lotto:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

oh - i thought it was a current thread - anyway my hopes for 2011 are still the same - rugby wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

I wish that France beat Ireland in the Aviva after another historical battle - best game of the tournament year after year.

I wish that France beat England in twickenham ( one can dream ) knowing that these guys never play better than when the play against us ....

Racing to win the Brennus with Wisniewski scoring more than 20 points on the finale

Beating New Zealand at the world cup once again

and Ireland to do well at the WC

BoarHunter wrote: »
    Beating New Zealand at the world cup once again

Not really a hope; more so a probability.