Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Earliest memory of a christmas present

• 24-12-2009 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭

What's yours? mine is of a cowby hat, waistcoat and a toy rifle, when I was 3 and a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My earliest is from a similar age: the delightfully politically correct combination of a Paddington Bear tea-set and a set comprising a mini sweeping brush, mop and dustpan and brush.

Jeebus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Id say it was the Zig and Zag stuffed toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

A plastic car multi-story car park thing with dinky cars...strange request from a girl! Must have been 6 or 7, I was/am such a tomboy! I remember Santa coming in our door and giving us our presents from his sack and having a conversation with us. We were so excited!

I remember dancing and maniacly laughing in a sea of shiney wrapping papers. Completely ignoring the presents. Although I did get a spining top which was mega cool.
    I was probably two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

A tonka truck and plastic tongue and grove railway set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

My earliest was when I was about 7, My parents got me an Army Uniform, the only thing was it was an RAF uniform. Not the best thing to be wearing in Southill Limerick in the seventies.
    Oh the memories...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I got this really cool battle mountain with rocket launchers and a plastic ball firing machine gun

So my dad was playing with the mountain firing plastic balls around the living room while i played with the bubble wrap it came in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Got a drum when I was 3, think it was reposessed by 'santa' before breakfast time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

Mine was a barbie kitchen thing and a toy hoover shaped just like our own hoover that my mammy used to use! It was one of those old upright ones. Back in the day. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

A talking Crolly doll when I was 8.

I was amazed as I had spotted her in the local newsagent's shop window, she had disappeared and now she was in my bedroom! The same with my brother's Cowboy hat and gun with holster. I often think of that when I drive 50 miles to my nearest Smyth's store to buy my children's presents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

i think i was 3or 4, and i got my 2 talking life size dolls, corky and cricket!! i thought they were real! :) and a yellow teapot house and red chimney house!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭ghost_ie

A nurse's outfit when I was 4 - stripey dress, blue cloak with red lining and a headband with a red cross on it that kept falling in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Dudess wrote: »
    a mini sweeping brush, mop and dustpan and brush.

Jeebus...

I got the same and I remember sweeping up the pine leaves that fell from the tree with it that year the mammy was delighted
    Also got a wendy house that year and a yellow teapot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

First one i can remember was a cowboy hat,holster,gun and a roll of caps.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 s_upergirl

Earliest I can remember was a miniature washing machine, iron & ironing board - but the one I'm sure my dad will never forgot was the little oven that 'baked' cakes with a light bulb - everyone had to eat cold cake paste for xmas morning brekkie!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

we have had a host of retro tastic presents gone to the wayside

:(

a train that puffed out real steam, it was a monster and had me hooked. i think i opened the bugger up to see how it worked and that was the last of it.

the evil kenevil things..!

a few spectrum's

a radio controlled ufo space thingy, it was just an inflatable ufo yoke attached to a base unit.

other r/c goodies

some retro video games i forget

all the above prob worth a grand or more now, if they were intact.

toys now are crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

SomeFool wrote: »
    Got a drum when I was 3, think it was reposessed by 'santa' before breakfast time. :)

That happened to me too :(.

I remember getting this mega train thing with loads of secret compartments in it and animals on it..i dont remember my age at the time I was maybe 4 or 5 i'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

an owl and gun set. probably around '76. like the others i'd have been around 3 then.
    the owl was a target and the gun had a torch bulb in it.
    when you hit the target the owl went 'woo woo'...as owls are wont to do...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

a little musical instrument similar to a piano but really colourful and higher pitched.I must have been about 3/4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

poisonated wrote: »
    a little musical instrument similar to a piano but really colourful and higher pitched.I must have been about 3/4.

xylophone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

My older brother and sister showing me where my parents hide "Santa's" presents. I was only about 4....the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I actually got a lump of coal. But that was a joke, we went shopping in the Christmas sales instead, that was also the year I found out Jesus wasn't real. Jesus? No I mean Santa. Jesus is real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭discostick12

Mine had to be when I was around 3 or 4, a Barbie typewriter no less :P

Think it's still in the attic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

I had the Star Wars ATAT Walker with Luke,

atat-front.jpg

I remember trying to bring it into school when I was in senior infants...god it felt like it was bigger than me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Voltex wrote: »
    I had the Star Wars ATAT Walker with Luke,

atat-front.jpg

I remember trying to bring it into school when I was in senior infants...god it felt like it was bigger than me!

God..i just remembered I also had the Imperial Scout Walker...I remember it had a button on the back, that when you pressed it the legs would move...

scout_walker_front.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Manta force when I was 4!I got the base and the red vemon ship.

manta-force.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Got a non-descript trainset when I was 4 or 5. Iirc it was modeled on an old steamtrain. You would wind it up and it would go around a track with the wheels and valuegears moving and possibly a light went on where steam would normally escape. I wish my parents had taken a pix of it so I could have a good idea what it looked like!

After that it was several Xmas's of Star Wars , HeMan , Transformers and finally MASK before it was decided in the schoolyard that it was no longer 'cool' to play with toys or believe in SandyClaws. :(

Actually that is a lie! I've just remembered that this was my first xmas present I remember getting ! :)
    http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=6382-1
    (the train came the following xmas)

6382-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I had the Darth Vader Tie fighter,looks like it was 1979 which puts me at 5 years old!! I still have it though it's far from immaculate condition!
    dvtie-front.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 The Book Thief

My first post!

I have the clearest memory of the first year I discovered there was someone called 'Santa' and he brought me a tool bench complete with tools... I was a bit of a tomboy even at 2 and a half yers old!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

Big Yellow Teapot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭leincar

I was three and a half and got a Beatles 4 string plastic guitar. It had 'The Beatles New Sound Guitar' written on the bottom and pictures of the 4 members of the band on the body. It was orang and cream.

Of course I had it wreacked in a week which is unfortunate as now it could be worth up to $1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Manta force when I was 4!I got the base and the red vemon ship.

manta-force.jpg

:eek: holy crap, I think I had the yoke (base?) on the left! Did it come with a bunch of other things itside it? Oh the memories! Man I loved that :). Dont know what ever happened to it though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

Myself and my brother got two sets of boxing gloves. I was three and he was five. He beat the s**t out of me all day. Great craic :D