Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Army information

• 23-12-2009 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

I know there has been threads such as this and I have read them all. I just have a few questions of my own that I would really appreciate if you guys could help me. I'm 19 and had my heart set on joining the Army/Garda. With the whole recruitment ban mess in Ireland I'm just looking for a bit of general advice or suggestions.

1) Do you think it would be a good idea to join the British army, into one of the Irish regiments?
    2) I'm afraid if I wait for the ban to be lifted in Ireland I would be to 'old' in a sense, any thoughts?
    3) Don't want to come across as one of them G.I lads, but what is the minimum time in training before going overseas, 3 years?

Thanks for reading this and hopefully some of you guys will be able to help, especially those lucky few who have served or are in the army at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

First Question, I would advise you go if you want to. I would go in a heartbeat if it wasn't for these damn eyes of mine! :(

Second Questions, You won't be too old until you are 27 (Or is it 26?) If you really want the Irish Army, wait it out, go to college or work???

Third QUestion, someone else will know better than me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 hiheyhello

Cheers thanks for that, My eyes are pretty bad as well but nothing and old bit of laser eye surgery won't fix( hopefully:confused: ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭cork1

i could be wrong but i though lasered eyes were unacceptable for enlisted men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Afaik aser eye surgery is not accepted in the army. A few people have got away with it while serving, but their medical grade was just lowered.

My advice is, if you get them lasered and pass the eye test on your enlistment medical, then say nothing, simple as that.

I know a few guys who went to the BA after training in the DF. They prefer it over there because they "feel like a real soldier". They still complain about the same things as they would over here, but they like the fact that they are not neutral. Personally, Im Irish, so Im in the Irish army. I somewhat understand why people go elsewhere for the "proper soldiering" but I signed up to protect the soverignty of MY state and whoever MY state deems me necessary to protect.

As regards overseas service, I was in the DF 6 months as a trained soldier, and I found myself in Lebanon. Unfortunately trips are going to rotate a bit longer with Kosovo gone. Our only troop mission will be Chad soon, god knows how long that will last. This gives us the problem that there will be more troops at home trying to get on the same trip, hence, waiting longer to go overseas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

hiheyhello wrote: »
    but nothing and old bit of laser eye surgery won't fix
    WARNING Check with the British Army before doing the laser. You can only get certain types of laser done, as other will leave you with night blindness. They (along with most other armies, but IIRC not Ireland, yet) have done studies about which sugury is good, and which is bad. If you do the wrong one, you'll be shooting yourself in the foot :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 hiheyhello

Thanks for the reply's they are much appreciated.
    Personally, Im Irish, so Im in the Irish army. I somewhat understand why people go elsewhere for the "proper soldiering" but I signed up to protect the soverignty of MY state and whoever MY state deems me necessary to protect.
    I understand were your coming from and feel the same way. It's literally just the whole recruitment ban in Ireland being a right pain and nothing to do with ''proper soldering'' as such.

Can I just ask you a quick question(s) :)
    1) When did you enlist?
    2) I know there's loads of others talking about it but just to you; Is it what you expected and do enjoy it?
    WARNING Check with the British Army before doing the laser. You can only get certain types of laser done, as other will leave you with night blindness. They (along with most other armies, but IIRC not Ireland, yet) have done studies about which sugury is good, and which is bad. If you do the wrong one, you'll be shooting yourself in the foot
    Thanks for that I'll be sure to 'forget mentioning it'. Much appreciated as I honestly didn't know or in hindsight even think about it being a major problem so a big thank you again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

@hiheyhello,

Sorry for the late reply. I joined in 1999 when I was 18. Im in the army 10 years now. Its what I always wanted to do but i did realise that it wasnt going to be like the "Films". We have a fighting force comparable to the size and needs of our country. We are not like the Brits or the yanks. However, our tactics and capabilities are similar,our choices of equipment are correct for our population and "threat level".

People see us as an inferior fighting force compared to larger armies that go to "war". You may hear from time to time, young soldiers saying things like "we dont do anything" or "its a load of b****x". these are usually the unwilling wasters who go sick when they are meant to going on the ground for a few days, or go absent when they are meant to be on duty, these are the people who do not fulfill their contract or are not signed back on because they have not fulfilled the criteria for re engagement. So, please do not let these people put you off.

For me, I am very happy in my career, In 10 years I have learned A LOT, iv gone overseas three times, i have done a crazy amount of military and civilian courses which have benefited me in and out of the army. I have experienced a lot of stuff at home and abroad that you just cannot experience in civy street, from barrack work to operational security around the country. I have trained a lot troops from being a raw recruit to someone that is a fully competent soldier. The friendships and bonds that you form in the army are something i will never experience anywhere else.

The army is very diverse nowadays. Anyone that joins and says that it is a load of cock, obviously isnt serious about being there.There are so many oportunities for people from all walks of life. There are plenty of roads to go down after basic training, its up to you. You only get out of it what you put into it.

I am very happy that I am in the army, i joined when it wasnt popular. People telling me that I should be going to college or getting a proper job...(like Tesco's). I have had some very hard times in the job..(mostly in training or on a course), we all do. Theres always a moment when you are so exhausted or so cold or so hungry that you just want to quit and give up. These moments though frequent, dont last too long. Reality kicks back in and your thoughts sober up again.

There is nothing you cant achieve if you want it bad enough.

Finally, decide what it is you want in the army before you decide to join. If you want the chance to just kill someone in a very dodgy environment, then more than likely the Brits or the Yanks can arrange that for you. If you want to help people in a hostile tempestuous environment then im sure we can arrange that for you.

Either way, have a good think, way up the pros and the cons. Military life doesnt suit everyone.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭cork1

benwavner wrote: »
    @hiheyhello,

Sorry for the late reply. I joined in 1999 when I was 18. Im in the army 10 years now. Its what I always wanted to do but i did realise that it wasnt going to be like the "Films". We have a fighting force comparable to the size and needs of our country. We are not like the Brits or the yanks. However, our tactics and capabilities are similar,our choices of equipment are correct for our population and "threat level".

People see us as an inferior fighting force compared to larger armies that go to "war". You may hear from time to time, young soldiers saying things like "we dont do anything" or "its a load of b****x". these are usually the unwilling wasters who go sick when they are meant to going on the ground for a few days, or go absent when they are meant to be on duty, these are the people who do not fulfill their contract or are not signed back on because they have not fulfilled the criteria for re engagement. So, please do not let these people put you off.

For me, I am very happy in my career, In 10 years I have learned A LOT, iv gone overseas three times, i have done a crazy amount of military and civilian courses which have benefited me in and out of the army. I have experienced a lot of stuff at home and abroad that you just cannot experience in civy street, from barrack work to operational security around the country. I have trained a lot troops from being a raw recruit to someone that is a fully competent soldier. The friendships and bonds that you form in the army are something i will never experience anywhere else.

The army is very diverse nowadays. Anyone that joins and says that it is a load of cock, obviously isnt serious about being there.There are so many oportunities for people from all walks of life. There are plenty of roads to go down after basic training, its up to you. You only get out of it what you put into it.

I am very happy that I am in the army, i joined when it wasnt popular. People telling me that I should be going to college or getting a proper job...(like Tesco's). I have had some very hard times in the job..(mostly in training or on a course), we all do. Theres always a moment when you are so exhausted or so cold or so hungry that you just want to quit and give up. These moments though frequent, dont last too long. Reality kicks back in and your thoughts sober up again.

There is nothing you cant achieve if you want it bad enough.

Finally, decide what it is you want in the army before you decide to join. If you want the chance to just kill someone in a very dodgy environment, then more than likely the Brits or the Yanks can arrange that for you. If you want to help people in a hostile tempestuous environment then im sure we can arrange that for you.

Either way, have a good think, way up the pros and the cons. Military life doesnt suit everyone.

Cheers.

i am in the rdf for 2.5 years now. i have always wanted to be in the pdf but started and apprenticeship which is almost finished now. i thought i would still love to join when it is finished and after reading how well put that was i really really want it!! one thing i have always wondered though is when ye are not overseas or on an exercise or doing c.i.t's or the like what do ye actually do?? you see id be hoping to get into the infantry.