Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I cant drink as much as I used to

• 22-12-2009 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

Pushing 30 now and notice that I cant consume as much alcohol as I used to. Seem to get drunk alot easier, is this normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

As a man gets older his metabolism slows, which is why alot of young enough, but still mature men have Beer guts.

Perfectly normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭P.C.

It happens. :o

It also takes a lot longer to recover after a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

On the plus side you get to stop drinking alchopops and start to develop a taste for good drinks. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

yes my friend... you've come to the point of realization i did a couple years ago when i hit 30...
    you cant drink as much...
    you stop drinking shots because the hang over aint worth it..
    in fact the hangovers last longer and become more unbearable that you start to cut down on nights out..
    you start to develop that hard to shift belly....

dont worry you'll get over it with time :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

On top of the metabolic thing, maybe it also has something to do with how long your liver and body in general have been exposed to alcohol? I didnt drink until I was near 30. Well a few drinks over the years but drunk maybe twice in that time. Now my capacity is far higher and my hangovers far less(I rarely get them) than my mates who drank from their late teens and would have been practiced drinkers.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Wibbs is on the ball. As you get older your metabolism slows and so does your recovery rate. The other thing is you have increased responsibility so you feel the effects more and dont climb trees or steal bustops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Kid Curry

So whats the solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Kid Curry wrote: »
    So whats the solution?

Become an alcoholic.

Insurgent wrote: »
    Become an alcoholic.
    LOL :D
    Kid Curry wrote: »
    So whats the solution?

Like the guys said. Drink responsibly.

If you cant drink responsibly -then don't drink.

A choice of two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

My friend is 21 and notices he can't drink as much as he could a year or two ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

My solution is that if I have a big session the next day,eg a wedding,then I go for a few pints the night before.It means I can easily tolerate a helluva lot more the following day.

As for the hangovers,abstinance or a reduction in the amounts consumed is the only suggestion I can give to avoid em.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

nedtheshed wrote: »
    My solution is that if I have a big session the next day,eg a wedding,then I go for a few pints the night before.It means I can easily tolerate a helluva lot more the following day.

As for the hangovers,abstinance or a reduction in the amounts consumed is the only suggestion I can give to avoid em.

Yeah i notice that aswell, if im on the beer 2 nights in a row its quite hard to actually get drunk on the second, maybe because your liver is up to speed and processing alchohol quicker but who knows.

My own cure is a pint of orange juice and a glass of water before bed really helps me the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

The emzines in milk help break down the alcohol, so drinking a glass of milk before a night out helps...apparently. Pro-tip is to not drink the milk too close to your first pint, it dosnt make for a good night out....

But ye, its natural...and its cheaper on a night out :p Your liver knows its a recession too.

Ebbs wrote: »
    The emzines in milk help break down the alcohol, so drinking a glass of milk before a night out helps...apparently. Pro-tip is to not drink the milk too close to your first pint, it dosnt make for a good night out....

:D LOL -no they dont.

What they do is make sure you have some nutrients and that makes you feel\better.

So the idea is if you have to rely on milk you probably need to have a meal before you drink for normal food etc. Not eating to fit more booze in is stupid.

If you dont feel well after drinking its your bodies way of telling you that you have drank too much.

The title of the thread should be "I drink more than my body can tolerate and want somebody to tell me why i am being so stupid"

If you were eating taytos and didnt feel well after 6 packets you would stop at 6 packets why not state the obvious here here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

CDfm wrote: »
    :D LOL -no they dont.

What they do is make sure you have some nutrients and that makes you feel\better.

So the idea is if you have to rely on milk you probably need to have a meal before you drink for normal food etc. Not eating to fit more booze in is stupid.

*Shakes fist at his Student Union*

Thats what you get for taking advice from Student Union lectures... "Keeps your stomach linned" was the words they used to lure ignorant students into a false sense of security :o

Ebbs wrote: »
    *Shakes fist at his Student Union*

Thats what you get for taking advice from Student Union lectures... "Keeps your stomach linned" was the words they used to lure ignorant students into a false sense of security :o

I have always wondered where that line the stomach came for - Im allergic to milk and cant think of anything worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Yeah that line is completely made up lol! Enzymes that break down beer dont include lactase<<this is the one for milk:) But having a lining is good as it stops the stomach acid giving you heartburn/acid reflux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

Yeah that line is completely made up lol! Enzymes that break down beer dont include lactase<<this is the one for milk:) But having a lining is good as it stops the stomach acid giving you heartburn/acid reflux.

Yea the auld milk is more of a heartburn fighter for me. Seems to work if I drink a pint of it before a session and a pint the next mornin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

If it makes you feel better OP i am 22 and half cut after 2 pints of Guinness!! Always a cheap night though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I was like an alcohol sponge between the ages of 15-18. Drinking every day, and then really cutting away with it on the weekends (3/4 bottles of spirit every weekend easily).

Then for some reason, I kinda copped on around 18/19, and have steadily cut down since, to the point now where I might have one or two pints over lunch while watching football on a Saturday afternoon!!!

Obviously, there are times I still go out on the tear, but not as often as the ''old days''... Still have the resiliance of old tho, can still drink gallons and be upright by the end of it. But don't find it as enjoyable anymore.

My ability to drink loads hasn't gone. My interest in doing so has... and I'm only 21, by the way!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

The novelty where's off after a while but I agree with other posts that your tolerance does dwindle but that's probably due to the fact that we didn't drink as much as we used to. I find spirits the worst for the hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

ULstudent wrote: »
    If it makes you feel better OP i am 22 and a half, cut after 2 pints of Guinness!! Always a cheap night though!!

Fixed it for you young student....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Owldshtok

nedtheshed wrote: »

This approach is why our society has a big problem with alcohol..we can't conceive to have as much craic on the 'big occasions' without getting rat-arsed drunk-or being under pressure to get drunk from peers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Owldshtok wrote: »
    This approach is why our society has a big problem with alcohol..we can't conceive to have as much craic on the 'big occasions' without getting rat-arsed drunk-or being under pressure to get drunk from peers

Totally agree.

I used to put away shedloads of booze when I was younger. Today at 32 I couldn't manage a fraction of it and I wouldn't want to. Not only is my tolerance much lower the hangovers are worse and take forever to go away.

I pretty much gave up on drink altogether about 2 years ago now and I don't miss it. I still have as much fun on a night out as I did back in my drinking days with the added bonus that I can remember it the next day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭mysillyusername

I am the same..can't drink as much and get 2 day hangovers....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Tis the ravages of age lads!

It pretty much happens for physiological reasons - changes in the metabolism, distribution and elimination of alcohol which occur with age all add up to greater toxicity, i.e. feeling worse the next day. More specifically:

Alcohol is broken down by means of a group of enzymes collectively called alcohol dehydrogenase - and levels of this enzyme naturally decline with age.

Lean body mass and levels of water in the body decline with age, meaning the distribution of alcohol changes - less water means greater toxicity (to put it very simply).

I've found that drinking a couple of pints of water on the sly during a night out has a significant effect, not one for every pint or anything! Just down a pint or two over the course of a night - try it!

or it could be that you never could and are just realised what your behaviour was like.