Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4-10 2

• 22-12-2009 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭

Hello all, we are farming at home and are feeding grain based feeds, having massive trouble with pigeons, crows and magpies, all rats with wings in my view carrying disease, anyway was on to a crowd in town that was trying to recommend an air soft riffle, but went to another shop and said these would be no good and only hurt them, this lad recommended a 4 10 shot gun (think he called it a 4 10 2???) that can use a 2" cartiage in a shed (in case it puts a hole in the roof) and a 2.5" - 3" cartiage outside, would this seem correct annd could i get any views on that gun? he priced it at €230

thanks!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Larsen trap for the magpies.

Bob trap for the pigeons.

12 ga for the crows, but I wouldn't shoot them in the shed you'll put holes in it with most any shotgun I'd think. Not sure on the law regarding air rifles and birds, think it's a no no (I don't mean air soft). Maybe there's another trap suitable for crows but my memory fails me at the moment, what type are they?

Who ever recommended you an air soft rifle is a complete dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

now that its mentioned in the correct forum....
    id recomend a 12gauge shot gun.
    bought one recently for exact same purposes as yourself just waiting for licence to come through.
    any shotgun will put holes in your sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

talk about the legalities with placing stuff in the right place with ye :rolleyes: :p

anyway ya see a new she with holes in the roof isn't exactly appealing,

John_F wrote: »
    talk about the legalities with placing stuff in the right place with ye :rolleyes: :p

If you think that's bad, stick around a while :D

What part of the country are you in John?

John_F wrote: »

anyway ya see a new she with holes in the roof isn't exactly appealing,

twas a joke johnny only a joke

well the holes would be for ventilation ya see!!!!

where are ya based im sure a few boys here would jump at the chance of a bit of shooting. lack of transport stops me from helping ya meself:D:D:D

down cork direction, yed have a job travelling with the roads now anyway :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

as the lads have said, any shotgun will put holes in a shed. You should really consider an air rifle for any indoor/urban work

Sorry to bang on about the traps, but, those are things you could get started with straight away (and make yourself if you're even anyways half handy). Applying for a firearms license could take up to three months (supposedly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

wre abouts in cork id be happy to help if your not to far. pm back if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

johngalway wrote: »
    Sorry to bang on about the traps, but, those are things you could get started with straight away (and make yourself if you're even anyways half handy). Applying for a firearms license could take up to three months (supposedly).

Spot on. Use traps while waiting for license for 12ga. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

If you have any pigeon shooters / decoyers nearby they may be able to help solve your problem.

A farmer where we shoot had the same problem. House & shed roofs were destroyed with droppings as was the yard & everything else in sight.

We set up in the yard as if pigeon decoying....hide, decoys & spinner. As soon as some of the feral pigeons were shot we added them to the spinner & decoy pattern. They just kept coming in & in. It took them about three days to cop on to the danger and were then slow to come in. Pity I didn't have the camera on the first or second day....best days! (had it in my car but I wasn't driving).

After the 3 days shooting, as soon as the farmer stepping out in the yard the pigeons were gone. A few stragglers still pay him a visit but the flock attack is gone.

Shooters need to be experienced to engage in this type of shooting due to swinging close to sheds, house roofs etc. Also, extreme care must be taken when collecting feral pigeons as they're riddled with disease. (preferrably surgical gloves)

feralpigeons-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

make a ladder trap for the crows and a larsen for the magpies a 12gauge will sort the pigeons out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭lucy333springer

John,
    If you shoot in a shed, use open choke with 24grms 7 1/2 shell, kill's bird's and won't hole your tin, I'v been tthere done it, it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

John,
    If you shoot in a shed, use open choke with 24grms 7 1/2 shell, kill's bird's and won't hole your tin, I'v been tthere done it, it's fine.

Don't forget the ear muffs if you are shooting a shotgun in a shed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 pidgion

you also have to make sure they are FERAL pigeons and not racing pigeons as it is illegal to shoot them if they carry an id ring and you are found out you could be in deep trouble am speaking as a shooter and a pigeon fancier honestly safer to get competent guys to sort it out and get on top of things and then you can keep control when you get your own gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Just to go back to the OP's original question, the .410" (pronounced "four ten") calibre shotgun has been a favourite for decades for exactly the sort of thing he describes: vermin control in and around buildings.

Here are Eley's ammunition offerings:
    http://www.eleyhawkltd.com/gamecarts-40carts.html

thanks everyone,
    to lucy333springer: would them cartiages fit the 4 10 chamber then ya??

to pidgion: defo no tags on them, theres only 2 around the past week but they'd nearly land on your head!!

crows were flying around a maize field up to last week but now discovered us, alot of small birds when i was up there this morning, all tweeting, with joy i suppose! and i see the magpies down in the neighbours who feeds meat to dogs, probably come here for desert. we have a few neighbours with guns who we could get in if we don't get one anyway

merry christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

I have a fourten myself, ideal for what your want it for. Very little noise of it ideal for sheds and semi build up yards

my offer still stands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 half full

I agree with all the above have dealt with all your problems.I am farming near cork pm me

hoi i asked first pick me haha :D

im a rebel too.
    north cork/mallow dirrection if your local give us a buzz perhaps we could sort something out.
    pm me

feidhlim, shag off twas me asked him where he was from.!!!! i saw him first!! hes mine!! etc etc:D:D;);):p:p:):rolleyes::rolleyes::pac::pac:

show down at dawn well sort it out like men :D

jeez settle lads hahaha, cousin is meant to come up next week and if he doesn't sort it il be back :D:D