Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA on RTE tonignt

• 22-12-2009 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭

Croke Park Lives
    RTÉ One, Tuesday 22nd December
    Tonight @9.35pm

A backstage look at Croke Park on the day of the All Ireland Football Final.
    Croke Park Lives takes us into the kitchens and canteens, reveals the secrets of the event control room, slips into briefings and down tunnels, into a place we've never been before, backstage at the All-Ireland. It brings us to meet the people of Croke Park and, for an hour, become part of one day in their lives.

Liam Mulvihill - All The President's Man
    RTÉ One, Tuesday 22nd December
    Tonight @10.35pm

An exclusive profile of the GAA's former Director General which includes contributions from eight GAA Presidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

They've done a few like this in the past, but it will be good to see. So I will be having a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Did I hear correctly? Did the narrator call Croke Park the best stadium in the British Isles? eek.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

And is it not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

And is it not ?

I have no quibble with the term. I just thought that some in the GAA may object to the "British Isles" description. If they have no trouble with this phrase then good for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Croke Park lives was really good! It kinda reminded me of The Office cos some of the characters almost seemes to be taking the piss. I especially liked David Brent aka the Croke par manager.:pac:
    That Hunky Dory blimp was really doing some crazy sh*t the day of the all Ireland,who ever was in charge of the controls musthave been pretty pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

both really good programs. loved the football final live one, some great insights, should do it more often!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭pacman.podge

really good program... finally got a face to the voice of that man who makes the announcements over the PA system.... didn't imagine him having a beard tho...... humm

the lad that announces the teams beforehand is an old man also...his voice would leave you believe him to be about 30, where as he is about 50...

its a bit strange they need 2 stadium announcers. the 2nd lad, the lad with the beard, who yours on about, annoys me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭manster

the...bearded...man..speaks...so...slowly
    gardai...and...stewards...end...of...match...positions...please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Croke Park Lives was brilliantly put together. All the characters were affable except for the chef who came across as a proper mong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Koloman wrote: »
    I have no quibble with the term. I just thought that some in the GAA may object to the "British Isles" description. If they have no trouble with this phrase then good for them.

Jesus christ, are you for real?

And no Croker isn't the best stadium in the British Isles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭pacman.podge

Aidric wrote: »
    Croke Park Lives was brilliantly put together. All the characters were affable except for the chef who came across as a proper mong.

very professional tho! well so i thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

manster wrote: »
    the...bearded...man..speaks...so...slowly
    gardai...and...stewards...end...of...match...positions...please

I've bad news for you, beardy doesn't do the 'Fógra do na Gardaí agus do na Maor....' bit. He just announces the team and announcements at half time. Sssssubsssstitution guy does the Gardaí and Stewarts thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Didn't get the chance to see the 2nd program but the Croke Park doc was fascinating. Had some really good insights and I'm not going to be able to go there anymore without picturing the PA announcer in his nice comfy seat in the box beside the Hill (they do have some seriously good view there!). It's unfortunate the producers didn't decide to run it during the hurling final instead, would've been really interesting to see the build-up to the pitch invasion and Plan B :)

Would've liked to have seen more of the RTE broadcasting side of things but I suppose they weren't the focus of the documentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Orizio wrote: »
    Jesus christ, are you for real?

And no Croker isn't the best stadium in the British Isles.

I think you are missing the point. At the time it was built it would have been and that is all that was being suggested in the documentary.
    Since then Wembley have been completed and as good as Croker is it would not put a patch on that project.
    Not too comfortable with the use of the British Isles phrase myself to be honest.
    All in all the All-Ireland final day documentary was very well put together. I thought that the All the Presidents Men could have been better. I would like if Mulvihill gave some opinions on decision made during his tenure. I think Peter Quinn summed him up well when he said he would have been a great public servant but the GAA is a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Gingy wrote: »
    I've bad news for you, beardy doesn't do the 'Fógra do na Gardaí agus do na Maor....' bit. He just announces the team and announcements at half time. Sssssubsssstitution guy does the Gardaí and Stewarts thing.

Wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Arrrgh forgot all about the Croke Park programme!
    Hopefully it'll be on RTE's online archive thing!
    Really want to see all the going's on behind the scenes.
    Worked in Croker as an umpire this year for the Cumann na mBunscoil finals. Was an amazing experience. Its amazing how even a crowd of 2,000-3,000 can fill the stadium with noise! (And abuse I might add)

EDIT: Watched it there... seemed more like a Mockumentary then a real Documentary. the english groundsman really is as neurotic as he comes across in the programme. A few of us lads were standing on the pitch in runners before the Cumann na mBunscoil games started and he told us to get off... even though there would be 100 kids running around on it in football boots in 20mins!

As for the head steward "If Cork are winning with 10 mins to go, and the Kerry fans start to leave..." - Nice prediction :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Yeah, really enjoyed it, from the moment the 2 lads open the gates in the morning, to when they shut it in the evening (after all the commotion in-between> 2 matches, 80+ thousand fans, TV etc etc). There were some funny moments in it too, the chef is a mad fecker tho! I suppose he has to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Aidric wrote: »

He was the only stressed person in the program!
    "There's not enough mash for the Hogan Stand !"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Tableman

Really superb programme. Despite being at many all irelands, I had no idea that there were so many people involved in the background.

The chef looked like a right prick to work for alright.

Hard being part of the artane band. You only get out on the pitch when there are no games. Thought, they would be watching the matches from somewhere. But instead they are down in some ****ty canteen.

Cool piece of software showing you the numbers in each section too. Also, the thermal images to show the density of the crowd on Jones Road was interesting

The Mulhvihill programme was a bit disappointing. It focussed too much on building Croke Pk. And it should have gone into his opinions some more. One of the people mentioned how LM was always impartial. So it would have been interesting to hear more opinion on it. Never knew of the crowd trouble in 83, interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Both programmes are now up on the RTE Player for those who missed it.

Tomthepost wrote: »
    I think you are missing the point. At the time it was built it would have been and that is all that was being suggested in the documentary.
    Since then Wembley have been completed and as good as Croker is it would not put a patch on that project.
    Not too comfortable with the use of the British Isles phrase myself to be honest.
    All in all the All-Ireland final day documentary was very well put together. I thought that the All the Presidents Men could have been better. I would like if Mulvihill gave some opinions on decision made during his tenure. I think Peter Quinn summed him up well when he said he would have been a great public servant but the GAA is a business.

Its a geographical term, to look for political connotations therein is just being pedantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Its a geographical term, to look for political connotations therein is just being pedantic.

In your opinion of course, and I dont think it is that much of a leap to suggest that the term actually refers to a collection of Islands under british rule which of course we are not.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Isles

lads, i cannot believe we are even discussing this. so what if it was said?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Casei11

the aul lad who was pumping the balls was great craic!

In your opinion of course, and I dont think it is that much of a leap to suggest that the term actually refers to a collection of Islands under british rule which of course we are not.

It's my opinion that the term 'British Isles' is a geographical one? Indeed it is, I'd also imagine its the opinion of anyone who did primary school geography. :rolleyes:

The rest of your post is an example of someone being a pedant i.e. making an argument about something that is completely irrelevent and trivial, accurate or otherwise.

That's my point, the use of the term 'British Isles' is irrelevent beyond its geographical understanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Casei11 wrote: »
    the aul lad who was pumping the balls was great craic!

He has the best job ever!Just standing around chatting to Mary in the canteen eating his panninis :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Have to agree, not something i would lose sleep over but i dont like that term. Break it down it means the islands of britan. However not as bad as a big wig in work saying he will bring us over to the "Mainland". Now that annoyed me!! :D

It's my opinion that the term 'British Isles' is a geographical one? Indeed it is, I'd also imagine its the opinion of anyone who did primary school geography. :rolleyes:

The rest of your post is an example of someone being a pedant i.e. making an argument about something that is completely irrelevent and trivial, accurate or otherwise.

Completely unecessary IMO. If people are uncomfortable with the narrator of a GAA documentary to use the term British Isles to describe the location of Croke Park I think it is understandable and they should be entitled to voice that view here without a reply like the above. Nobody is singing a nation once again or chanting tiocfaidh ar la.
    You know like, take a chill pill like:cool:

Completely unecessary IMO. If people are uncomfortable with the narrator of a GAA documentary to use the term British Isles to describe the location of Croke Park I think it is understandable and they should be entitled to voice that view here without a reply like the above. Nobody is singing a nation once again or chanting tiocfaidh ar la.
    You know like, take a chill pill like:cool:

Hardly unnecessary, its a well acknowledged geographical fact, and my point, very clearly, is that attempts to suggest it to be otherwise, understandable or not, are simply pedantic.

Did you just discover the word 'pedantic'? People often tend to use words that are new to them a lot when they first come across them.
    Anyway perhaps you might care to look through the thread from the start again and see who is being pedantic here exactly. (Dont forget your last post either.;))
    Then again if you are 10 years old as it would seem to me please continue your little bout of insulting other posters. It is giving me a jolly good christmas cheer:D:D:D
    'Dare us mere mortals hold an opinion that you disagree with' and all that.
    For the record I know someone that was involved with the production of the the show that admitted to me that the use of the term British Isles was an embarassing error and if given a chance again would not have been included on the voice-over narration.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Did I hear correctly? Did the narrator call Croke Park the best stadium in the British Isles? eek.gif

Could I please have the name of this narrator? Thanks.

And is it not ?

Er, obviously not - unless you are a rabid British nationalist who is a fan of the sixteenth-century British imperlialist John Dee, the person who, while attempting to claim Tudor/English suzerainty over Ireland, is first recorded as having first used the term "British Isles" in the English language (in his 1577 book, The Art of Navigation)

"Geographical" my eye. Undereducated myth-making tabloid nonsense of the highest order.

That is arrant historically illiterate nonsense on an extraordinarily scale. The nice, apolitical British who seemingly have possessed negligible political intentions in Ireland throughout the past 500 years - who would have thought it, as they rob our country, persecute our people, ram their culture, their mores and their bigotry down our throats generation upon generation?

Oh yes, it was all a mere "accident", it appears. God Save Ireland from such weak and abjectly ill-informed and decontextualised mentalities.

And I, dear sir, cannot believe you would post a link to the now quite infamous Wikipedia article on this "British Isles" term, clearly without reading it or any of the 36 archives since 2006 where Irish people have consistently rejected that loaded term's validity and British nationalists have asserted its validity.

It is an extremely controversial article at the best of times.

Perhaps this is so if your "primary school" geography had been over in Britain. What is considerably more likely in the real education of those of us who have actually got as far as primary school in independent Ireland would be this:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2006/1002/1158591275647.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Okay everybody back on topic, this is not the politics forum. Anymore discussion about the term "British Isles" will result in bans

This is part of the topic IMO. If it was not mentioned in the documentary then it would not be discussed here.
    A certain poster tried to insult the rest of us that think that using the term was quite offensive which IMO it should have resulted in a ban a long time ago.
    By stopping the conversation now you are merely saying it is ok to insult other posters and also allowing the perpetrator of the insults the opportunity to save face as it would be difficult to argue with points made since.
    All IMO

This is part of the topic IMO. If it was not mentioned in the documaentary then it would not be discussed here.
    A certain poster tried to insult the rest of us that think that using the term was quite offensive which IMO it should have resulted in a ban a long time ago.
    By stopping the conversation now you are merely saying it is ok to insult other posters and also allowing the perpetrator of the insults the opportunity to save face as it would be difficult to argue with points made since.
    All IMO

Can I remind you of two things. Arguing with a moderator on thread about a moderating decision contravenes the rules of this forum as laid out in the charter, if you have a problem discuss it via PM or start a thread in the appropriate place. Secondly, if you have a problem with certain posts then please report them, the posts will be dealt with appropriately and threads are less likely to go off topic. Some posts in this thread were reported by users and the correct action is being considered by the moderators.

Discussion about the correct term to use when referring to Ireland and Britain as a collective is not on topic for this thread discussing GAA programmes on RTE IMO. Also I have asked for discussion on this topic in this thread to stop to prevent good posters from getting into bad arguements, which more often than not results in people being banned which I want to avoid.

Can I remind you of two things. Arguing with a moderator on thread about a moderating decision contravenes the rules of this forum as laid out in the charter, if you have a problem discuss it via PM or start a thread in the appropriate place. Secondly, if you have a problem with certain posts then please report them, the posts will be dealt with appropriately and threads are less likely to go off topic. Some posts in this thread were reported by users and the correct action is being considered by the moderators.

Discussion about the correct term to use when referring to Ireland and Britain as a collective is not on topic for this thread discussing GAA programmes on RTE IMO. Also I have asked for discussion on this topic in this thread to stop to prevent good posters from getting into bad arguements, which more often than not results in people being banned which I want to avoid.

Cruiserweight with respect. I am aware that sometimes when one is reported a poster doesnt get a response from the moderator so what does one do? Surely posters should be treated as equals. Rules are rules. If Dara O Se gets sent off in the kerry County Championship for hitting a guy he should be treated the same as the chap who hit a guy but never progressed any further then getting 10 minutes with his local club.

One does not continue arguing on thread when it is against the charter and has been reminded of it.

I am very close to locking this thread, if people want to continue to post off topic then this thread will be locked

Just checked it myself. Yes, the narrator did use that term at 24.01 in the documentary on Liam Mulvihill, All the Presidents' Man.

The narrator in question was somebody named Joe Stack (clearly no relation to Austin in his politics). This is what he looks like:

main-002-02.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Just checked it myself. Yes, the narrator did use that term at 24.01 in the documentary on Liam Mulvihill, All the Presidents' Man.

The narrator in question was somebody named Joe Stack (clearly no relation to Austin in his politics). This is what he looks like:

main-002-02.jpg

Great stuff. Now we know what he looks like we can kick his arse or something :rolleyes:

That's the term used for these islands. Get over it

jk86 wrote: »
    That's the term used for these islands. Get over it

If your politics is somewhere around the same as Margaret Thatcher's and the BNP's, I suppose it is.

Meanwhile, educated people know that the etymology of "British Isles" is inextricably linked to British political claims to Ireland. You have clearly chosen British nationalist myths over historical facts when it comes to legitimising this name.

Okay as people cannot seem to stay on topic this thread is locked