Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Temple Theatre Reunion

• 22-12-2009 12:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭

The Temple wasn't my favourite club ever but for the first 4 years it was a deadly club and had some deadly nights most notably Eurodance, anyone up for this?

I'm back in Dublin for xmas so im there, anyone else going let me know and we'll arrange a meet up.:)

http://www.bebo.com/BlogView.jsp?MemberId=2127182231&BlogId=10217966463

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭insert-gear

Buck Whaleys is an absolutely abysmal club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Stu77

I would like to check this out if the club is any use. I used to love the Temple Theatre the first time it opened and for a while after the second time it opened. I was there on the very first opening night and although only about 100 people turned up i knew the place was going to be massive once the word got out.

I used to love the Crypt when the likes of Ben Carvosso were knocking out the tunes. Some great nights had in that place mind you the bouncers had a nasty habit of coming into toilets and looking under the cubicles to see if you were using the toilet for the right purposes.

Oh, the youth of today, i really do feel sorry for you. Theres fook all out there to get your teeth into. Dublin nightlife is like a bottle of Brut aftershave, "fookin Stinkin".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

the ****ing smell of ****e out of the crypt toilets some nights was unreal. and some of the noises were worse. still though the worst smell i ever encountered was in the redbox jacks, they were all ni red if memory serves me right. think one night at pvd they got blocked and there was ****e everyhwere. i dont think ive ever to this day seen a worse sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

i'm deffo going....

I've just arranged to head in with a mate. Good DJ line-up, i hope the club is half decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

oh dear the whiff of bebo...

The ghost of Christmas Past!

You never know Checcini might stage dive or moon his arse around and make the night worth while....

Think i'll stick to turkey curry on the 27th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Buck Whaleys is an absolutely abysmal club

i cant actually remember ive not been there since 1987 when it used to sell just wine:o:D

Jonny, are ye heading in? I'll have some of that wine if its been stored since 1987. I'm trying to be sophisticated nowadays and have the odd glass of wine being 32 and all but i'll end up on the lager no doubt, making a show of my self on the dancefloor. If i try to pull off some of the old dance moves i'll end up in an ambulance with a hernia.

Stu77 wrote: »
    Jonny, are ye heading in? I'll have some of that wine if its been stored since 1987. I'm trying to be sophisticated nowadays and have the odd glass of wine being 32 and all but i'll end up on the lager no doubt, making a show of my self on the dancefloor. If i try to pull off some of the old dance moves i'll end up in an ambulance with a hernia.

lm trying to round up the troops to head in should be a good one:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

man I'm in Poland...

Was a regular there and tbh my worst clubbing memories were the last days of it ffs lol

what's the plan??

Yeah Jay, it turned into a knacker fest after a few years but it was a good spot in the early days, late 90's. It should be re-opened. Theres a dire need for a decent Oldskool themed Club of the Calibre of the Temple Theatre. I reckon a shrewed promoter could make a real go of that place but maybe there isn't the enthusiasm nowadays to take the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

It should be re-opened.I reckon a shrewed promoter could make a real go of that place but maybe there isn't the enthusiasm nowadays to take the risk.

Its an office block now though isnt it?

Its a listed building or so I thought thats why the club-end of things was shut down?

Might head along to this but im a bit dubious about buck whaleys, never been there, sounds ****e!

:P

Yeah Jay, it turned into a knacker fest after a few years but it was a good spot in the early days, late 90's. It should be re-opened. Theres a dire need for a decent Oldskool themed Club of the Calibre of the Temple Theatre. I reckon a shrewed promoter could make a real go of that place but maybe there isn't the enthusiasm nowadays to take the risk.

aye the first few years it was really good but was then overun by knackers from Tallaght and Clondalkin

Ha Ha Johnny, yeah, those southside scumbags, luckily i'm from finglas :D and try to avoid the riff raff from the other side of the liffey.

Actually, i know a lot of young lads who are into the oldskool music in a big way but haven't got the real buzz for clubbing because of the lack of decent clubs to go to. Tripod and likes are a joke, no offense to anybody who frequents these clubs but they don't have the sort of atmosphere that i took for granted many moons ago. Maybe some on the ball promoter with a few quid in his pocket might get something together one of these days, heres hoping anyway.

well said

well fcuk me that was a superb nite,absolute brilliant tunes and atmosphere, and Buck Whaleys is a cracking club too.

My review to follow.:)